USB Loader GX

By cyrex, Apr 19, 2009 6,077,651 27,132 40

  1. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    @ThePanchamBros Your IOS249 is a stub and that's the one USB Loader GX tries to use first.

    You have the right d2x v10 in slot 250 so installing the same version as 249[56] should at least get you closer to the loader working. (I use ModMii to get those but you can use the installer app, too.)
     
  2. ThePanchamBros

    ThePanchamBros Hates the Undertale Fandom
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    so what do I do to ios 249? I'm confused.
     
  3. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    Your syscheck report says you don't have an IOS in 249. Wii games need a custom IOS to run from USB. If you get ModMii on the cIOS download page there is an option to download and build WADs for d2x. It defaults to v8 so if you want the same version as what you have in 250 you'll want to type "BETA" and change the settings to v10beta52.

    It will make a WAD file that you can put on an SD card and install using a mod manager.
     
  4. wiiba

    wiiba Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    I am having problems with getting USB Loader to recognise the games i've put on the hdd via Wii backup manager. Can someone please help? My sys files are:
    Code:
    sysCheck v2.1.0b19 by Double_A and R2-D2199, Nano
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).
    
    Region: PAL
    System Menu 4.3E (v514)
    
    Drive date: 2007.02.13
    Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58
    HomebrewFilter ist nicht installiert
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 80822978
    Boot2 v4
    Found 68 titles.
    Found 48 IOS on this console. 15 of them are stub.
    
    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
    IOS80 (rev 6944): No Patches
    IOS222 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS223 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS236[36] (rev 65535, Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS249[56] (rev 20, Info: rev 20): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250[38] (rev 20, Info: rev 20): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
    
    Report generated on 2016/07/08.
    
     
  5. LWares87

    LWares87 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i would honestly use ModMii to remod your wii. other than that... make sure that your files aren't compressed if using a NTFS partition and make sure that if you're using a FAT32 partition that it's set to the first active partition (if i'm wrong someone people correct me). Also, make sure that you're using the correct file directory format for either Wii or/and Gamecube games (regardless if you're using Nintendont, DIOS MIOS (Lite) or Devolution).
     
    ca032769 likes this.
  6. wiiba

    wiiba Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    OK, so I did a complete ModMii installation, and it was much more easy, thank you. Now the issue is that the USB Loader doesn't recognise that a hard drive is present. And the USB loader GX doesn't load, but just returns back to the Wii Menu. I'm using a Samsung M3 portable HDD 500gb.
    edit: more info
    I have the HDD set to FAT, and the files have been converted to wbf by WiiBackupmanager. Just when i have it plugged into the correct USB port, now USB loader still asks for a HDD to be inserted.
     
    Last edited by wiiba, Jul 8, 2016
  7. LWares87

    LWares87 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The external HDD has to always be inserted into the left usb port on the console (right, if you're looking at it from the back).
    Make sure that you're using the correct file directory format for either Wii or/and Gamecube games (regardless if you're using Nintendont, DIOS MIOS (Lite) or Devolution).

    For example:
    Wii = "x:/wbfs/Super Smash Bros. Brawl [RSBP01].wbfs" or "x:/wbfs/Super Smash Bros. Brawl [RSBP01]/RSBP01.wbfs"
    GameCube = "x:/games/GO7E69/game.iso"

    select the Drive 1 tab and choose the drive letter that your using, go to options -> settings and select the FAT32/NTFS tab. adjust the settings to your preference, then click OK.
    this should hopefully help you with your problem. if not, then you may have to reformat your partition as FAT32 for it to work properly with the loader (as i don't think FAT partitions are supported, could be wrong of course).
     
    Last edited by LWares87, Jul 10, 2016
  8. sideskroll

    sideskroll GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Peru
    Hi guys. I'm wondering if somebody could confirm what I think is an issue.
    I'm trying to set the width for GC games to 108 (708) so they don't look "deformed". But it appears to not be working at all (or maybe it's just with the games I'm trying?)
    Could somebody confirm if it is indeed working? Or if maybe the parameters are not being passed on to Nintendont (which I know, would be an issue with the latest Nintendont build so I would take it to them in that case)
    The games that show no changes whatsoever are Mario Sunshine, Eternal Darkness and Crash Tag Racing.
    Thanks.

