upgrading r4 card

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by ChristopherJames, Nov 4, 2011.

Nov 4, 2011

upgrading r4 card by ChristopherJames at 11:37 PM (1,396 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

1. ChristopherJames
    OP

Newcomer ChristopherJames Member

Hi,

I hope this is the right section, I'm very new to this and I'm experiencing problems playing certain roms. (they show up as only white screens)

I've been looking for the latest kernel version for the card I have however the only I've found is this http://www.r4sdhc.com/r4sdhc.asp It doesnt solve my issuses and I'm hoping that I have the wrong site as its somewhat confusing. fingers crossed the last update wasnt 2010-03-25 and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

2. s4mid4re

Member s4mid4re  

United States
    Try using YSmenu (link; download from the bottom of the very first post). It's an unofficial firmware for (mainly) the DSTT, but it also supports many clones.

Also, your flashcart seems to support it (the one highlighted in red inside the spoiler). Just do as the descriptions says. If you're using the Native ones, make sure you remove every system file of the previous firmware installed because it's unneeded.
    other flashcarts that supports YSmenu
    EDIT: make sure you bookmark and keep the link because it gets updated around once a month. Check the thread whenever you feel like updating.
    Also, Credit goes to RetroGameFan (YSmenu's maintainer) and everybody else who has helped in developing/maintaining. :grog:

3. ChristopherJames
    OP

Thank you!!

I have a couple of questions if you don't mind me asking.

1) when I load the flashcart; it doesn't allow me to select from the menu, rather it loads 'YSmenu' and it takes me straight to the root folder. This isn't greatly important (the games work!! which is) but I was wondering if it's possible to change back. so I can select media, settings etc