[Tutorial] How to make and play region-free DSiWare

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Feffe, Feb 13, 2016.

Feb 13, 2016
  1. Feffe
    OP

    Newcomer Feffe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Italy
    UPDATE: Please note all of this is quite useless now, as LUMA/AuReiNand has built-in region free.
    ---
    With patched TWL_FIRM release it's now possible to play out-of-region DSiWare using CFWs without built-in region free, such as ReiNand. It's pretty simple, but there isn't a guide on GBATemp yet so here we are.

    What you need:
    - A .nds rom of your DSiWare. If you want to dump it yourself, you can read this useful post by @MRJPGames. This doesn't work with a .cia file, you need a .nds rom.
    - The patched TWL_FIRM installed. See this guide by @EpicLPer.
    - An hex editor. You can use an online one if you want.
    - make_cia (download the attached file).

    Step-by-step guide:
    - Put your .nds file(/s) in the same folder of make_cia. Use a simple name, like rom1.nds, mario.nds, game.nds...

    - Open the .nds rom in your hex editor and go to offset 1B0. This is where the region flag is encoded. Change the first 4 bytes to "FF" to make the rom region free. Save and exit.
    [​IMG]
    - Open cmd and write
    Code:
    make_cia --srl=YourGame.nds
    then press start.
    For example, if your rom is named "mario"
    Code:
    make_cia --srl=mario.nds
    If it doesn't work: open cmd, drag and drop make_cia into it, then write " --srl=" (with space, without "), then drag and drop your rom and press start.

    - In the same folder of make_cia you'll find the .cia of your game. Install it both on SysNAND and EmuNAND using FBI. Remember to press L to install it into NAND, FBI will give you an error if you try to install it into SD card!

    Thanks to everybody who made the patched TWL_FIRM possible and @Apache Thunder for helping me patching my games!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Feffe, Aug 5, 2016
    Februarysn0w, GoodCookie88 and Lemon_ like this.


  2. TR_mahmutpek

    Member TR_mahmutpek GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Turkey
    Wait, this mean we can play nds roms on 3ds? Also thank you for your guide :)
     
  3. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,647
    Country:
    United States
    No. You can install and play DSiWare, not retail DS games.
     
    TR_mahmutpek likes this.
  4. GoodCookie88

    Member GoodCookie88 rekt em skrubs

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    931
    Country:
    United States
  5. Domukuro Wolfield

    Member Domukuro Wolfield GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Calera, Zacatecas, Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    But if some dude make a NDS ROM converter to a NDSi games, is a possible way or not? Some DSi games have the same potential from DS games (Like Advance Wars and Soul of Darkness)
     
  6. Gizametalman

    Member Gizametalman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well, that escalated quickly.
     
    SuzieJoeBob and RSA6974 like this.
  7. •Citrus•

    Newcomer •Citrus• Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    For shits and giggles I ran the tool and made a .cia out of Pokemon White 2 successfully.

    Too bad it doesn't install (as expected).
     
  8. CeeDee

    Member CeeDee the blushy Eevee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Location:
    Country:
    Bermuda
    White 2 is way too big. If any games were to work, they'd be less than 64 MB and DSi enhanced. Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini Land Mayhem! is a good example if I recall correctly, that is
     
  9. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,655
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Man I can't believe there is no way to play standard nds games without a flashcart in this day and age on a 3DS.
     
  10. CeeDee

    Member CeeDee the blushy Eevee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Location:
    Country:
    Bermuda
    I've got a bit of a conspiracy theory as to why.

    Everyone with the coding skills is being paid by the flashcart makers to not reveal the secrets of DS mode hax to the public. Simple! That's why no one has done it!

    Really though, most are either anti-piracy or too lazy to put the effort into doing it.
     
  11. PokeAcer

    Member PokeAcer RiiConnect24 Developer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,176
    Location:
    North East Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will this work with decrypted app files from NUS, like Flipnote Studio?
     
  12. CeeDee

    Member CeeDee the blushy Eevee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Location:
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Why not just use Flipnote Studio 3D?
     
  13. PokeAcer

    Member PokeAcer RiiConnect24 Developer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,176
    Location:
    North East Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because sudomemo, plus I have flipnotes from my old DSi that's broken that I want to import. And Flipnote Studio 3D CIA for US wont work on my EUR 3DS, and I have to wait until March for Flipnote Studio 3D.
     
  14. ubergeek77

    Member ubergeek77 Post editing world champ.

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    10/10 would conspire again

    But seriously, someone already mentioned in this thread that there seems to be a bit of a size limit, and a lot of DSi-enhanced games tend to go above that limit (case in point, Gen 5 Pokemon games).

    To make this practical, we'd have to either patch out the size limit, figure out how to allow non-DS games to work with this method, or both.

    But anyway, I think you're right. These no-good devs must be really lazy. Hey, I know! You seem like a go getter! Why don't you go and figure this all out for us. We'll wait. Don't give up on us now!;)
     
    hobbledehoy899 likes this.
  15. PokeAcer

    Member PokeAcer RiiConnect24 Developer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,176
    Location:
    North East Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well it made the file correctly with a decrypted app file from NUS, let's see if it works.
     
  16. CeeDee

    Member CeeDee the blushy Eevee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Location:
    Country:
    Bermuda
    IT WAS MEEEEEEEEEE

    The only people that want DS ROMs without flashcarts wouldn't know how to code if their life depended on it. Including me.
     
  17. PokeAcer

    Member PokeAcer RiiConnect24 Developer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,176
    Location:
    North East Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I tried Flipnote Studio on emuNAND with rxTools nightly 13-02-16, no luck.
     
  18. CeeDee

    Member CeeDee the blushy Eevee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Location:
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Did you patch your TWL_FIRM?
     
  19. ubergeek77

    Member ubergeek77 Post editing world champ.

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    Would you believe I like to talk in the.... (wait, what would that be....) second person? Yeah. Second person (disclaimer: not an English teacher).

    Give me a break, 'Temping on a phone isn't an easy task :lol:
     
    Last edited by ubergeek77, Feb 14, 2016
  20. PokeAcer

    Member PokeAcer RiiConnect24 Developer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,176
    Location:
    North East Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, how does one do that on o3ds? /noob
     

Share This Page