1. Biggles

    OP Biggles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    For those who don't know, JNoexs is a debugger that allows you to search through the code of games. This is useful for finding values you'd like to edit to modify your game, and is very useful for games such as Animal Crossing: New Horizons, which uses dev (device) saves. You cannot use EdiZon to search for values on games that use dev saves. I didn't see any comprehensive guides out there, so I figured I'd make one myself. I was having trouble with installing this and was able to piece together how to do it from other threads. Here's what worked for me.

    Disclaimer: I did not create this, so I can't answer any coding related questions, but I can help if you're having trouble getting started. MAKE BACKUPS of everything before swapping out files. It doesn't take up much space and is definitely worth it to be safe. That goes for game files too when you edit them.

    As of writing this tutorial, I am using Hekate 5.3.0 and Atmosphere 0.13.0. You may want to consider updating these, as @matt123337 (he released this program) suggested that having an outdated Hekate or Atmosphere can cause problems. Updating them is very simple. Here are the github pages for them as well a guide on how to update:


    If you set up your switch with Kosmos or any form of it, there are potential issues down the line because of changes in the settings and a few files downloaded. The easiest way to get this installed is to do a fresh install of Atmosphere/Hekate (it's very easy):

    Back up your atmosphere, sept, and switch folders, delete them off your SD card, then install drag a freshly downloaded 0.13.0 atmosphere, sept, and switch folder onto your SD card. You should also make a backup of your bootloader folder, then delete it off of your SD card, and drag a fresh one from the updated hekate 5.3.0 download.
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Step 1 - Downloading the files

    Download the latest release of Noexs from the github page. You'll want 1.1.2 as well as the updated prerelease of the .kip1 file. I haven't tested the older versions.

    Noexs release page
    Save these to your desktop or wherever you want to keep them.

    IMPORTANT JAVA INFORMATION - This will cause a lot of problems for people, so make sure you have the correct java installed!!!
    You will also need to download Java 10. No other version will work!!! I downloaded JRE-10.0.2_windows-x64_bin.exe.
    • Scroll down to Java SE Runtime Environment 10.0.2
    • Choose the JRE that works for your computer.
    This WILL NOT WORK if you have older versions of Java on your computer. I couldn't get it to work with any other version of java installed. So I uninstalled all of them except 10.0.2. If you're having problems, opening the program, it may be because you have another version of JAVA interfering. Double-check and uninstall any other versions
    To uninstall java:
    • Start > Settings > System > Apps & features > Right click the version you want to uninstall and click uninstall
    Java 10 download page - You will need a (free) Oracle account to download from this page.
    (Or follow this guy's instructions, but it's easier to just make an account)
    If someone has a mirror they want me to post here, send me a link.
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Step 2 - Prepping the Switch

    You'll need to pop your SD card into your computer. Open your SD card. From the root go to:
    • Root > atmosphere > kips
    Place your updated noexs.kip1 file that you downloaded in here. Other tutorials seem to suggest placing it in the root, but this makes it tidy and worked well for me. Here's an image just to be clear.

    Noexs will not work if you are running EdiZon for cheats. So you may want to disable it, OR you can hold L while the game is booting up. If you run a game with cheats enabled, you'll have to restart your switch. I didn't disable my cheats and just hold L when booting, but that's up to you!

    To disable cheats, go to:
    • Root > atmosphere > config > open "system_settings" with notepad++ (it's just easier with notepad++), go down to " dmnt_cheats_enabled_by_default = u8!0x0" and change it to "; dmnt_cheats_enabled_by_default = u8!0x0".
    • Having the semicolon there "comments" out the whole line and it won't run that line. So when it does not have the semicolon, the cheats are enabled.
    Make backups. Also, here are images of what I'm talking about:
    Cheats On - but need to hold L when you boot the game (I do this)
    Cheats Off

    Now we'll need to edit the hekate_ipl.ini file. Go to:
    • Root > bootloader > and open hekate_ipl.ini with notepad++.
    • Make a backup (as always).
    Scroll down and to the bottom and paste:

    [Noexs]
    fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
    kip1=atmosphere/kips/noexs.kip1
    kip1patch=nosigchk
    logopath=bootloader/bootlogo.bmp
    atmosphere=1

    Or you can replace your hekate_ipl.ini (after you make a backup first) with my file. I uploaded it to this post if anyone wants to just use that instead. The only thing I changed though was adding this to the bottom. You may see a difference in your hekate_ipl.ini if you set up your switch with Kosmos or some other iteration of it.

