Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fst312

    fst312 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    897
    Country:
    United States
    question does the firmware update update me to 4.0 sorry if this is an obvious question but after that you say to use preloader also once this is done i want to know if i really need a wad manager channel in my sd card or even the homebrew channel or can i just keep that on my system menu.

    also how many people did use this guide or did something like this because like moviecouple there are alot guides out there and CopyCaet says whenever he tries this his system menu gets corrupted someone locate me to a guide that works with no problems should i choose to follow this guide or the other guides moviecouple gave a link to.i don't want to be bricked i just want to get to wii v4.0 without any problems.
     
  2. assassda

    OP assassda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    the firmware updater gives you system menu 4.0 yes, you dont need WAD manager unless you want disc channel loading

    follow the instructions and you will be fine. you dont need disc channel loading but if you do install the CIOS60 it says corrupt but fixed by reinstalling preloader (tested myself)
     
  3. kikoolol

    kikoolol Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to ask again but... are you 100% sure about that? how come preloader still works? (if it was what you mean by : just hold reset and launch HBC)

    Sounds a bit risky.
     
  4. assassda

    OP assassda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    Yes i am positive as I just did this myself to make sure it works
    nintendolinky also confirmed this earlier in this thread

    Disc Channel Loading is purely OPTIONAL and yes there are some risks involved
    Just updating to 4.0 is completely SAFE
     
  5. kedest

    kedest GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What's the 'Install CIOS60BF.wad' step? Isn't a custom IOS60 already installed by the patcher in an earlier step?
     
  6. crosseye

    crosseye Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Just to be completely clear:

    1) I don't uninstall softmii and just start at step 1 of your guide

    2) after installing preloader the first time, I use the CIOScorp installer from softmii

    3) Then I install CIOS60BF.wad (use wad manager, or do I use the CIOScorp installer from softmii?)

    4) system menu will corrupt

    5) restart with reset held and reinstall preloader

    6) come back to thread to thank you
     
  7. kikoolol

    kikoolol Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    You can't launch in disc channel without it, optional but still, i wanted all features of my 3.2E back [​IMG]
     
  8. assassda

    OP assassda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    This is correct just as the guide says. I used WAD Manager 1.3 but throwing it in the CIOSCORP installer folder works too
     
  9. crosseye

    crosseye Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, one final question; have you seen startpatch? I'd like the things it offers:

    So would I just use wadmanager to install StartPatch?

    Thanks again
     
  10. CopyCaet

    CopyCaet Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The re-install preloader trick to get rid of the corrupt system message works indeed, thanks. Was getting tired of using cIOS downgrader/update again hehe [​IMG]
    STill can't run unofficial vc games though, but oh well, dont really use them anyway + can't have everything [​IMG]
     
  11. assassda

    OP assassda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    I wasnt aware of this but Original WiiWare and VC work fine on SD card using this tutorial
     
  12. pumkinut

    pumkinut Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    This part confuses me. Should we use Waninkoko's firmware updater (http://www.teknoconsolas.tv/wanin/Firmware-Updater_4.0.zip) and then the patcher from the hacktools.rar? Or one or the other? I thought Wanin's installer patched the SM4 files? If not, I stand corrected.

    Edit:
    Nevermind....I figured it out. My reading comprehension sucks today. I was up far too late last night.

    That's all.

    Oh, and thanks so much for a concise guide. Much better than a lot of the stuff that's flying around right now.
     
  13. kikoolol

    kikoolol Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much assassda, everything is working fine now (reinstalled CIOS60BF -> reset -> HBC -> reinstall preloader, CIOS60BF was the only part i was missing)

    Now my 4.0E is like my 3.2E since we got hacks.ini for PAL [​IMG]
     
  14. Cooler89

    Cooler89 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    question how can we remove preloader .29 from 4.0 System menu.. using the 4.0 system menu wad?
     
  15. moviecouple

    moviecouple GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    United States
    "If you want to load games from the disc channel you must install CIOSCORP"

    What disc channel are you talking about. The normal channel that generally shows Wii or GC games loading?

    "4) It is highly reccomended that you install preloader to prevent bricks. On the warning screen press A, 2, 1"

    Do you mean the Health Warning Screen?
     
  16. kikoolol

    kikoolol Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Bahh now i'm getting error #002 and #001 on disc channel [​IMG] , i give up, will use usb loader, less trouble.
     
  17. rockbmi

    rockbmi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    well it only seems to load metroid prime 3, every other game gives me ?
     
  18. Cooler89

    Cooler89 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    any idea on how to remove this preloader cant find the system menu 4.0wad
     
  19. iResilient

    iResilient Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for this. I was looking for a way to run CIOScorp with the new features and speed of 4.0U. :]
     
  20. EnigmaXtreme

    EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Country:
    So what does this thing do anyway, what improvements to 4.0 does it do?
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - ULTIMATE, System, Guide

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.