US 3DS 110V only? OR 110V-240V?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Enthralledecay, Apr 11, 2011.

Apr 11, 2011
  1. Enthralledecay
    OP

    Newcomer Enthralledecay Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Hello 3DS Fans,

    I ordered a 3DS from Amazon.com.
    AC voltage in my country is 220V. Is the US-region 3DS 110V only? OR 110V-240V?

    Thanks
     
  2. Ryufushichou

    Member Ryufushichou I'm Not British, I'm Just Gay!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Raimon Junior High
    Country:
    Australia
    110v only but with the AC adapter im not sure if you would need a step-down transformer or not.
     
  3. Cartmanuk

    Member Cartmanuk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All the AC adapters for the DSi/3DS models have the same voltage output.

    A EU or UK charger will work all the same.
     
  4. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    3DS is 100% compatible with DSi power adapter so if you have a DSi you can charge your 3DS.
     
  5. Enthralledecay
    OP

    Newcomer Enthralledecay Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Will probably have to get an EU DSi adapter.
    Is it risky to use unofficial (non-OEM) adapters?
    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  6. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    I emailed Nintendo America about this and they told me that the AC charger is 100 - 120V, 60 Hz.
     
  7. Enthralledecay
    OP

    Newcomer Enthralledecay Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Lebanon
    I am getting a step-down converter. How many watts should it be?
    Read somewhere that higher than needed wattage will damage devices.
    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  8. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    I have to tell you that i have done the same for my DSi, and that charger only lasted for 2 good weeks (probably due to the frequency , even if the voltage is 220 - 240V)

    I humbly suggest you buy a DSi charger from your area, it is much cheaper and lasts much longer. [​IMG]
     
  9. Enthralledecay
    OP

    Newcomer Enthralledecay Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Lebanon
    I got a non-OEM DSi charger yesterday. Couldn't find the original one.
    Label says: 5V 0.7A

    I only worry about the 700 mA. Do you think it's enough? DSi supposedly requires 900mA (I think).
    Many are using the same charger I have for their DSi's, without problems. Wonder if it's ok for the 3DS though!
    Please advise [​IMG]
     
  10. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    It is okay I guess. I don't know why, but my DSi takes 6 hours (or more) to charge from flat, maybe that is due to what you said 700 mA and the 900 mA requirement.

    Generally, if the 3rd party charger did state compatible with DSi, it should work. Hence, compatible with DSi = also with 3DS. [​IMG]

    I can't confirm all of this though. My DSi charger is also 3rd party, not original [​IMG]
     
  11. Oceanborn712

    Member Oceanborn712 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm using a cheap $2.90 DSi EU charger from DealExtreme for my US 3DS. No problems at all.
     
  12. Enthralledecay
    OP

    Newcomer Enthralledecay Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Lebanon
     
  13. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    This guy has.

    Try getting a good quality step-down converter. Having a higher wattage won't be a problem. It's like having a huge room and using only part of it. No harm done [​IMG] However, if the wattage is lower than required then you'll have a problem. Or you can get a DSi charger from your area if available. DSi charger is exactly the same as 3DS charger.
     

Share This Page