    For those concerned about whether or not this will use your emuNAND:

    It will use emuNAND. I ran mine and it did not boot to sysNAND. I run everything off my emuNAND. I got stuck at this stage because the tutorials ask us to place the noexs.kip1 on the root and run the .kip file separately, then boot into our emuNAND. Setting up your hekate_ipl.ini the way I have above accomplishes the same thing but skips running the .kip separately. I kept getting the error "no mandatory secmon or warmboot provided failed to launch hos". This solved it.
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Step 3 - Running the JNoexs Client

    Unzip the folder and place the unzipped folder wherever you'd like on your computer. I used the desktop because it's easy to navigate to.

    Go to start, search, and choose "Command Prompt"
    Here, you'll see a basic command prompt where you'll type: "java -jar fileLocation". You can easily get the file location by just dragging it into the command prompt window. And hit enter. You should see a command prompt open up as well as the NoexsClient.
    • Example: you'd type "java -jar C:\Users\User\Desktop\noexs-1.1.2-release\release\JNoexsClient.jar

    Here's an image of what mine looks like: image of my command prompt

    If you're having problems opening the file, check that you have downloaded java 10 as described in Step 2. Uninstall other versions of java.
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Step 4 - Putting it All Together

    Now that you have your .kip1 file in the right place, your settings all adjusted, and you can run the client, you're almost all set. Before clicking "connect", make sure you have cheats disabled, or plan to hold L while booting the game. As I said earlier, Noexs will NOT work if you're using EdiZon for cheats. If it's not connecting, check to make sure you have the cheats turned off as detailed in Step 2. If you run a game and activate any cheats, you'll likely need to reboot your game (maybe even the switch if it's still giving you trouble) and try again.

    Put your SD card back into your switch and boot into RCM using Hekate. Go to:
    • Launch > Noexs
    And it will launch into your emuNAND (if it doesn't and it gives an error, make sure your noexs.kip1 file is in the right place as described in Step 2)

    On your switch, go to:
    • Home > Settings > Internet > and take note of/write down your IP address. You will need this to connect to the client.
    • On your switch, boot the game WITHOUT cheats (however you choose)
    • Always wait until the game boots before connecting with the client.
    On your computer:
    • Use Step 3 to launch the client
    • Type in the IP address of your switch (you don't need the extension like in FTP such as 1.1.1.1:5555 etc)
    Now, you can finally click on "Connect" on the JNoexs client. From here, you should click "Refresh Pids", scroll down to the last number and click "Attach to Process". If you're getting an error, you likely have cheats enabled. To disable cheats, go back to step 1 to disable them manually. Restart switch and boot game with disabled cheats, OR just hold L when launching the game, which is what I do.

    For more information on how to use Noexs, please refer to this thorough and helpful guide written by @wiitendo84
    Guide on how to use Noexs

    Thanks for reading, happy modding!
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    Other useful links that I'm going to just keep here:

    Noexes github page (releases)

    Noexs remote debugger release page by @matt123337

    Guide on how to use noexes by @wiitendo84

    RAM dump parser by @RyDog - This is a useful tool that can make searching through values easier.

    Pointer Searcher by @Takumi4685 - Very useful tool that will help you find codes!

    Java 10 JRE. No other version works. You need an Oracle account to download these, which is free.
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Let me know if I'm missing something or there are troubles and I'll update this post.

    Thanks to @matt123337 for releasing this software for us to use and thanks @wiitendo84 for writing such a helpful guide.

