What is "Soft-reset"

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by wiiiioijdfvf, Aug 19, 2009.

Aug 19, 2009

What is "Soft-reset" by wiiiioijdfvf at 12:21 PM (1,001 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. wiiiioijdfvf
    OP

    Newcomer wiiiioijdfvf Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is "Soft-reset" and why should i soft reset what does it do [​IMG]

    thanks
     
  2. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it resests your ds with a piece of software instead of the power button.
     
  3. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you're using a flashcart and soft reset whilst playing a game, you'll be taken back to the flashcart's menu to choose another game to play. It does NOT turn your DS off. That's turning off, not soft resetting.
     
  4. ccwu

    Newcomer ccwu Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I also have problem for soft-reset
    when i use soft-reset, my save file corrupted
    (i have this situation two times)

    does someone have same issue?

    MY flashcard is AK2i with HW44
    And my machine is NDSL
     
  5. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    i don't have problem with corrupted file, but form some reason, soft-reset always end up in white screen for me.

    so i disable soft-reset for now

    mine is acekard2i HW 81, and i also use DSL
     
  6. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    The latest AKAIO loader doesn't support soft reset.
     
  7. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    thanks for the info [​IMG]

    not that important for me since i rarely switch game after few mins, but having one would be nice
     
  8. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    soft reset is a must as it will reduce the stress on the power switch on the DS Lite. if you keep using the power switch, it may break that switch. soft reset is a savior
     
  9. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    yeh it is awesome. Though sometimes it freezes when I soft-reset with non-dma on. With the "new" DMA it doesn't. *shrugs*
     

Share This Page