Hacking USB Loader GX and my HD?

inadog

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I have an external hard drive that I've been using for a few years. I've recently started using backups for my Wii. I want to use this Hard Drive with USB Loader GX (which I have working with DVDs and another 1GB USB), but I when I try to make a WBFS partition, I hear it will delete all of the data all ready on my HD and I don't have the means to back it up. Is there a way to use USB Loader GX to load my HD on NTFS format as it is. I heard that you need Hermes cios, if so, how do I install that in detail?

Thanks in Advance
yaywii.gif

Ryoku83

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
inadog said:
So I have an external hard drive that I've been using for a few years. I've recently started using backups for my Wii. I want to use this Hard Drive with USB Loader GX (which I have working with DVDs and another 1GB USB), but I when I try to make a WBFS partition, I hear it will delete all of the data all ready on my HD and I don't have the means to back it up. Is there a way to use USB Loader GX to load my HD on NTFS format as it is. I heard that you need Hermes cios, if so, how do I install that in detail?

Thanks in Advance
yaywii.gif
Last I tried GX works fine on a ntfs drive without doing anything special.

Ryoku83

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
inadog said:
OK. Let me try it out. You do need a wbsf folder though right?
Yes you'll need the wbfs folder still. Only trouble I had with NTFS is it was picky when it came to the file names, once I started transfering the games over with wii backup manager or ripping the games with my loader straight to the drive it worked fine.

inadog

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks for the replies!

I connected my HD to my wii and started usb loader gx. It recognized the backup I had on my HD but when I try to play it all I is a black screen and I have turn off my wii.

Any ideas?

serenade.63

Trophies
XP
Country
United States