Very simple question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sim00, Jun 22, 2009.

Jun 22, 2009

Very simple question by Sim00 at 4:26 PM (608 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

1. Sim00
    OP

Newcomer Sim00 Newbie

New Zealand
    I hacked my Wii about a year ago, simply by following guides, using the Twilight Hack to install the Homebrew Channel. I use it mainly to run emulators and Gecko Os (to launch region free games). And well, I was a noob back then, and I've kind of forgotten everything about how it all works.

The guides I have attempted to read have just confused me more - I'm sure I'd be able to eventually work things out, but I thought it would be quicker to ask specifically what I want.

I currently have 3.0E firmware on my Wii, and I want to play both Punchout and the upcoming Wii sports Resort. I'm assuming they will update my Wii to 4.0, which I gather I don't want to do. How do I play them without updating then? Or is it safe to update (I want the Homebrew Channel and Gecko Os to keep working.. do they work with 4.0?)

sorry for the incredibly noobish question. The reason why I'm confused is I don't really understand what IOs's are and things like that so the guides confuse me [​IMG] . Thank you very much for any help [​IMG]

2. $uPeRJjS&#0

Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

Australia
    I heard that Homebrew Channel 1.0.3 works on system 4.0.... Don't back-up loaders block all updates?

3. nabster92

Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

United States
    You could just follow http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=144835 to update to 4.0 properly without losing anything. Preloader isn't really necessary, but will help for brick protection and will also allow you to enable a hack to disable disc update checks.

As far as brick protection goes though, if you can install bootmii to boot2 on your Wii (if your Wii was bought before about mid 2008ish you should be able to) it would be even better than preloader.