    USBL GX r1260 and Nintendont 4.xx (can't remember the exact build but I just updated yesterday)
     
  9. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,285
    Country:
    France
    I didn't remember there was an option to change the width in nintendont !

    try setting the scale and position directly from nitendont options (not from USBLoaderGX) and see if it has the same result.
    If it works when launching nintendont from HBC, then it's a bug in USBGX or the nintendont settings needs some updates, if not then it's an issue with nintendont, or with these games.

    Maybe the games are re-initializing the video mode themselves after the launch.
     
    Troopage and sideskroll like this.
  10. sideskroll

    sideskroll GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Peru
    Already did. No dice. But I could SWEAR it worked fine before.
    If the games do mess with the video parameters, could something be done to prevent that?

    *Edit* btw, did you ever got the chance to test the WD usb 3 drives?
     
    Last edited by sideskroll, Jul 10, 2016
  11. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,285
    Country:
    France
    sorry :P
    But I still think about it (if it's of any consolation). Maybe when I'll be in holidays (in august)
     
    sideskroll likes this.
  12. sideskroll

    sideskroll GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Peru
    LOL, don't sweat it. It's working at least. Although by reloading 249 after 58 inits the drive... But I think it would be good to know WHY it works on the Wii but not vWii, don't you think?
    So, about the video modes. Any ideas?
     
  13. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,285
    Country:
    France
    I don't know about the video mode. Fix94 knows Gamecube commands better.
    You said it used to work, maybe try older version and see if there's one who broke the feature.
     
  14. wiiba

    wiiba Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Country:

    I've tried everything you've said, but I still can't get it to recognise it. Here is how the hdd is arranged:
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using an original Wii with a WD 8TB USB3.0 My Book (wall power adapter) with USB Loader GX & Nintendont without any Wii or GC issues.

    One 8TB MBR FAT32 Partition set as PRIMARY & ACTIVE with 64K clusters/4096 byte sectors.
     
    Last edited by ca032769, Jul 11, 2016
  16. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,805
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure USB Loader GX and the cIOSs aren't compatible for GPT and 8TB is too large for MBR, if I remember correctly.
     
  17. sideskroll

    sideskroll GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Peru
    Perhaps the issues are only with WD Elements drives. I even gave @Cyan the link to the same exact drive I'm using and he got it. So it's just a matter of him testing it whenever he gets the chance.

    *EDIT* Nevermind, I re-read your reply. I also mention that the issue is apparently only present if using a WiiU, on a Wii the same drive works perfectly fine.

    No GPT, MBR and 1 FAT32 primary partition.
    The HDD works. But I have to use a workaround for the init problem (edit the meta.xml file to use IOS58 for the init and then switch to 249 once the drive is loaded) so it is not an issue with formatting or size.
     
    Last edited by sideskroll, Jul 11, 2016
  18. GinNoKaze

    GinNoKaze Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    im on the most recent version, the usb path is set to usb1:/games/
    the loader still refuses to see that a game is there
     
  19. wiiba

    wiiba Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Country:

    My USB Loader only has 1 partition available in settings on the hdd, WBFS. I'm having trouble getting the Loader to recognise the files have put on the drive. It's just not reocognising it, I've reformateed it in FAT and WBFS
     
  20. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,285
    Country:
    France
    MBR can only assign up to 32bit sector number.
    but if the partition starts at sector 63, and is 4096bytes/sector, maybe it can fit in MBR. I haven't done the calculus.

    FAT32 (which is 32bit) can go up to 16TB
    I still haven't install any cIOS on my vWii :P
    I only have HBC. I'll have to install d2x to test it.

    the path is now correctly set to USB, and you still don't see games?
    Be sure you enabled gamecube games in the 4th icon on the top menu.
    Be sure you set "Main+SD" in the settings>loader settings>gamecube source.

    Why did you quote that message, is that related to your issue?
    I don't understand this part:
    I think you don't have a WBFS partition, as you posted a picture of a drive with a file system in it. So you have a FAT partition.
    Format it to FAT32, not FAT or FAT16 or ExFAT.

    Don't format to WBFS.
     
    TecXero likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Loader,