Hacking virgin 4.2k homebrew install help

peyote

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
I have a virgin 4.2k (korean) wii that i want to install homebrew and change the language to english
but have no idea on how to go about it.
all the guides i have read regarding 4.2 don't seem to include much info for korean wii's

any help would be great. Thanks
 

peyote

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
forgive me for sounding stupid (I'm not real brite but can lift heavy fings)

but does that mean it's not doable yet

oh by the way thats a lovely avatar pic
wink.gif


edit:
I'm willing to be guinea pig in the name of science
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
14
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
332
Country
United States
peyote said:
forgive me for sounding stupid (I'm not real brite but can lift heavy fings)

but does that mean it's not doable yet

oh by the way thats a lovely avatar pic
wink.gif


edit:
I'm willing to be guinea pig in the name of science
run bannerbomb to run trucha bug restorer 1.1

http://bannerbomb.qoid.us/index.new.php
http://filetrip.net/f7491-Trucha-Bug-Restorer-1-1.html

put the private folder on the root of your sd card
and take the boot.dol out of the TBR folder and also put it on the root

does TBR run?
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
14
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
332
Country
United States
ok download the modify.zip

put
IOS36-64-v3351.wad
IOS15-64-v523.wad
IOS15-64-v257.wad

on the root of your card

follow this
Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Press B to choose No IOS Reload.
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Go to Downgrade IOS15.
Press A to downgrade.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.
*If you get stuck on the first Trucha bug Restorer step, try to skip the 3 TBR steps completely as there is a chance it will work!

Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Choose IOS15 & press A. (Important)
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Choose IOS36 menu. In there use these settings:

Install IOS to slot (36)
Hash check (trucha) YES
ES_Identity YES
NAND Permissions YES

Then press A on install patched IOS36.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Choose IOS36 & press A.
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Then Choose restore IOS15.
Press A to restore.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.
 

peyote

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
i just tried Fenrirwolfs way and it gives me a network error (my internet connection is not very stable)

downloading the modify.zip now will update in a few mins
 

peyote

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
OK cool i just tried what you said xzxero and it worked
after every step it gave me a code dump on the screen after i exited TBR

but it seemed to have worked.
what do i do next

edit:
oh i had to change the boot file in the modify.zip to the TBR one as it wanted to run homebrew installer
do i need to now add it back and try installing HB yet?
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
14
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
332
Country
United States
peyote said:
OK cool i just tried what you said xzxero and it worked
after every step it gave me a code dump on the screen after i exited TBR

but it seemed to have worked.
what do i do next
get the boot.dol from the AnyTitleDeleterDB folder
and replace it with the TBR boot.dol [ the on on the root]

run bannerbomb again and this time it should boot up AnytitleDeleterDB

do this
Run Any Title Deleter DB
Choose IOS36 & press A.
Go to System Titles & press A.
Select IOS222 & press A to delete.
Select IOS223 & press A to delete.
Select IOS249 & press A to delete.
Select IOS250 & press A to delete.
*If any IOS listed above is not there, check the other pages. If it's still not there, do not worry about it & move along with the guide.
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
14
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
332
Country
United States
add the wad folder from the modify.zip to the root
get the boot.dol from the wadmanager folder
and replace it with the ATD boot.dol [ the on on the root]

run bannerbomb again and this time it should boot up WADmanager
do this now
Run WAD Manager 1.5
When it opens choose IOS36. (it is probably already set to that)
Press A to leave NAND emulator disabled.
Press A to open from SD slot.
Install IOS70-v6687.wad
Install IOS202-v4.wad
Install IOS222-v4.wad
Install IOS223-v4.wad
Install IOS249-v14.wad
Install IOS250-v65535.wad
Press home to exit.
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
14
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
332
Country
United States
FenrirWolf said:
Do you think he could run the HackMii Installer at this point?
no
i was going to tell him to run NUSD to get

IOS61-64-v5405.wad
IOS36-64-v3351.wad
IOS34-64-v3348.wad


and install those then try to run the hackmii installer
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
14
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
332
Country
United States
peyote said:
so far no problems that also worked

ok run NUSD and get

NUS (IOS > IOS 34 > v3348 & WAD)
NUS (IOS > IOS 36 > v3351 & WAD)
NUS (IOS > IOS 61 > v5405 & WAD)

grab these wads and put them in the wad folder
IOS61-64-v5405.wad
IOS36-64-v3351.wad
IOS34-64-v3348.wad

install them with wad manager

run bannerbomb and this time run the hackmii installer [boot.elf from the modify.zip]

hopefully you can do this
Installing The Homebrew Channel & Bootmii
Run bannerbomb by going to the SD Card menu & choosing yes to load boot.dol/elf
This runs the Hackmii Installer from which you should install the Homebrew Channel, DVDX [optional], & Bootmii as IOS & boot2 if possible.

Making a NAND backup
Restart your Wii, if Bootmii was installed as boot2, then it will show up as soon as the Wii is turned on.
If Bootmii was only installed as an IOS, then it must be loaded by pressing home in the HBC & clicking Launch Bootmii.

Press the power button on the wii 3 times to get to the last option, then press the reset button.
[You can also navigate with a gc controller.]
Press reset to choose the first option, & then follow the directions on the screen to make your NAND backup.
[Bad blocks are no problem.]
Backup the Bootmii folder, NAND.bin, & keys.bin elsewhere & erase from the sd card. [or rename it.]
 

peyote

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
bow.gif
bow.gif
bow.gif

the homebrew channel - can be installed
DVDX - can be installed
bootMii - can only be installed as an IOS

so install HB now yes?
also what about bootMii should i also install it as an IOS?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: China uses leftover previous-gen tech to make cheap stuff.