USB Flash drive not loading

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by rirawin, Oct 28, 2011.

Oct 28, 2011

USB Flash drive not loading by rirawin at 5:53 PM (817 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I just brought a Wii and for the love of god I'm trying to figure out getting a iso to load?.

    I formatted the drive to NTFS then used WBFS manager to format and add the game.

    Then once added I put the flash usb drive to the back and then load up configure usb loader however, it just just hangs at the load screen with the bottom right showing some numbers?.

    If I remove the usb flash stick and then the configure usbloader loads up perfectly.

    Can anyone help?.
     
  2. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    What USB Drive is it? It could very well be that the drive is incompatible with the Wii. The Wii is a bit of a crybaby when it comes to external storage devices.

    You could also try to format the drive as FAT32. This shouldnt matter, but doesnt hurt to try.
     
  3. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
  4. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Tried another iso and it just says v65 249 defrag?

    It just freezes?.
     
  5. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Try updating cfg to latest v70.
     
  6. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Umm how do I do tha, I just brought it and the seller is not responding now.

    Thanks
     
  7. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    You bought it pre-modded? New or used?

    Anyway, Id recommend you to use ModMii to update your Wii. Just run the wizard and follow the generated guide.
    It is highly likely that your Wii's cIOS are out of date.
     
  8. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Brought it pre-modded, the seller said it was all ready to go but I'm having a huge headache getting it to work.

    The problem with the ModMii is I don't know what he's put on there, version etc?
     
  9. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, all you need to know is your system menu version.
    I dont remember how to check it from the top of my head, but its in the Wii settings somewhere. If my memory isnt failing completely, its in the top-right corner and should say something like 4.3U for example. My guess is you have either 4.2U or 4.3U.

    Do you have HBC(Homebrew Channel) installed?
     
  10. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Homebrew channel is installed, let me check which version and thank you for your help:)
     
  11. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    It's safe to use ModMii even if you don't know what exactly is installed. Just find out the system menu version.
     
  12. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    4.2E

    There ciosinstall if that makes sense?.
     
  13. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    4.2E ? That means you have an EU Wii.

    Ok, but just use ModMii and answer the questions correctly and everything should work fine.

    It is possible that all your files ARE up to date, but by running ModMii you are sure they are. (never trust a seller lol)
     
  14. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Really not happy with the seller atm.

    OK just done the bootmii I got a folder called copy to sd so do I copy the folder to my sd card?, or copy the contents of the folder to the sd card?. Can I ask then what?, this won't brick my Wii will it?. Would this overwrite all the usbloader, neogammer stuff?.
     
  15. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Copy the content of copy to sd card to the root of your SD card.
    If you follow the guide it should not brick the Wii.

    And yes, I recommend to redownload the usb loaders (using modmii), since your cfg loader is out of date any way.

    Also, you should reformat your SD card to fat32 to be sure its nice and clean (you can take a backup of the current content to your PC if you want that).
     
  16. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    OK before I copy it, once I insert it into the Wii how do I load the stuff up?.

    Fingers cross.
     
  17. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Read the guide (: It explains everything step-by-step.
     
  18. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    OK confused.

    Load it up via the SD card, but gives me option to install homebrew which I have already and something about iOS?.

    Really do not get this at all?.
     
  19. rirawin
    OP

    Newcomer rirawin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone please?.
     
  20. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    It doesn't matter if you already have something. Just do everything it says from the beginning.
     

Share This Page