Hacking USB Loader GX detects gc games on usb2:

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,253
Country
Austria
I installed USB loader gx and set up Nintendont and everything works fine. The only issue I have (it's not really a issue but I don't understand it) is that I have to set the gamecube main path to usb2:/games. My gc games are in a folder called "games" on the same hdd as my wii games (in wbfs folder). My hdd is attached at USB port 0 (when wii is horizontal the port is the bottom one). Also my hdd is attached with a y cable to my wii.
It's also interesting that when I switch the ports that my gc games can still be loaded without changing the gamecube main path but my wii games won't work anymore. I have installed cIOS d2x with v10 beta52.

Would be nice if someone could explain me why. I thought my gc games would be on usb1: instead.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,767
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
2,199
Country
Austria
I installed USB loader gx and set up Nintendont and everything works fine. The only issue I have (it's not really a issue but I don't understand it) is that I have to set the gamecube main path to usb2:/games. My gc games are in a folder called "games" on the same hdd as my wii games (in wbfs folder). My hdd is attached at USB port 0 (when wii is horizontal the port is the bottom one). Also my hdd is attached with a y cable to my wii.
It's also interesting that when I switch the ports that my gc games can still be loaded without changing the gamecube main path but my wii games won't work anymore. I have installed cIOS d2x with v10 beta52.

Would be nice if someone could explain me why. I thought my gc games would be on usb1: instead.

Hello.:)

I can only give you some Advice from @Cyan to NOT use BOTH ports.
Also to use ONLY Port 0:

iiii.jpg


It has to do with the d2x cIOSes Versions.The latest FINAL STABLE Version is cIOS rev 21 d2x v8 final.
The different following Revisions Numbers are maybe a little "confusing",it has to do of Releasing cIOSes for Wii and vWii.

if you want more Informations,please read his Quick Guide about cIOSes:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/is-d2x-and-cios249-the-same.350027/#post-4687010


Thank you.:)
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,253
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

I can only give you some Advice from @Cyan to NOT use BOTH ports.
Also to use ONLY Port 0:

View attachment 179681

It has to do with the d2x cIOSes Versions.The latest FINAL STABLE Version is cIOS rev 21 d2x v8 final.
The different following Revisions Numbers are maybe a little "confusing",it has to do of Releasing cIOSes for Wii and vWii.

if you want more Informations,please read his Quick Guide about cIOSes:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/is-d2x-and-cios249-the-same.350027/#post-4687010


Thank you.:)
Also if I use only port 0, my GC games are still on usb2:/ :/
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,767
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
2,199
Country
Austria
Also if I use only port 0, my GC games are still on usb2:/ :/
It is only a recommendation to use Port 0 to avoid issues and troubles.:)
Your Gamecube Games can be on SD Card,USB1 or USB2.
You can change it on the USBLoaderGX "Global Settings" under "Custom paths" - Main GameCube Path.

Thank you.:)
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,253
Country
Austria
It is only a recommendation to use Port 0 to avoid issues and troubles.:)
Your Gamecube Games can be on SD Card,USB1 or USB2.
You can change it on the USBLoaderGX "Global Settings" under "Custom paths" - Main GameCube Path.

Thank you.:)
Yeah ik but my GC games are on usb1 but I can only find them if I set this path to usb2.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,767
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
2,199
Country
Austria
Yeah ik but my GC games are on usb1 but I can only find them if I set this path to usb2.

Ok.....
*is a little confused....* :D

Do you maybe made "accidentially" 2 Partions on your HDD ?

Please look under "Custom Paths" in the USBLoaderGX Global Settings:

SD GameCube Path ---> sd:/games/
Main GameCube Path ---> usb1:/games/

You maybe can RESET all Settings to DEFAULT on the last Page.

Thank you.:)
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,253
Country
Austria
Ok.....
*is a little confused....* :D

Do you maybe made "accidentially" 2 Partions on your HDD ?

Please look under "Custom Paths" in the USBLoaderGX Global Settings:

SD GameCube Path ---> sd:/games/
Main GameCube Path ---> usb1:/games/

You maybe can RESET all Settings to DEFAULT on the last Page.

Thank you.:)
SD GameCube Path is sd:/games/
Main GameCube Path is usb2:/games/

I don’t think usb2:/ means a second partition but a second hdd on second port?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,767
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
2,199
Country
Austria
SD GameCube Path is sd:/games/
Main GameCube Path is usb2:/games/

I don’t think usb2:/ means a second partition but a second hdd on second port?

What happens if you change the Path to usb1:/games/ and then plug your HDD into USB 0 and Restart the USBLoader GX?

By the Way: Your USBLoader GX Verson is already v3.0 r1272 ? :unsure:

Thank you.:)
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,253
Country
Austria
What happens if you change the Path to usb1:/games/ and then plug your HDD into USB 0 and Restart the USBLoader GX?

By the Way: Your USBLoader GX Verson is already v3.0 r1272 ? :unsure:

Thank you.:)
Then my Wii games still work but my gc games won’t be detected. The funny thing is that my hdd is plugged in the USB port 0 but I need it to set the path to usb2: to detect the GC games. Yes it’s v3.0 Rev1272.

By the way: what does the setting „GameCube Source“ do?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Teletron1

Space Tech Engineer
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
576
Trophies
0
Location
EARTH
XP
1,469
Country
United States
I checked and there is a EFI system partition and afterwards my normal partition. Can I delete the EFI partition? Idk what that is.
did you wipe your drive the first time when you first set it up? you must have had windows/os on it (stores some data to the drive) you are probably going to need a disk utility to get rid of it

but either way I don't think that should have caused your issue

you should have this in usbloader settings under nintendont
usb2:/games/

 

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,767
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
2,199
Country
Austria
By the way: what does the setting „GameCube Source“ do?

It is a Setting for NINTENDONT only.I do not think it has to do with your detection issue..:(
I checked and there is a EFI system partition and afterwards my normal partition. Can I delete the EFI partition? Idk what that is.

EFI is made by an UEFI Bios on an GPT "Partitionstyle" HDD.

Now I maybe know your Issue.You have used GPT instead of MBR for your HDD.If you have a Partion Tool you can simply convert it.
A solution to get rid of this USB2 Issue is to backup your Games and REFORMAT your HDD with FAT32 and please check of MBR format for your HDD.
You can make 2 Partitions,if you want,this is no problem.But it is not necessary.:)
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,253
Country
Austria
It is a Setting for NINTENDONT only.I do not think it has to do with your detection issue..:(


EFI is made by an UEFI Bios on an GPT "Partitionstyle" HDD.

Now I maybe know your Issue.You have used GPT instead of MBR for your HDD.If you have a Partion Tool you can simply convert it.
A solution to get rid of this USB2 Issue is to backup your Games and REFORMAT your HDD with FAT32 and please check of MBR format for your HDD.
You can make 2 Partitions,if you want,this is no problem.But it is not necessary.:)
So the hdd should be MBR?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1222680/Need_for_Speed_Heat/