USB Loader GX

By cyrex, Apr 19, 2009 6,173,511 27,336 40

  1. OriginalHamster

    OriginalHamster UStealthy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,380
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    I think Nintendont add a deflicker option, it soften the image to hide edges, it actually make things looks more blurry than sharp.
     
  2. AbdallahTerro

    AbdallahTerro da KiNG
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6,052
    Country:
    can you please check this dol: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/101209384/ds3/usbloader-gx1233-wupc-ds3-mod.7z
    I did the patches manually so that nothing is missed
    sources patch included (libraries not)
    I tested with DS3 and all is good
     
  3. schraat

    schraat Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Thanks AbdallahTerro but airline38 give me already a working .dol
     
  4. airline38

    airline38 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    741
    Country:
    Taiwan

    I just tested your new mod boot.dol but I still got code dump twice (I tried 4 times).
    Also even I can logon GX menu (2 of 4 times), I found my Wii u pro controller become
    a little lag if I move "up" or "right".(abnormal)

    Here is the mod version(r1233) I did for schraat 2 days ago.
    (support wii u pro controller)
    https://www.sendspace.com/file/xzt1gm

    I didn't do any new patch/change but used the old patch
    which I did 2 months ago.(see attached file below)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. AbdallahTerro

    AbdallahTerro da KiNG
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6,052
    Country:
    can you apply the ds3 patch to your source and see if you get the same problem?
     

    Attached Files:

    • ds3.rar
      File size:
      1.4 KB
      Views:
      94
  6. Shiranui-san

    Shiranui-san GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    Oops, my fault, I had Autoboot option in GX set as Disabled, that's why it didn't load games directly. However, the button combo issue when a game is load through GX+Nintendont is still there. As I said before, it doesn't happen loading a game diectly through Nintendont, not sure if it's a bug of Nintendont itself.
     
  7. airline38

    airline38 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    741
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Yes, I got the same problem (DSI code dump) after applying your ds3 patch.
    (there was no warning/error message at compiling/linking)
     
  8. AbdallahTerro

    AbdallahTerro da KiNG
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6,052
    Country:
    ok thanks for testing, so the problem is DS3 code when WiiUPro is used, I don't get any codedumps here using DS3
     
  9. pedrobarca

    pedrobarca Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    Hi Cyan !
    I have a strange problem with USBGX. I can't get nintendont to work. I'm using USBGX r1233 and nintendont r217. Once I chose a game and try to load it I only get a blackscreen and after about 5-10 seconds I'm back at the HBC.

    This is the first time I try to use it with USBGX. I guess normally I should see nintendont see its stuff ("Loading ES_module" etc.). Since I dont even see that, I guess USBGX has a problem loading the nintendont boot.dol. I checked the Nintendont path and it seems to be correct. The main path to the GC games is also correct. Further, I've set the gamecube loader mode to "Nintendont".
    I thought thats all, what I have to do, but somehow it still wont work.

    Everything works fine, if I use nintendont directly from HBC, so the problem seems to be on the USBGX side. Maybe you know what I'm missing?

    I even got a stack dump trying to load four swords... one more info: I#M on WiiU.
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,333
    Country:
    France
    Maybe it's related to the new GUI version of nintendont?
    I tested the loader up to nintendont v2.213
    I will test newer version and fix it if needed.
     
  11. pedrobarca

    pedrobarca Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    Maybe, I'll try v2.213.

    EDIT: Doesn't work either...

    Do I get this right: Nintendont path should be something like "SD:apps/Nintendont/" or should it be just "SD:apps/" i.e. Should it go inside the nintendont folder or not?

    And the boot.dol should really be named boot.dol, should it? Not something like loader.dol?

    USBGX puts an error if something with the path wrong, therefore, normally everything should be fine...

    EDIT2: I tried a new clean SD and put only USBGX and Nintendont on it and it works. So it has something to do with my settings. Maybe some interference with my emuNAND, or categories, Dont know...
     
