The Ultimate Virgin 4.0 Softmod Guide

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kongsnutz, May 10, 2009.

May 10, 2009
  1. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Country:
    Australia
    See it HERE


    As with my 4.0 update guide this is easy to use and to follow!!

    Have any Questions, please ask.

    NOTE:

    Will not work on the LU64+ Wii consoles that have been selling recently (i'm sure a solution will be found soon)

    Have Fun!!

    NOTE 2: I cannot stress enough about following all steps as they are, do not skip parts and do not try different ways whilst following guide. (It'll just not work)

    NOTE 3: Internet connection on Wii needed, Offline install not possible yet.
     


  2. rogras

    Newcomer rogras Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    TR
    Country:
    Turkey
    Thx!!!
     
  3. skedone

    Member skedone GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United States
    i will test later mate in two pal machines if they let me lol
     
  4. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Country:
    Australia
    No problems.
     
  5. mega man x

    Newcomer mega man x Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Like posted in the other forum, THIS WORKED FLAWlESSLY. I am now trying to figure out how the HBC works and how to get the USB loader working lol

    Wii was a Launch wii, fully updated without any previous homebrew up to 4.0
     
  6. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Country:
    Australia
    HBC works as follows:

    You have boot.dol files. (for each app)

    These need to run from an folder called "apps" on the root of the SD card.

    In the folder "apps" make a new folder (for the app you want) eg, apps/usbloader

    In that folder place the boot.dol, meta.xml and icon.png (icon and meta optional)

    so my usbloader layout is as such:

    apps/usbloader:

    boot.dol
    meta.xml
    icon.png

    Load HBC and now it will show the app USB Loader (or whatever it's called in the meta.xml)

    choose it and it'll load.


    Hope that helped!
     
  7. buby78

    Member buby78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    getting blazed
    Country:
    United States
    no preloader in your guide?
    i think that should be in there
     
  8. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    so the IOS36.wad is a trucha patched IOS36...but if I install the cIOSv7.wad, isn't it the same?
    or the v7 uses the IOS37?
     
  9. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Country:
    Australia
    No preloader because it's not needed and i don't use it. (lol)

    CIOS is a modified IOS36 that installs as ios249 on the wii

    IOS36 is indeed trucha patched (and installs as IOS36), and needs to be installed before using iosdowngrader.
     
  10. TeenTin

    Member TeenTin GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    How about OFFLINE installation ? More stable.
     
  11. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Country:
    Australia
    Offline installation not possible atm.......sorry.

    It stable, very stable in fact, it doesnt download much at all, tiny patches...and that it.
     
  12. mega man x

    Newcomer mega man x Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    do you recommend doing the extra steps?
     
  13. setete

    Newcomer setete Newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    France
    Hi,
    I am blocked at the level of cios donwgrader. " dowloading content *69 " it is almost 2 hours and several times since I move off again but always blocked has this place, somebody can you him to help me?
    thank's
     
  14. croupier

    Newcomer croupier Newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    it works on my virgin system menu 4.0, i just managed to install HBC and backup launcher, loaded with a burned DVD of MOH Vanguard 2007, it worked flawlessly.
    thanks for all the efforts, i've been hanging around here for 1 month since i bought my new Wii console without installing HBC before updating firmware to 4.0.

    Cheers!
     
  15. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Country:
    Australia
    CIOSdowngrader or IOSdowngrader, if you used CIOSdowngrader i can't help you as i never said to use it.

    IOSdowngrader though, just restart and try again, turn off firewalls and antivirus during install.
     
  16. Oaky

    Newcomer Oaky Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi mate, excellent guide, I followed everything and it works, but could you please clarify the Further Steps a bit?

    Where do I put what file on my SD card, etc etc. I'm a real newb at this. [​IMG]
     
  17. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Country:
    Australia

    So basically make a folder for iosdowngrader in apps and put the boot.dol in there.
    Put ciosrev10installer exactly as is in the rar pakage. (the folder in apps and the .wad on the root)
    Get and put wad manager in apps.
    put IOS60.wad in a folder called wad on the root and run wad manager to install that.
     
  18. Oaky

    Newcomer Oaky Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot, I think I got it now.

    There is just one more problem: When I try to install IOS60patched.wad through the WAD Manager I get ERROR! (ret = - 1029).

    Everything else works.
     
  19. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Country:
    Australia
    All i can suggest is make sure CIOS is installed and Install IOS36


    Also make sure when you start Wad Manager that it's using IOS249 when installing IOS60!!
     
  20. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a guide for using Bannerbomb with 3.2-3.4 Wii's?
     

Share This Page