Update to 3.2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dnmn8r, Dec 19, 2008.

Dec 19, 2008

Update to 3.2 by dnmn8r at 12:27 AM (981 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    so i got my wii back..
    tried to solder the 4 extra points on the solderless, but i got solder on the lattice chip...so thats dead

    My wii is currently 3.1, how can i update it to the 3.2 that everyone praises so much?
     
  2. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    get any region changer and it will install 3.2
     
  3. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    i'm scared of that....last time i used it , it bricked my wii...is there any other way?

    If not could someone give me a step by step guide on what to do with any region changer?
    thanks again..
     
  4. f00had

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's a prog by Waninkoko called cIOS Downgrader, you can use that to install 3.2.
     
  5. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    but im upgrading, and does it work on pal (3.2e) ?
     
  6. wanders

    Newcomer wanders Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    cIOS_Downgrader can upgrade as well. And, yes, it can grab the PAL firmware no problem.

    How did AR-C brick your wii before?
     
  7. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    i changed region without downgrading ios...

    can i get a link to any cIOS_downgrader. and if possible the 3.2 files as well
     
  8. priapism

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=3776

    run it with HBC. it downloads the files from the internet once you run the program so you don't need any additional files. when the program starts just choose which firmware you want but make sure the region matches your Wii.

    edit: actually, i think you need to install a recent cIOS like rev7 before you run the downgrader. sorry i can't provide a link to that. it is against the rules.
     
  9. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia

    mmk..
    well....how would i find this file and are you sure its needed? the guides i've read only say its needed if you are downgrading from 3.4, 3.3 (but no 3.1 and below).
    Also, how big is the 3.2 update. My internet has been capped and i'm going at like 7kb/s...
     
  10. priapism

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    read the instructions for the downgrader in that link that i posted. under requisites it says you need at least cIOS rev3. personally, i would go with rev7 since it is the newest. if you don't have that you won't be able to run the downgrader.

    on a separate note...

    check your PM.
     
  11. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    k thanks
    I installed cIOS v7, and the backup launcher works. I'm just downgrading now, really slow though as my internet has been capped to 64k...
     
  12. dnmn8r
    OP

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    k thanks
    I installed cIOS v7, and the backup launcher works. I'm just downgrading now, really slow though as my internet has been capped to 64k...
     
  13. priapism

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    that takes like 10 minutes with decent internet speed so...
     

Share This Page