    Other tags: Noexes, JNoexes, AC:NH, ACNH, mods, mod, dev save, hack, hex values
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Biggles, Jul 7, 2020
    wiitendo84 likes this.
  2. wiitendo84

    wiitendo84 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    988
    Country:
    United States
    If you're ok with it, I'd like to add a link to here on my guide on how to use noexs.
     
  3. Biggles

    OP Biggles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    That would be great! Go for it.
     
  4. SilverBlade

    SilverBlade Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, thanks for the guide!

    I'm unfortunately getting a new error though.
    Green Joy-Con D-Pad Shells for Nintendo Switch


    Here's my ini file set up and error screen. Forgive me using my phone camera, print screen wasn't working on my laptop for some reason. I did also put the noexs.kip1 file in atmosphere > kips
     
  5. Biggles

    OP Biggles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    At least it's a new error haha! Your .ini file looks different than mine. A couple questions:

    Was your mod set up with Kosmos? (just curious)
    Are you using the most up to date Hekate and Atmosphere? It could be an issue with the kip_patches. Check my guide above if you'd like to update Hekate and Atmosphere.
    It could also be a problem with the "patches.ini" file in the same directory as the hekate_ipl.ini. My first instinct is to update hekate and atmosphere and see what happens.

    Here's how I have my .ini file set up:

    That's everything in my hekate_ipl.ini file.
    If what I suggested doesn't work, could you paste your .ini file as well? it seems like there are some differences.
     
  6. SilverBlade

    SilverBlade Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Oh neat, we get to figure out a new issue lol

    1. My mod was done via Kosmos.
    2. I am on Hekate 5.3.0 and Atmosphere 0.13
    3. Most notably, I do NOT have a patches.ini file. It's not in the bootloader directory with my hekate_ipl.ini, or anywhere on my SD card. Could that be the issue?

    Here is my hekate_ipl.ini

    It may also be worth noting that I only file I've added to my SD card is the noexs.kip1 file.
     
  7. Biggles

    OP Biggles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    1. Ah, that explains the difference in this settings file.
    2. Gotcha. Well it might be worth dragging the kip_patches into your atmosphere > kip_patches again, but you should be alright.
    3. It could be, but since you don't have it, I have my doubts. It might just be a leftover from an older version I had. I'll upload it so you can take a look at it.

    Something you could try is to delete the no sig check and see if it runs. It seems like none of your other boot options are using it.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. SilverBlade

    SilverBlade Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Well that did something. After deleting the no sig check, I stopped getting the error and it would progress as if it was loading the CFW, but then it would stop at a completely black screen (as in, off) after the atmosphere logo. I would have to hold down power for several seconds to shut off the Switch in order to try again. It seems that having the file you shared in either the bootloader folder or atmosphere > kip_patches had not effect on either the black screen error or the error from before. HMMMMMM

    Though, I want to be clear about something: the patches.ini file you sent is the same as the kip_patches file you mentioned that I should drag to my atmosphere > kip_patches folder, right? If not, that could also be a source of the issue.
     
  9. Biggles

    OP Biggles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so it wants to run. Though it seems like it needs the nosigchk.

    The patches.ini file is not the same, upon looking at it, I'm not sure it's of much importance. You get the kip_patches folder with the atmosphere download in the link I have above. The directory should be Root > atmosphere > kip_patches.

    How do you usually update your atmosphere?
     
    Last edited by Biggles, Jul 6, 2020
  10. SilverBlade

    SilverBlade Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    That's what it looks like.

    Okay, I do have that folder. I wasn't sure if there was a file all named that.

    As for updating, after your last reply I happened to try updating Atmosphere again just to be sure. I used the links you provided, downloaded the latest zip, and copied the folders and files from said zip to the root of SD card. I backed up my hekate_ipl.ini file just in case. That didn't happen to fix the issue since I was already on 0.13, but it was worth a shot.

    I'm thinking that I'm probably missing some prerequisite SD card setup that I just happened to have never did. Because as far we can see, our setups are identical, yet I can't launch noexes.
     
    Last edited by SilverBlade, Jul 6, 2020
  11. Biggles

    OP Biggles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    What firmware is your switch on?

