Thinking of getting a PS3

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by f00had, Feb 11, 2009.

Feb 11, 2009

Thinking of getting a PS3 by f00had at 10:14 PM (1,310 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. f00had
    OP

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1) Is there a PS3 cheaper than 40GB in UK/Europe?
    2) Do they all have wireless internet?
    3) How big is it compared to the Wii (standing up)
    4) Do I need a big TV to play games on it? (got a 15" telly atm, worked great from megadrive - wii)
    4b) Does the PS3 come with a SCART cable?
    5) Can they play PS1 and/or PS2 games?
    6) What can you do with a PSP and PS3? (I have a classic PSP)
     
  2. JesseAs

    Newcomer JesseAs Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    1) nah, just go for it [​IMG]
    2) yes
    3) it like 1 inch wider, and 2 times higher
    4a) no you dont, but youll suck at online games cuz you would be able to see other player good (shooters), i bought a 22" PC screen with HDMI with it
    4b) yes it does, its like the same as the wii, you got that 3 colour thing, and a mid-piece (transformer thingy)
    5) uhm no, only the american 60GB ps3 can play ps2 games
    6) you can link some games, like the new resistance for pc3, you can play it on you TV if you link you psp with your ps3, or if you have resistance 2, youll get some unlockables. there is more from this stuff, not much but there's coming more and more
     
  3. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah EUR versions also play PS2 GAMES so long as its the 60GB or higher ..60gb has the hardware+emotion engine the 80gb+ emulates PS2 hardware works but not as well as the 60gb with the hardware [​IMG]

    I just kept my PS2 as they are not worth a great deal trade in or to sell on [​IMG]
     
  4. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Honestly if you are getting a PS3 dont go for the 40gig, go for an 80gig model. After you put some media on it, and install some games (almost all new games need an install) that 40 gig will look pretty small. When I first got mine last month, before I put any kind of media on it and had played about 6 games and had a couple of demos off PSN I was using around 36 gig of space up on it.
     
  5. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The PS3 harddrive is pretty easy to upgrade, if you can get the screws out (They can be hard work). You then put a 2.5" drive in, then the ps3 will ask you if you want to format it. At the moment I've got a 160gb harddrive in the PS3. But you can fit a 500gb harddrive.
     
  6. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    yeah the PS3 was designed to be able to put your own 2.5" Sata drive in they are pretty cheap anyhow [​IMG]

    When I get bored of my 40GB I will fit a 500gb they are around £50 here in the uk [​IMG]
     
  7. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yeah but when you first get a PS3 you dont want to be messing around changing HDD's. Best get a 80gig for now, use any extra cash on games, and when the price of the bigger HDD's comes down upgrade then. That what Im planning to do.
     
  8. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    I heard the max hdd space a ps3 will take is 250GB, you might want to do some research before you buy an hdd.
     
  9. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    No thats untrue, mechanically theres no limit to the size of a HDD you can install. Probably when the PS3 came out the maximum available 2.5" HDD size was 250gig. But recently I have seen 320gig HDD's on sale that state they are PS3 compatible.
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    theres also instructional video's online
    some people said you had to put the firmware file on the hard drive first before you can use it

    also nice avatar f00had
    GTO ftw
     
  11. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    1) Can't say don't live there
    2) Yes
    3) About nearly twice the width, and height I'd say about 33% taller.
    4) I'd say a 15" TV sucks period for any 3D system as it makes seeing farther back depth impossible. I use a 26" widescreen lcd for my fun time.
    5) Not anymore, older models from about a year back to start did. BUT, I should add any PSOne games from the PSN shop will work on the system. The firmware still has the ability to form a virtual memory card for them. I bought for my PSP like 6mo ago SF Alpha 1, about 3 days ago I installed it also to the PS3. Seems Sony isn't touchy about me having 2 copies for the price of one.
    6) The PSP can be used to do remote play. You'll want to look it up for all details, but you can view saved to the HDD movies and run saved audio too (but not off actual discs for either), use the superior web browser on the PS3, use it's other XMB features such as viewing pictures and junk. Playing PS3 games won't work, BluRay or DVD won't either, a select few PS3 games I think may work but 99% don't. PSOne games will run on it jacked together. Also in Japan only so far, you can fake out the PSP do run local multiplayer through the PS3 using a combo of wired(ps3) and wifi(psp) to do wifi multiplayer in games.

    I've been doing research on stuff as I go about things as I jsut got a PS3 myself last Saturday.
     

Share This Page