1. Shinigami Kiba

    OP Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    Something that works on a G6 Lite
    I've forgotten how all the DLDI patching and stuff works cause I haven't been flashing homebrew in ages, but I'll figure it out I guess, I just need you guys to help me out and tell me what the best emulator is and one that's easy to use.
     
  2. airpirate545

    airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    i use lameboy and it works great
     
  3. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Country:
    Goomba is still the best, but it's GBA software.
     
  4. Shinigami Kiba

    OP Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    Thanks guys.
    Can either Goomba or Lameboy change the color palette of GB games so that they're all green and black like on the original big Gameboy?
     
  5. airpirate545

    airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    hmmm, i know goomba can. i dont think lameboy can....
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,340
    Country:
    United States
    Lameboy and Goomba Color are your main options. I believe v0.10 of Lameboy added the green GB-like palette, while Goomba Color has had it for a while.
     
  7. Kellicros

    Kellicros GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    412
    Country:
    I much prefer Lameboy over Goomba for the following reasons:
    1) It has savestates working perfectly.
    2) It is made for the DS(not needing a SLOT2)
    3) It loads compressed roms(.Zip, save a chump of space)
    4) It stretches and filters GB/GBC games so they look bigger on the DS.

    Lameboy allows you to switch between Green and Grey.
     
  8. m-p{3}

    m-p{3} GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    Canada
    If you only got a Slot-1 cartridge, Lameboy all the way.
     
  9. Shinigami Kiba

    OP Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I tried both Lameboy and Goomba, Goomba's palette is closer to the original gameboy but Lameboy's stretching of the image does wonders for a blind guy like me [​IMG] plus it seems like the better Emulator overall.

    Now, my only problem with Lameboy is that it doesn't seem to save with the in-game saves in games. I played Metroid 2, saved a couple times and the save was there until I turned off my DS, after that it was gone and slot 1 which I played on would start the game from the beginning.

    I'd prefer not using save states in games like Metroid and stuff, so guys is it just me or does Lameboy have no support for in-game saves for GB games?
     
  10. cupajoe

    cupajoe Have a cup of joe!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, after you save in-game you have to press Y to save completely. It's not like a save state.
     
  11. Shinigami Kiba

    OP Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I see, so I just save at a save point and hit Y?
    Why did they do it like that? Could saves from one game make it so that saves from another don't work or something if the emulator just has one big save file, or should I just not worry about that stuff and hit Y when I save.
     
  12. Passa

    Passa Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    To make sure you don't forget, just hit both bumpers when you're done playing the game. This takes you back to the ROM menu but also saves the GB battery at the same time. Then turn off the DS and your save will be there on next boot.

    I think Lameboy is great (besides the occasional lag), I just wish it had link cable support over DS wifi (Pokemon Silver/Gold/Crystal link play anyone?). I'd cut off my right arm for that.
     
  13. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,340
    Country:
    United States
    Saving is done with X by default, not Y. However, pressing R to see the Lameboy menu and then selecting "Exit" will update the *.sav file on your card before returning to the rom menu. I think (not sure) that "L+R" is for v0.9 and below, not v0.10 or v0.11 which have the new Lameboy menu.
     
  14. Hickeyl

    Hickeyl GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    ditto
     
  15. Passa

    Passa Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    0.9? Old?

    .. there's a new version?!

    EDIT: Nice, Nutki has set up a new blog site. Shame there's no multiplayer in 0.11 though [​IMG]
     
  16. strata8

    strata8 Look! A pointless distraction!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Country:
    Wouldn't that be hard to implement?
     
  17. Passa

    Passa Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    He listed it as a feature he wanted in future versions, but apparently there is no way to use ad-hoc wifi functions with the homebrew SDK?..
     
  18. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,340
    Country:
    United States
    Right, ad-hoc code has always been very hacky, and the latest release of DevKitARM broke it anyway.
     
  19. warmijwilfaain

    warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,310
    Country:
    Hmm, in gpSP Kai Unofficial Test whatever release, they started to implement Ad-Hoc on the PSP... would it be as easy on the DS? Would it work in the same way?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Emulator,