    From what I can see from searching around, you are missing sigpatches. I have a feeling it has something to do with leftovers from an old Kosmos. The best thing you could do would be to do a fresh install and get rid of the old kosmos stuff. Apparently there are differences in sig patches between Kosmos and Atmosphere.

    Take a look at:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/sigpatches-for-atmosphere-0-13-0.567542/

    as well as:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/latest-fs-and-acid-patches-for-kosmos.562915/

    These will pretty well guide you through updating the sig patches. Lmk if you're having any issues.

    Something else that comes to mind is to simply boot with a different CFW. You aren't locked into using Kosmos.

    However, the easiest thing to do would be to do a test with a fresh download:

    What I would do as the next step would be to back up your atmosphere, sept, and switch folders, delete them off your SD card, then install drag a freshly downloaded 0.13.0 atmosphere, sept, and switch folder onto your SD card. You should also make a backup of your bootloader folder, then delete it off of your SD card, and drag a fresh one from the updated hekate 5.3.0 download. You can drag some stuff back to your folders, like the kip folder containing the .kip1 back to the atmosphere folder. You can also drag my hekate_ipl.ini file into your bootloader folder. I'm pretty sure it has something strange to do with settings tweaked from Kosmos.

    If it doesn't work or there's something you don't like, you can simply get rid of those folders again and drag your backup back onto your SD card. If you want to keep this install of atmosphere, you can also just drag your installs from the hbmenu and your cheats for games back to their respective places. Idk about you, but at this point, I'm determined to get it working xDD
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Biggles, Jul 6, 2020
    SilverBlade likes this.
  12. SilverBlade

    SilverBlade Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    I will try this as soon as I can get back to my computer!

    I too am determined to fix this haha. I'll keep you updated
     
    Biggles likes this.
  13. SilverBlade

    SilverBlade Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Hot damn, it worked! Here's my exact process for anyone else experiencing this issue:

    1. I removed my atmosphere, bootloader, sept, and switch folders, backing them up to my HDD.

    2. I put the hekate_ipl,ini file that you provided in my bootloader folder.

    3. Then I redownloaded atmosphere and hekate using the links you provided in the OP. It's worth noting that initially when I loaded up hekate, it was on version. 5.2.1. I simply clicked "Payload" and loaded the 5.3.0 version from the list. Be sure to have the hekate 5.3.0.bin in bootloader > payloads

    4. This initially did not work, as I received the same error. At this point, I went to the two links you provided:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/sigpatches-for-atmosphere-0-13-0.567542/
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/latest-fs-and-acid-patches-for-kosmos.562915/

    The first link has an atmosphere folder download, which I merged with my existing atmosphere folder. The second link has an fusee.zip and a hekate.zip. I used the hekate.zip, merged its contents with my own. However, one should keep in mind that the hekate.zip has its own hekate_ipl.ini file that will replace the one you provided. To that end, I simply copied your file back to my folder.

    5. ????

    6. I then loaded up the payload again, clicked Launch, the Noexes, and sure enough, it loaded up into the firmware! As soon as send this reply, I'm going to test to program to make sure I don't encounter any further errors, but I'm optimistic since I was able to load into the firmware finally.

    Thank you for all for all of the help!!!
     
    Last edited by SilverBlade, Jul 6, 2020
    Biggles likes this.
  14. Biggles

    OP Biggles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Fantastic!! I'm glad to hear you got it to work! Lmk if you have any more issues.
    And you're welcome, any time :DD
     
    SilverBlade likes this.
  15. wisnumurti

    wisnumurti Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Can you share your atmosphere setting (all of them), I tried fresh install Athmosphere and using steps above but still failed
     

    Attached Files:

  16. DMplays

    DMplays Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi I got on the PC an error how can I fix this?
    I am using AMS 0.14.4 and the jnoexs 1.12 hotfix version.
    I am using Java RE 10.0.2

    Can anybody help me?

    Error is: Form Titel: me.mdbell.noexs.core.ConnectionException

    Result{mod = 349, desc=9}

    Is there Maybe someone who knows this error and knows how to fix it?
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by DMplays, Sep 19, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Atmosphere), [Tutorial], Debugger