[Tutorial] Get your private header using PowerSaves

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by LameNobody, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. LameNobody
    OP

    Member LameNobody Weighted Companion Cube Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Canada
    So, I've completely re-done this tutorial...
    The reason for this is... the first one was kind of... Well... Half Assed
    I didn't put much effort into my method and the results were kind of inconsistent.
    I spent today dumping all of my games, looking for the headers and seeing what works.. Enjoy The new tut.

    Also, The cheapest game available that is guaranteed to work with powersaves is Steel Diver, it is available new on amazon for very little


    Requirements:
    Powersaves 3DS
    A Game Cartridge*
    HxD (Freeware)

    * Disclaimer (Important)
    • If your game, once inserted into powersaves acts like it has been removed and placed back into the powersaves dongle (Constantly refreshing the save list and displaying unsupported game) THIS WILL NOT WORK WITH THAT GAME
    • By following this method you WILL LOSE YOUR SAVEGAME for the all the rom's you apply your header to, the only way to keep them is to use NTR CFW and the savedata plugin to backup the save beforehand, and then to restore it after you have applied your header. (alternatively you could use savedatafilter if you have a 4.X cfw compatible console)
    Methods:
    There are two methods I've found, one seems easier but the other seems more reliable
    (The methods are now in the spoilers below this sentence)

    The First and more reliable method
    Method Two, The easier less reliable one


    So, you want a .bin file?
    If you want to make a .bin of your header (Which you should do)

    This is a blank template file,
    Follow these steps..
    1. Open this .bin with HxD
    2. Paste your unique ID as the first 16 bytes
    3. Save the file.

    I use my header and get error 002-0123:
    If you're getting the error 002-0123 when using a rom with your new header, take a look at this thread:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/why-sky3ds-gets-002-0123-even-with-a-private-header.385672/

    How do i fix it?
    1. Open Sky Army Knife
    2. Select latest template file
    3. Select the rom that is giving you the error
    4. In the "Cart ID" section, change the manufacturer
    5. Click "Save to .txt"
    6. Open diskwriter, and select our modified template
    7. Delete rom from your SD with diskwriter
    8. Re-write the rom with the edited template we made
    9. Cycle through the games on your sky3ds so that it refreshes
    10. Play Game

    (If you still get the error, Repeat steps 4 to 9 but change the manufacturer to something DIFFERENT)

    My Savegame is corrupt:
    You, should have read the disclaimer.


    Suggestions
    Get These Tools:
    Sky Army Knife - By Foxi4, A multi-tool for Sky3DS users. (Used for changing various parts of the template for each game)
    No Ban Sky - By hackotedelaplaqu, patch all games in the template file with your unique ID.
     
    Last edited by LameNobody, May 30, 2015
    SS4, DrakeLyon, Leaxis and 12 others like this.


  2. 4ur0r

    Member 4ur0r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    Italy
  3. LameNobody
    OP

    Member LameNobody Weighted Companion Cube Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't see why it wouldn't.

    But, I guess you'll find out.
     
  4. 4ur0r

    Member 4ur0r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    Italy
    I don't (yet) own a powersaves dongle.
    Just one more question: since it seems the trick involve just the save, can the header rip be done with games that are not supported by the powersave? Like cubic ninja?
     
  5. LameNobody
    OP

    Member LameNobody Weighted Companion Cube Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Canada
    It can be done with any game, because it involves backing up the save (which you can do to any game) and does not involve any powersaves save editing

    Although, cubic ninja gave me an error when i inserted it.... i would erase ninjhax or whatever from it before trying this
     
    4ur0r likes this.
  6. 4ur0r

    Member 4ur0r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    Italy
    And thanks again for your great work.
     
  7. xjoelx

    Newcomer xjoelx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Italy
    i have one problem with sky3ds skyempedit tool 've already get my own private header with ths awesome guide by powersave, i foundd out the cart ID with the 16 hex byte (32 in total counting one by one), but the tool required me to put the chip ID too that have 8 lette or numbers in total. So i'm wondering where i can get this chip id
     
  8. 4ur0r

    Member 4ur0r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    Italy
    Use che chip-id you find on the basic unmodified sky3ds official template.
     
  9. xjoelx

    Newcomer xjoelx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Italy
    ma sei ash 95?
     
  10. DarkFlare69

    Member DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4,505
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    I made a video tutorial:

     
    LameNobody likes this.
  11. powersaver

    Member powersaver GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you!
     
  12. LameNobody
    OP

    Member LameNobody Weighted Companion Cube Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Canada

    Looks great, I was going to do that originally, but I decided upon GIFs.
     
  13. Christian Rosado

    Member Christian Rosado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    Im getting 00 16 00 88 then a 16 bytes line then the 48 FF bytes. is it always?? 00 00 00 88 for all games?
     
  14. LameNobody
    OP

    Member LameNobody Weighted Companion Cube Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Canada
    I suggest you search for the 16 bytes that you get in your memory, the same pattern with the header should appear at least once more in the memory of powersaves
     
  15. Zeshix

    Newcomer Zeshix Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    Once you have the code, how do you translate it into a .bin file?
     
  16. LameNobody
    OP

    Member LameNobody Weighted Companion Cube Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Canada
    You're the third person to ask me that... Just added a section in the original post about it.

     
  17. Zeshix

    Newcomer Zeshix Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany

    Thanks for the quick answer! The chip id isn't used either way if you patch the template of Sky3ds with the .bin.
     
  18. LameNobody
    OP

    Member LameNobody Weighted Companion Cube Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Canada
    (I don't have a sky, so I haven't used any of the tools for it.... so I wouldn't know)
     
  19. Christian Rosado

    Member Christian Rosado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    So I can just add header and ignore the chip id thats already in that empty bin file?? Its just im getting this error " Error Code: 002-0123

    You cannot use online services with this Game Card. So im either using the wrong thing as header or its the chip id. Ive tried over 15 times -_- :/
     
  20. 4ur0r

    Member 4ur0r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    Italy
    Most probably, you're getting this error because you're touching the id on your ROM. Just replace the header on your sky3ds template with the header you got with powersaves method.
     

Share This Page