Ultimate Noob - What flashcart?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by TheBritishBloke, May 21, 2015.

  1. TheBritishBloke
    OP

    TheBritishBloke Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    May 21, 2015
    I'm brand new to the whole flashcart scene. I've seen conflicting information about a Gateway 3DS vs Sky3DS etc.

    In short:

    I want a (or multiple if required) flashcart that can play GBA, DS and 3DS games. I want the easiest experience for a noob, so no complicated modding, flashing etc.

    I've heard things about people getting banned for using Sky3DS, would I have no issue if I only used it offline?

    Any recommendations on the best UK shops to buy from? I've been looking for a Supercard DSTwo, but they seem to be out of stock everywhere in preparation of the DSTwo+.
     
  2. VerseHell

    VerseHell GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,067
    1,067
    Jun 29, 2014
    France
    First, what is your console model/firmware ?
     
  3. TheBritishBloke
    OP

    TheBritishBloke Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    May 21, 2015
    Whoops! Sorry I'm tired and neglected to mention that.

    I've got a New 3DS XL, on v9.7.0-25E. However I've only just bought it and it's faulty, so it's being replaced tomorrow. When it arrived it was on a lower software version (although I won't be able to confirm which until tomorrow).
     
  4. VerseHell

    VerseHell GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,067
    1,067
    Jun 29, 2014
    France
    If your new n3ds is on a firmware above 9.2, then you're only option is the sky3ds
    If not then buy cubic ninja (or a sky3ds) then stick with the pasta cfw for now. (the only advantage the gateway currently have is pokemon shuffle and xenoblade support). You can still buy a Gateway later if you need one.
     
  5. dedChar

    dedChar (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

    Member
    260
    66
    May 5, 2015
    Gambia, The
    Well if your replacement is >9.2 then your only flashcart option would be sky3ds. The problem is, that it can only play 3ds Roms.

    If your replacement is <=9.2 than you should definrtly get gateway3ds, but you'll have to set up some things (emuNAND) to be able to play GBA. Then you could enable the blue gateway card to work with n3ds, so you could play Ds games.

    Edit: Or do that CFW stuff with cubic ninja, like versehell said.
     
  6. TheBritishBloke
    OP

    TheBritishBloke Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    May 21, 2015
    I'm not really bothered by either of those games. Is there any major issues I should be aware of for a Sky3DS?


    Thanks for the reply. I'll double check what version it is tomorrow and won't update it. Here's hoping.
     
  7. dedChar

    dedChar (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

    Member
    260
    66
    May 5, 2015
    Gambia, The
    Also, you'll need either cubic ninja, or Ocarina of time & a save dongle/ someone with working gateway to be able to set up gateway on n3ds.
    (Kind of a big down side for gateway)
     
  8. VerseHell

    VerseHell GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,067
    1,067
    Jun 29, 2014
    France
    The sky3ds can works with retail roms, which means no eshop roms, no cias, no hacked roms (like undubs).
    The gateway includes a ds flashcart, but it doesn't work with gba games (maybe with citraagb in the futures?) and dsiware. Pasta does, but only the ambassador games are currently available, and we still don't know how to make cias from gba roms.
     
  9. TheBritishBloke
    OP

    TheBritishBloke Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    May 21, 2015
    Such a strange requirement, haha. I've gone ahead and ordered a Sky3DS. If I want to play normal DS games I'll just find them second hand somewhere :)
     
  10. marksteele

    marksteele GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    822
    402
    Jan 16, 2011
    Canada

    It's because both games have exploits that allow access to the system. It's similar to the Twilight princess hack for the wii (although I find it interesting that it's mostly nintendo that they game-required exploits happen on)
     
  11. TheBritishBloke
    OP

    TheBritishBloke Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    May 21, 2015
    Am I right in my thinking that I shouldn't go online with the Sky3DS?
     
  12. dedChar

    dedChar (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

    Member
    260
    66
    May 5, 2015
    Gambia, The
    Yes, unless you can dump a retail game you have or a power save from it, and inject its header into your Roms.
     
  13. TheBritishBloke
    OP

    TheBritishBloke Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    May 21, 2015
    I'll just stick to offline play. Is it still ok to use the Sky3DS offline then go online with a real card later?

    I received my replacement N3DS XL today and it came with software 9.4.0, I'm just going to not update it, hopefully other carts catch up to the software in the future.
     
  14. dkabot

    dkabot Better With Others' Systems Than Their Own

    Member
    998
    349
    Sep 9, 2014
    United States
    Perfectly fine, though games that require updates won't go online without going into the eShop, which on 9.4 we can't currently prevent from demanding an update to do so.