Top screen beyond help?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Calamity James, Sep 23, 2010.

Sep 23, 2010
  1. Calamity James
    OP

    Newcomer Calamity James Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well how ironic.

    After lurking here for a month after getting my DS (from eBay), getting to grips with the wonders of flashcarts etc I finally decided to register to maybe contribute or something.

    Lo in behold, I turn my DS Lite on tonight to be greeted with this:

    [​IMG]

    No idea how it happened, was working fine the last time I turned it off!

    So, barring buying some uber small tri-wing screwdrivers and re-learning how to solder etc, is my DS Lite dead?

    Thanks,
    James.
     
  2. XXLANCEXX

    Member XXLANCEXX GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Location:
    In my house
    Country:
    United States
    Needs a new top screen and your good
     
  3. Calamity James
    OP

    Newcomer Calamity James Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the quick reply [​IMG], my only concern with doing that is I haven't fiddled with electronics like that in a while and from what I gather the ribbon cables can be a bitch sometimes. Seeing as I paid £40(~US$60) for it in the first place I'm wondering whether to just cut my losses and buy another 2nd hand one.

    Aren't the screens around £20(~$30) for replacements anyway (before buying the special screwdrivers etc)?
     
  4. Leamonde.Halcyon

    Member Leamonde.Halcyon 6x9=42

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    736
    Location:
    6x9=42
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible that there's a loose connection. My sister dropped her DS and we thought the bottom screen was shot-just displayed white or distorted visuals similar to that. I opened it up to see what parts I needed to order, and it turned out one of the short ribbon cables had come loose. Popped it back in and she's been good to go since.
     
  5. Calamity James
    OP

    Newcomer Calamity James Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting! Might have to get myself to a local electronics place to get the special screwdriver. Feeling a little less annoyed now, the whole kit is only £13 on eBay: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Replacement-Top-LCD-...=item53e3bf8772 (I'm assuming that'd be fine?)

    James.
     
  6. samjef11

    Member samjef11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah that should be fine but did your check that seller feedback i would only buy of a seller who has 99.9 or 98.99% positive.
     

Share This Page