Viewing pictures taken from other cameras on DSI XL

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Roguezz, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. Roguezz
    OP

    Member Roguezz Siren

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright guys, I need a software that can change the Camera Model and Camera Make of a JPEG image. If we could do that, then we can finally put on and view pics on DSI that weren't made by it's camera.
    Camera Make for Pics: Nintendo
    Camera Model for Pics: NintendoDS
    I think that's what it's supposed to look like.
    I'll post more info later if needed-but you should be able to go from there.
     
  2. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    ...What? I don't understand what you're asking...
     
  3. iMasaru

    Member iMasaru GBATemp's™ Retired Cheats Co-Compiler

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    he wants someone to make a software for him that will allow him to convert jpeg pictures to the DSi format and allow him to put it on his DSi :3

    I don't think there is a software like that, and dont see why anyone would be bothered to make one :S
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @ShadowSoldier: I think what he is trying to ask/do is find a program that will create/alter all the necessary files/data so that the DSi can 'see' any picture stored onto the SD card which was NOT taken using the DSi camera - maybe something that will change the EXIF data of the picture or something

    @Roguezz: AFAIK there has been NO way of doing this.
    I myself have tried copying the EXIF data from a picture taken by the DSi & 'injecting' it into a similar sized picture (same resolution,DPI,Colour depth etc) - with no success

    I THINK there are other files stored on the card that also need to be changed somehow (perhaps they hold the thumbnails & additional data) but I can't be sure
     
  5. Roguezz
    OP

    Member Roguezz Siren

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, but that's not it my friend. You need to change the camera make and model of the JPEG image. Camera Make for Pics: Nintendo
    Camera Model for Pics: NintendoDS I do not know how to change these. If you hover your cruiser/mouse over a picture taken by a DSI-it will show you the model-but not the make.
     
  6. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah !!! back at you... I DO know about this..
    It's all stored in the EXIF header data & by using programs like ExifTool (+GUI), infanview, gimp etc - I have changed all the Exif data of a non-DSi picture (of the right size/dpi/colour depth etc ) to match that of a 'genuine' DSi picture

    I then placed them back onto the SD card both, using a same name of an existing picture on it (overwriting it) as well as a new picture of similar name structure & guess what - they don't show up
     
  7. Roguezz
    OP

    Member Roguezz Siren

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Heh heh, yeah. So far, all I've managed is getting it into the DSI-but it says image cannot be displayed. HOWEVER, the main thing is-it actually read the image. I'm going to keep on trying and hopefully get it working soon. If it works-custom firmware. [​IMG] Anyway, I missed some stuff in the EFIX header when I checked just now-so, I'll try again and post soon. WISH ME LUCK! [​IMG]
     
  8. Roguezz
    OP

    Member Roguezz Siren

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Heh heh, yeah. So far, all I've managed is getting it into the DSI-but it says image cannot be displayed. HOWEVER, the main thing is-it actually read the image. I'm going to keep on trying and hopefully get it working soon. If it works-custom firmware. [​IMG] Anyway, I missed some stuff in the EFIX header when I checked just now-so, I'll try again and post soon. WISH ME LUCK! [​IMG]
     
  9. ecko

    Member ecko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    could it be that it needs a specific resolution to show up?
    can't test it myself, since i dont have a dsi
     
  10. Roguezz
    OP

    Member Roguezz Siren

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Bah, I have some projects due, so I'll try again by the end of the weekend.
     

Share This Page