USB Loader GX - default theme too "big"

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by markmcrobie, May 30, 2010.

May 30, 2010
  1. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On my 42" 1080p LCD TV, USB Loader GX is slightly "cut off" at the top & bottom. I tried changing the TV's aspect ratio, but all the other settings are even worse.

    On my mum's 42" 720p plasma TV, USB Loader GX is fine. It was also fine on her previous TV (32" LCD). Both of us have the Wii connected by component cable.

    In my actual Wii main dashboard, everything is fine.

    I can't see any settings to change this in GX. Can I modify the default theme somehow?
     
  2. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    download a new theame built in on gx in settings
     
  3. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, but I like the default one, I'd rather keep that, but with the size correct
     
  4. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    change your Wii settings to 480i, thats the only way to display most homebrew at the original dimensions
     
  5. toejam316

    Member toejam316 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Your TV has what's called Overscan - you can't fix it short of making the application aware of it and thus able to compensate.
     
  6. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. If I change my Wii to 480i, don't I lose the benefit of having the component cable (i.e. 480p)?
     
  7. toejam316

    Member toejam316 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I think you might be able to make only USB Loader GX run in 480i, or you could set your wii to run in 480i and then force all games to run in 480p via the usb loader
     
  8. Dr. Clipper

    Member Dr. Clipper GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,487
    Country:
    Australia
    It makes very little sense for it to display in 480i but not 480p. They have the same pixel resolution. Switching to 480i really only makes sense for PAL Wiis where the user is using the default 576i. I think it is just overscan, which you may be able to correct via your TV settings. Look for overscan or vertical size configuration features in your TV's menu.
     
  9. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried setting the Wii to 480i, made no difference.

    There is no overscan setting in my TV menu. There are settings for horizontal & vertical position, but vertical is greyed out. Wouldn't this affect everything connected to the tv anyway?

    Why does this issue only appear in GX and not the Wii menu and in-game?
     
  10. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,395
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    My new TV (sony bravia) had the same problem with GX being cropped.
    I found a menu in the TV where you can select the overscan/zooming from -1 / normal / +1
    had to put -1
    It's really small difference, but enough to fit GX.
    It seems my old TV had a bigger viewing zone. I don't know why they made "normal" the default while it's not full screen.
     
  11. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    You will probably need to get into the engineer menu of your tv (do a web search for tv brand and model engineer menu) to be able to modify the overscan.

    Try to get hold of a calibration BD/DVD to set your TV up to look the best it can, that will help you setting overscan to an optimal value.
     
  12. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I can get the code for my TV to get into service settings, but won't changing it there affect all sources, etc, not just USB Loader GX?

    Can anyone tell me why it's only GX affected and not the Wii/component source as a whole? The official Wii dash and in-game is fine, it's only when using the GX dash.
     
  13. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,395
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    All my pictures were cropped, from any sources, it's just not detectable with video or games as they tend to use a safe zone where they don't print any usefull information, like HP/MP etc.
    but if you can compare with another TV, you can verify if it's really only GX or everything.
    If it's GX only, maybe there's a problem with the video format, or the aspect ratio.
     
  14. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    If it is only in GX then your best bet would be to put in a request for overscan area to be modifiable in GX. If there is little to nothing lost in the area that is "cut-off" then I'd just live with it.
     
  15. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    no. your best bet would be to just create a theme text file. you can move the gui components wherever you like without having to change the images. this way you will ensure that it looks right on your tv, nobody 10,000,000 miles away from your house has to do any needless coding and hope it looks right, and its faster. you can whip up a theme file and tweek it in a couple hours and be done.
     
  16. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    I've never used GX so I didn't realise it was skinnable.

    If they edit an already existing theme it wouldn't even take hours.
     

Share This Page