Vista -> 7 Upgrade Questions

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by raiderscrusade, Mar 23, 2011.

Mar 23, 2011
  1. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Hello,

    Currently I am running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit.

    I have a 32-bit version of Windows 7 Ultimate which I want to install as an 'upgrade', so that I do not lose any files during the update process.

    I was wondering, will a straight upgrade do the trick, or is there something else I must do in order to successfully Upgrade Vista Home Premium to 7 Ultimate without losing anything.

    Any help/pointers would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    just a straight upgrade would work for vista->7 and your files will stay in-tact

    (upgrading from vista to 7 is not all broken like xp->vista is [​IMG])
     
  3. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    So the version I'm upgrading to doesn't matter at all (Home Premium -> Ultimate), and a straight upgrade is the solution?
     
  4. IchigoK2031

    Member IchigoK2031 Wannabe Shirow Miwa...

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    691
    Location:
    My Tablet
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, just straight upgrade, it should be the first option or whatever when you go through all the menus or whatever on the disc...
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've not thought about it for a long time, but last I checked you could only do an "in place upgrade" when upgrading from the same version of Vista and 7. In other words, you cannot upgrade from Vista home premium to 7 ultimate, because they are too different. It's the same why you can't just upgrade from Vista home to Vista ultimate, or from x86 to x64. Doing any of those options requires a custom install.
     
  6. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Ugh, really? If this is true.. I'll be angry..

    Anyone can confirm if this is true or false? Or if a Home Premium -> 7 Ultimate is a straight update?

    Please.. now I'm confused because I've got two different answers.. haha.
     
  7. idulkoan

    Banned idulkoan Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Dixon, CA
    Country:
    United States
    DONT do anything yet. Backup ALL your files to an external hdd before doing what ANYONE says. So at least you know if u mess up ur still safe...

    Source:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    All the info on the upgrade is in that link, under 'Overview', 'Step 1', and 'Step 2'. Good luck
     
  8. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    I agree, backup as much as you can and want to keep first. I would recommend you just do that and then do a complete fresh formatted install If you can.

    Myself, I bought a 2nd internal hard drive just for windows 7. I still use Vista sometimes because there are programs installed there that I don't want to lose and couldn't backup.
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you need to do a fresh install
    you can only do that if you have vista ultimate
     
  10. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    The website says Windows Vista Home Premium can upgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium and Windows 7 Ultimate.

    To be safe, though, I'll back up the files that are important then I'll do the upgrade [​IMG]

    Thanks guys, especially idulkoan who's link was VERY helpful.
     
  11. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Let us all know the results of what happens because their is much conflicting information on the web about this issue.
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    According to that source, upgrading to Ultimate is possible. I've been considering upgrading 7 Home Premium to Ultimate for a while now (since I can source it for under £70), so this is some interesting news.

    Do let us know your results [​IMG]

    EDIT: It's also worth mentioning, a Custom Install will only turn your current system folders (Windows, Program Files and Users) into a single Windows.old folder. You can still access that folder and pull out any files you still need (e.g. My Pictures and My Music folders).
     
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you can do this already using the anytime upgrade feature built into windows 7, it has to be an upgrade key, not a full license key
     
  14. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That'd cost £120 for Pro and £125 for Ultimate. Or I can get a full license key for under £70 and use my current license on my laptop and complete my home migration from Vista to 7. Which sounds like the better deal?
     
  15. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Results, everybody [​IMG]

    I performed the UPGRADE last night, from Windows Vista Home Premium to Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit) and it was SUCCESSFUL!

    All my programs/files are in tact and were not lost.

    Successful install [​IMG]
     
  16. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I've upgraded from Vista Home Premium to 7 Ultimate at least twice, once during the beta phase and again with the final release. Worked flawlessly each time, good to see it still seems to work out right.
     
  17. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I did it too and was really surprised that it worked so good, just flawlessly. Really how it should be but I didn't expect it to really be like that.
     
  18. ManFranceGermany

    Member ManFranceGermany Atheist, Socialist and pro EU!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    Germany
    Normally you always backup your Files, no matter what you do with Windows. Besides, to upgrade might not be the best choice, just backup your stuff, format your HDD and make a clean install of 7.
     

Share This Page