To softmod or not to softmod

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by YayMii, Jul 28, 2011.

Jul 28, 2011

To softmod or not to softmod by YayMii at 12:02 AM (784 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    So I just got another PS3 (160GB, free from the Rogers phone promotion).
    It's running FW 3.50, and my parents say this one be only be used for Netflix/Bluray, no games (since we already have a PS3). Just wondering, would it be worth it to install a CFW on this, since it's capable, even though it won't be used for games? Is there a way to spoof the version number to work with Netflix? Thanks.
     
  2. nissanahmed

    Newcomer nissanahmed Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    As of now Netflix can't work without the latest firmware.
     
  3. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    But isn't there a way to spoof the latest firmware to get it to work?
     
  4. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Spoof just makes it so that it doesn't update without you knowing.

    One rule with CFW, if you like online, don't use it.
     
  5. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    :/ I'm not going on PSN at all with this PS3. And what about this?
     
  6. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Thing is that you need to be signed into psn for it to even start, it will ask you to sign in right when it starts up. Plus, that guide is a couple months old, and Netflix has been updated pass that, so that is probably blocked.
     

Share This Page