Hacking Update 3.20 PSTV to 3.60 Manually?

atkfromabove

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
321
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
The state with lots of wives
XP
418
Country
United States
I messed around with my PSTV a few months ago getting the Native and ePSP hacks done then I lost interest in the whole thing. With the new homebrew and hack being released I'd like to update to 3.60 without going past to 3.61. Is there any way I can do this manually?

I have PKG Installer and FailMail already on my device if they are capable of doing so. Thanks for any info!
 

Zeroba

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2016
Messages
89
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
137
Country
Canada
I messed around with my PSTV a few months ago getting the Native and ePSP hacks done then I lost interest in the whole thing. With the new homebrew and hack being released I'd like to update to 3.60 without going past to 3.61. Is there any way I can do this manually?

I have PKG Installer and FailMail already on my device if they are capable of doing so. Thanks for any info!
A Ps TV is capable of updating firmware via USB. Find the 3.60 firmware, then just google and figure out how to update via USB. Might just be right in the options in system update
 

atkfromabove

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
321
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
The state with lots of wives
XP
418
Country
United States
99.9% sure it will. It's up to you really, but HENkaku has a lot of things running smoothly now. You can even install VHBL on HENkaku
Hmmm, I'd hate to go through the process of installing VHBL and ePSP hacks again but I think the process is easier with HENkaku than how it was before. I should still have my exploitable game that was transfer from my PS3 right? The game is a PSN title tied to the account on my PSTV so I would assume that'll stay at least.
 

Zeroba

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2016
Messages
89
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
137
Country
Canada
Hmmm, I'd hate to go through the process of installing VHBL and ePSP hacks again but I think the process is easier with HENkaku than how it was before. I should still have my exploitable game that was transfer from my PS3 right? The game is a PSN title tied to the account on my PSTV so I would assume that'll stay at least.
Since you'll technically be upgrading to firmware that isn't the newest, you'll probably have to transfer it from your ps3 to the vita unless it's already on the vita.
If you used the psp game as an exploit bubble then I'm honestly not sure what will happen to it.
Installing VHBL is indeed a bit of a pain, but honestly, give it a few months or so and you won't even need VHBL.
Only downside of Henkaku currently is no psp games and no ps1 games.
Unless u bought them legit on psn of course
 

atkfromabove

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
321
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
The state with lots of wives
XP
418
Country
United States
Since you'll technically be upgrading to firmware that isn't the newest, you'll probably have to transfer it from your ps3 to the vita unless it's already on the vita.
If you used the psp game as an exploit bubble then I'm honestly not sure what will happen to it.
Installing VHBL is indeed a bit of a pain, but honestly, give it a few months or so and you won't even need VHBL.
Only downside of Henkaku currently is no psp games and no ps1 games.
Unless u bought them legit on psn of course
The game is still on my PSTV and I no longer have a PS3. I really hope it wouldn't get erased from updating. I wonder if all my custom bubbles will be erased or not since they should be treated like regular apps I think. They wouldn't erase genuine apps in an update and expect you to go back and start over I would think.
 

jms209

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
151
Country
United States
I just tried to update my PS TV from 3.57 to 3.60 via USB.

Once I am told to insert usb, I insert it and then get error "C1-2755-9"
Not sure what is wrong, I structured it correctly: PSVITA/UPDATE/PSVUPDAT.PUP
 

Cortador

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
450
Trophies
1
XP
1,453
Country
United States
I just tried to update my PS TV from 3.57 to 3.60 via USB.

Once I am told to insert usb, I insert it and then get error "C1-2755-9"
Not sure what is wrong, I structured it correctly: PSVITA/UPDATE/PSVUPDAT.PUP

Make sure you have a USB with FAT file system instead of NTFS
 

atkfromabove

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
321
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
The state with lots of wives
XP
418
Country
United States
I just tried to update my PS TV from 3.57 to 3.60 via USB.

Once I am told to insert usb, I insert it and then get error "C1-2755-9"
Not sure what is wrong, I structured it correctly: PSVITA/UPDATE/PSVUPDAT.PUP
Keep me posted if you get it working! I'd like to know what you did so I can do the same thing.
 

jms209

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
151
Country
United States
not sure wtf is wrong with the usb port on vita.
I connect a sandisk usb drive and it's never detected.
I connect a different one and it's detected, but error.

Worked with a different drive formatted to fat32.
Tried 2 different Sandisk cruzer drvies, not detected on vita and won't work. First time I had a specific usb not work on something.
 
Last edited by jms209,
  • Like
Reactions: atkfromabove

atkfromabove

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
321
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
The state with lots of wives
XP
418
Country
United States
not sure wtf is wrong with the usb port on vita.
I connect a sandisk usb drive and it's never detected.
I connect a different one and it's detected, but error.

Worked with a different drive formatted to fat32.
Tried 2 different Sandisk cruzer drvies, not detected on vita and won't work. First time I had a specific usb not work on something.
I wonder if it needs to be pushed over with the Vita Update Blocker from your computer or if you have FTP setup. I think the PSTV usb port had some restrictions that made it next to useless if I remember correctly.
 

jms209

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
151
Country
United States
I wonder if it needs to be pushed over with the Vita Update Blocker from your computer or if you have FTP setup. I think the PSTV usb port had some restrictions that made it next to useless if I remember correctly.
Anyways, it should work fine with a fat32 flash drive.
Updated fine for me!
 
  • Like
Reactions: atkfromabove

jms209

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
151
Country
United States
Weird that not all the drives worked. I hope I have a drive that'll work! I should have quite a few to chose from around the house.

Question: Were any of your bubbles deleted from the update?
I had an extra ps tv, so it was formatted to stock already before update.
Not sure what exactly will be lost after update.
 

Zeroba

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2016
Messages
89
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
137
Country
Canada
I'm curious to know too if you lose your custom bubbles.
I know later firmwares created restrictions within the psp emulator, so even if they stick they may not work properly or at all.
 

Ironknight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 24, 2016
Messages
170
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
127
Country
Gambia, The
I'm curious to know too if you lose your custom bubbles.
I know later firmwares created restrictions within the psp emulator, so even if they stick they may not work properly or at all.
The bubbles will stay, the hacks wont. Only native hacking atm, no ePSP sadly.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21: went there once, disneyland just ain't for me