Hacking Updating 3ds to newer CFW

RyviusRan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
71
Trophies
0
XP
157
Country
United States
I haven't really fiddled with my 3ds since 2016.
I was using Cakes with arm9loaderhax and judging by my files I also had Luma and ReiNand in there at some point.

I recently turned on my 3ds and noticed I couldn't load DS games on it anymore.
3DS games run fine but when I load a DS game the system just shuts off.

I learned that I need to use a newer version of Luma to run DS games.

I am having trouble on where to start in the process.
Since I already have a ton of stuff loaded on my 3DS I am not sure if I have to delete everything and start from scratch or I can just copy some files over and go from there.

Anyone have advice?

Here is what my SD card directory looks like currently.
3ds-files.jpg
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,960
Trophies
2
XP
7,572
Country
United States
I haven't really fiddled with my 3ds since 2016.
I was using Cakes with arm9loaderhax and judging by my files I also had Luma and ReiNand in there at some point.

I recently turned on my 3ds and noticed I couldn't load DS games on it anymore.
3DS games run fine but when I load a DS game the system just shuts off.

I learned that I need to use a newer version of Luma to run DS games.

I am having trouble on where to start in the process.
Since I already have a ton of stuff loaded on my 3DS I am not sure if I have to delete everything and start from scratch or I can just copy some files over and go from there.

Anyone have advice?

Here is what my SD card directory looks like currently.
3ds-files.jpg
https://3ds.hacks.guide/a9lh-to-b9s
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,384
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,096
Country
Norway
I haven't really fiddled with my 3ds since 2016.
I was using Cakes with arm9loaderhax and judging by my files I also had Luma and ReiNand in there at some point.

I recently turned on my 3ds and noticed I couldn't load DS games on it anymore.
3DS games run fine but when I load a DS game the system just shuts off.

I learned that I need to use a newer version of Luma to run DS games.

I am having trouble on where to start in the process.
Since I already have a ton of stuff loaded on my 3DS I am not sure if I have to delete everything and start from scratch or I can just copy some files over and go from there.

Anyone have advice?

Here is what my SD card directory looks like currently.
3ds-files.jpg
What the other people said. But also, you don't have an emuNAND right?
 

RyviusRan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
71
Trophies
0
XP
157
Country
United States
What the other people said. But also, you don't have an emuNAND right?
Sorry been busy with work.
I have an emuNAND.
I also backed up everything when I did the whole process.
I forget exactly everything I did but I know I had it so it boots straight to emuNAND and stays on emuNAND even when going in and out of the settings menu.
Keep in mind I installed all this back in early 2016.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

First things first...upgrade from a9lh to b9s. Follow this guide.
For some reason when I get to the step that requires you to boot your 3DS back up while holding start it fails to go to the SafeB9SInstaller and just goes straight to the normal 3DS menu.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
For some reason when I get to the step that requires you to boot your 3DS back up while holding start it fails to go to the SafeB9SInstaller and just goes straight to the normal 3DS menu.
What happens if you rename SafeB9SInstaller to arm9loaderhax.bin and put it at the root of your card?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hayato213

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,384
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,096
Country
Norway
Sorry been busy with work.
I have an emuNAND.
I also backed up everything when I did the whole process.
I forget exactly everything I did but I know I had it so it boots straight to emuNAND and stays on emuNAND even when going in and out of the settings menu.
Keep in mind I installed all this back in early 2016.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


For some reason when I get to the step that requires you to boot your 3DS back up while holding start it fails to go to the SafeB9SInstaller and just goes straight to the normal 3DS menu.
Well, DSiWare doesn't work on emuNAND. But cartridges should still work.
Make sure you have the SafeB9SInstaller.bin in SD:\Luma\payloads and not the .firm version.
When the guide suggests you to "move emuNAND" at the start of Finalizing Setup, Section II - Updating the System, you should do so, that will free up some space and ensure that DSiWare should work correctly, if it still doesn't after finishing the guide there are some steps you can do that should fix it. emuNAND no longer serves a purpose and only causes trouble, so it's best to get rid of it.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

RyviusRan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
71
Trophies
0
XP
157
Country
United States
Well, DSiWare doesn't work on emuNAND. But cartridges should still work.
Make sure you have the SafeB9SInstaller.bin in SD:\Luma\payloads and not the .firm version.
When the guide suggests you to "move emuNAND" at the start of Finalizing Setup, Section II - Updating the System, you should do so, that will free up some space and ensure that DSiWare should work correctly, if it still doesn't after finishing the guide there are some steps you can do that should fix it. emuNAND no longer serves a purpose and only causes trouble, so it's best to get rid of it.

I followed the steps. And it boots up fine and I can play 3DS games but I am unable to do a system update from the settings. It says an error has occurred. Unable to update.
I see that I am not running emuNAND when looking at the settings. I am on Sys 11.3.0-36U.
Also when I try the MT card to run DS games it says.
An error has occurred. Unable to mount CTRNAND or load the CTRNAND FIRM. Please use an external one.

At first It said it failed to apply 4 firm patches.
I read that to stop the blocking of DS games I should use the TWL_Firm.cia and then try to run a system update.
Unfortunately I am unable to update my 3DS.
 

RyviusRan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
71
Trophies
0
XP
157
Country
United States
Ok I got everything to work.
DS and 3DS games run fine now.
But it seems with one of the later updates nintendo made it so if the tickets are not legit for the game then it will not update the game.

Looks like I will have to manually update each game via .cia.
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,960
Trophies
2
XP
7,572
Country
United States
Ok I got everything to work.
DS and 3DS games run fine now.
But it seems with one of the later updates nintendo made it so if the tickets are not legit for the game then it will not update the game.

Looks like I will have to manually update each game via .cia.
Yes u will have to find the update .cia's and update manually
 

RyviusRan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
71
Trophies
0
XP
157
Country
United States
Just remember opening eshop if u have any DLC for any game they will be deleted
Guess I will manually update the games.
I don't want to lose my dlc.
Although if that did happen I could just manually update with the .cia of the dlc like I am already doing.
 
Last edited by RyviusRan,

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    x65943 @ x65943: java is the only right option