Well, my last PC Build Crashed and Burned before I even bought the Stuff

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Thanatos Telos, Apr 7, 2013.

  1. Thanatos Telos
    OP

    Member Thanatos Telos random stuff

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Country:
    United States
    Well, something came up and I wasn't able to build the last build, but now I am. So, to be lazy, I'll just ctrl+v my thread from Tom's Hardware.

    Approximate Purchase Date: Will be over time, but I must have them all before my birthday, May 15th.
    Budget Range: $700, without tax, Dad'll be paying that.(Less is better though)

    System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming at 1080p, secondary monitor at 1280x1024(Web browsing), internet, SFM, occasional heavy video editing(Once a year), occasional VMware, and movies.

    Are you buying a monitor: Nope.avi


    Parts to Upgrade: Re-using: 2 HDD's that are running out of space, a DVD-Drive.

    Do you need to buy OS: Nope.avi

    Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Microcenter.

    Location: Arlington, Virginia, USA. I am wiling to drive to Microcenter every weekend. It's only about 30 minutes away.
    Parts Preferences: AMD, AMD, AMD. Don't even try to switch to Intel or nVIDIA without a good argument. Thermaltake for the case is also a mandatory thing. (Also, 16GB of RAM is NEEDED because I like to use VMware here and there.)

    Overclocking: Maybe, but I'll get a cooler later when it comes to it.

    SLI or Crossfire: No.

    Your Monitor Resolution: 1080p, with a second at 1280x1024
    Additional Comments: Games, games and games. This needs to last for 3 years.
    And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: My current rig should explain everything:
    Core 2 Duo E8200
    32-bit Win-8 Pro, 4 gigs ddr2 @800 mHZ
    3TB of storage, which is around 700GB free now
    HD 7770 (Life support for my old 4650)(Will use in my Phenom 840 rig in my second home.)

    Asus HD 7850:
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/406095/HD7850-DC-1GD...

    Barracuda 2TB 7,200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive:
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/383892/Barracuda_2TB...

    Processor+Mobo(Bundle of the 8320 + Asrock Mobo)
    http://www.microcenter.com/site/products/amd_bundles.as...

    PSU: Undecided, needs to be <60$ and be 600-650w at the very least.

    Thermaltake Commande MS-I: (Will NOT budge unless you show me a GOD of a case for the same price with USB 3.0)
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/383014/Commander_MS-...

    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB(2x8) @1866 mhz:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

    Total(Without PSU): ~610$

    So, come at me.
    (Still need a PSU suggestion.)
     
  2. Thanatos Telos
    OP

    Member Thanatos Telos random stuff

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Country:
    United States
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    Huh, I didnt even know Win8 came in 32 bit.
     
  5. Thanatos Telos
    OP

    Member Thanatos Telos random stuff

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Country:
    United States
    It's mainly for people who had 32-bit Win 7. You can't upgrade one of those to 64-bit without losing EVERYTHING.
     
  6. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I figured that, sorry cant help much as im shit with hardware.
     
  7. LoloLakitu

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
  8. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    32 bit version of windows only supports 4 gb of ram. You will need to change OS if you want more ram. That being said i think your windows key will work if you install the 64bit version but thats only a maybe.
     
  9. Thanatos Telos
    OP

    Member Thanatos Telos random stuff

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Country:
    United States
    I know. That's why I'm going to reinstall Windows when I get it.
     
  10. Thanatos Telos
    OP

    Member Thanatos Telos random stuff

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Country:
    United States
  11. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    GTX 660 is on par with HD7870. Since you preferred AMD parts hard to say, 7850 2GB is definitely enough for 1080p gaming (and can overclock close to 7870 performance).

    Keep in mind that EVGA card is using blower-style fan, and they do get loud.

    As for your PSU, are you going to overclock? This is a big question because once overclocked, AMD FX processor is very power hungry. You going to need some serious cooler, motherboard (I can't see what motherboard you are picking anyway), and PSU to accommodate it.
     
  12. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    LOL, I think you have it backwards, at least for the CPU. Intel has WAY higher price/performance, especially for gaming.

    As for the graphics card, the AMD Radeon HD 7870 LE sounds about right for you.
    Note that in this case, LE means jacked up, not nerfed.
     
  13. Thanatos Telos
    OP

    Member Thanatos Telos random stuff

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Country:
    United States
    The 8350 has comparable performance to an i5 in benchmarks and kills it in threaded tasks. An 8320 is just an 8350 with a lower clock rate. Finally, the difference is nearly 80$ for very little gain.
    I don't want a 3-page argument to start.
     
  14. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    In OP's case since video editing is involved AMD FX can be considered poor man's choice.

    Although another way to build inexpensive occasional video editing rig is to use Intel Xeon E3-1230V2 + H61/H77/B75 motherboard. Xeon E3-1230V2 is basically server counterpart of Core i7-3770, but $60 cheaper. Of course if you want to overclock Xeon you can't do it (at stock speed it will outperform FX-8320).
     
  15. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Comparable to i5... you mean a first-gen mobile i5? That sounds about right.
     
  16. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on the benchmark.
     
  17. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,326
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    AMD CPUs output more heat than Intel CPUs on average. They're cheaper, but don't have the same price for performance as Intel.
     
    Fishaman P likes this.
  18. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Well yeah, the AMD's can run toe-to-toe and even beat Intel for price/performance in video encoding, but as said above, they output WAY more heat in doing so (125W vs. 73W, something like that) and lose in basically every other benchmark.
     

Share This Page