Hacking Update games/system without internal HDD?

frogboy

lacking both style and grace
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've recently acquired an RGH'd 360 slim 4gb, but the 4gb isn't being detected by the system so I'm running on a spare 128gb flashdrive for now. Unfortunately the budget is a bit tight lately, otherwise I'd just grab a refurbished internal from Gamestop. I've set up Xex/Dashlaunch/Aurora, but other than that, I'm completely new to 360 hacking, so I just thought I'd ask: is there any way to install game/avatar updates without an internal hard drive? Thanks in advance.

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
tbh, that's a good question. my guess is that you need an internal hdd for this. @DinohScene may know for sure. I'll jot it down in my tutorials here and on psx place if you can do that. I really don't think you can though. you'd have to format an external hdd to xbox 360 format (fatx). from what I remember (it's been a long time), you can partition the drive if you want as the drive will be readable in windows. then, use the $SystemUpdate folder to install the update. all of that info should install. make sure you install the update that's the same as the kernel you're on or you'll lost your rgh. let me know if it works. good luck. :)

Reactions: frogboy

brickmii82

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Use Aurora off of the USB drive for the game updates. If you keep liveblock on, but turn livestrong off you can go online with Aurora and download most title updates to its cache and enable them through it without using any HDD. You’re kinda screwed for install discs like GTAV though. I’d also stay away from using that 4GB nand for any storage purposes, or really even mess around programming or reading it unless absolutely necessary. Those 4GB Coronas have a high nand failure rate, and the only fix is a 16mb conversion if it goes.

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Trophies
XP
Country
United States