Virtual Console Graphic Glitches

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kdbrown, Oct 16, 2010.

Oct 16, 2010
  1. kdbrown
    OP

    Newcomer kdbrown Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I have vc games sonic 1 and mario 1 which when loaded have graphic glitches. Im using firmware softmod 4.1e, do i need to update any ios?

    Thanks
     
  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    it might be the channel itself, I've never had any trouble woth VC or WW....!!
     
  3. gene0915

    Newcomer gene0915 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    what might be happening is this:

    if you have your wii configured to use the wiiconnect 24 thing, basically the built in wireless chip of the wii runs 24x7, even when the wii is "sleeping" (orange light). if you turn that connect 24 thing off and do a hard shutdown on your wii (power light goes red), the wireless chip shuts off.

    the problem is that when your wii sleeps (orange light) the wireless chip builds up lots of heat that the little fan inside can't get rid of because when the wii sleeps, the fan shuts off. this extra heat damages the ati gpu over time and this damage can manifests itself as white dots on the screen or other anomalies.

    for an example, see here: w w w.qj.net/qjnet/wii/wii-overheat-causes-video-output-error.html
     
  4. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    wireless chip? inside the gpu?

    god you are stupid

    its the starlet that is inside the gpu
    not the bloody wireless chip
     
  5. DownSince86

    Newcomer DownSince86 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    please point out where he stated that the wireless chip was inside of the gpu.

    why are the idiots so quick to call someone else stupid?
     
  6. gene0915

    Newcomer gene0915 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    i won't point out how fucking stupid you are because i see that downsince86 already did that. don't equate my low post count with a lack of knowledge. i'm a long time reader here and can tell by your post you don't think before spewing off at the mouth.
     
  7. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    ok, fair point. i thought he'd know the fact the damage came from within the gpu chip.
    which is true, but it isn't the wireless chip.
    its the starlet, on which ios runs.
     
  8. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    stop calling other stupid when you don't know anything yourself
    GPU is not inside Starlet, and I don't see why GPU failure would be more caused by Starlet overheating than any other modules, this CPU doesn't even have access to GPU.

    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/File:Wii_hw_diagram.png


    I doubt this is caused by GPU failure though, otherwise it would happen with everything running on this Wii, not just some VC games. Maybe more details on what he calls "graphical glitches" would help.
     
  9. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    correct, gpu isn't inside starlet
    starlet is inside the gpu chip (thanks for the diagram showing that i was right in my previous post in which i said, and i quote, "the fact the damage came from within the gpu chip.")
    and since ios is still run on standby, the still produces heat all over the gpu chip
    which in rare occasions *could* damage the gpu (but i have yet to see it happen with my own eyes)
     
  10. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    I had graphic glitches on a game I bought from the vc channel a long time ago , It was a fighting game forget which one , anyway the problem I was having, when I would start the game , up would be stretched and only on the top half of the tv , so I called ninty , and the tech support guy had me doing some combinations of button presses with the remote and nun chuck and it fixed ....I forget what the button presses where or if that will even fix your problem , but try calling them
     

Share This Page