  12. Rubyheart

    Rubyheart Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having an issue with GX and Nintendont. I have GX's setting to enable auto boot, but when I click start on a game I've set to run with Nintendont, it brings me to Nintendont's loader, prompting me to pick sd or usb then manually finding the game, instead of launching the game. I've also set Nintendont to use auto boot, but this setting seems to get reset every time I launch the game. Is this how it's supposed to work and I just need to deal with it, or am I doing something wrong?

    GX is running the most recent public version (through it's internal auto updater), as is Nintendont (again after updating through the app itself).
     
  13. Shiranui-san

    Shiranui-san GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    I reported the very same issue in the previous page, but it was due to the autoboot setting in GX being off. Make sure that option is enabled, I'm running GX r1233 and Nintendont v2.219.
     
  14. Rubyheart

    Rubyheart Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    I have GX r1231, the internal app must not have pushed the update yet. Nintendont is v2.219. Auto boot is enabled, still brings me to the Nintendont loader page. I'll see if I can update GX.

    Manually upgrading to GX r1233 seems to have worked, thanks.
     
  15. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,333
    Country:
    France
    I didn't push 1233 yet (I don't want to push it after every little revision).
    there are one or two things I need to fix or test correctly, then I'll make the version available to internal updater.
     
    Magnus87 likes this.
  16. Rubyheart

    Rubyheart Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    No worries, I've got it all working now. I'd just like to thank you for all the work you put in to GX, I've tried the other loaders and GX is by far my favorite.

    I've done a little coding myself (although not nearly as complex as this, just a little addon for World of Warcraft), and I know how thankless of a job working on code can be sometimes.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  17. OriginalHamster

    OriginalHamster UStealthy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,380
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Cyan, a little suggestion, at the time to start a 2 disc game in Gamecube it ask what disc launch, disc1 or disc2, I think it's redundant since Nintendon't and Devolution swap disc automaticaly at the time to load a save.
     
  18. ata

    ata Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    hello,

    Im about to softmod my first Wii U. I wanted to know if the USB loader GX full wad channell was safe to use on the vWII.

    USB Loader GX v3.0 WAD Channel (UNLR) (boot IOS 249)
     
  19. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,333
    Country:
    France
    It asks only with nintendont and DIOS MIOS (Lite).
    Devolution always start with Disc1 (it's required by devolution).
    For nintendont, I could remove it. I added it when swap wasn't possible.


    Ata:
    Do not install the FULL wad channel, it's for Wii only.
    It hasn't been updated for vWii (yet?), as it require a special method to compile it and inject that boot.dol into a vWii channel.

    To use the USBLoader, you need an external device (if not SD, you at least require USB for Wii games, unless you want only a real channel booter but why use a loader then?).
    If you use an external device, just install the forwarder channel, and put the boot.dol on your external device. It's the one I'm updating regularly and it's available in the internal update menu.


    There are two reason why I didn't update the full channel:
    1- the Wad installer on realNAND has been removed before 3.0 release. I will need to re-add it before releasing a new channel or else it will not be able to update itself on next revision.
    2- The internal update system currently doesn't check if the user is on Wii or vWii, It's downloading the unique "full channel" which is for Wii. I'll have to create two different full channel wads and change the update link for vWii.


    If you find a "pre-made" Full channel for vWii, it's not a correct one!
    some users inserted the standalone (non full channel version) boot.dol inside the "Forwarder channel for vWii". So, yes it works, but if you or the user for whom you are softmoding the console want to update you will encounter two issues :
    1- the internal update menu will download the boot.dol and put it on SD or USB, It will not download and replace the FullChannel(UNLR).wad because it's the standalone program which is inside the channel, not the Full program.
    2- You need to inject the new Standalone program into a channel and reinstall that channel manually each time you want to update.


    using the forwarder is easier:
    if there's a new version available in the internal update menu, just use that menu.
    If it's not available in the update menu yet (I don't release all version in that menu), you can update manually by replacing a single file on your SD or USB.
     
  20. OriginalHamster

    OriginalHamster UStealthy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,380
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Now that I remember you have to press the eject button to swap disc on Devolution, depending if the save was for disc1 or disc2, not sure if djtuei implemented a key combo in the controller to work as eject button though.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Loader,