Hacking USB loader GX need some help getting it to work...

titchgamer

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
hey guys!

Hoping someone can help me out.
I am a total Wii novice so please bare with me :P

So I brought a old Wii the other day with a external HDD.

After getting it home I discovered the HDD is knackered but the Wii is fine.

It has USB loader GX installed and so I have tried putting some ISO’s on a spare drive I had knocking around that I formated and copied the ISO’s to using WBMS (think I put that right!?)

So I have 2 problems, The first is I just get a black screen and the wiimote turns off after starting one of the ISO games.

I believe this may be something to do with the video output settings?

Which brings me to my 2nd problem, I cant save any settings if I alter them.

Any help appreciated!

Thanks.

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
France
hello,

When you say it comes with USBLoaderGX already installed, you mean it's installed on the console or you bought it with a ready to use SD card?
If the loader is installed on your console, and launches without SD or USB inserted, then its an old version and you should remove/update it.

if it doesn't launch without the SD card inserted, then it's good !
but you'll probably have to update the file on your SD card anyway (I released an update yesterday)

You can't save any settings because you don't have an SD card inserted?
and your HDD is probably not in correct format to save the settings either, so you have few bad things :

1. the version of the loader is bad
2. the HDD format is bad, and you used a bad program to put games on it. you don't have an SD card.
3. your console is probably using outdated hacks, you'll have to update it.

how to fix :
0. GET an SD card ! format it to FAT32.
If you don't have one, Buy one ! don't be cheap. you had enough to buy a console, just get an SD card too. you'll save a lot of money by pirating...