The System Files are Corrupted

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by farfromsubtle, Nov 22, 2008.

Nov 22, 2008
  1. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a Wiikey installed and the 3.2 update on an NTSC Wii.

    Lately I have been getting "The System Files are Corrupted" after I pass the Health Warning. This happens on every boot without fail (not random).

    The only conceivable reason I can think of for this, is that I have been installing/uninstalling a number of WADs using Wad Manager lately.

    I am able to autoboot with a disk, so I used AnyTitle Deleter to remove any WADs I have installed lately (they were all WiiWare titles). Unfortunately, I am still getting the error.

    Any ideas?

    *UPDATES (from thread)*


    I have not upgraded or downgraded my firmware lately, nor have I tried to using an autoboot in order to fix the problem. Is this the next best step?

    Unfortunately the error is not random for me... it happens on every boot.

    I have not installed any homebrew.
    The only thing I have installed is about 3 WiiWare titles lately, all of which played without error. This error came up about a week later.

    I have left it unplugged for an hour or so, and it is still getting the error.

    It would be awesome to get this fixed in a way that leaves my saves and other data intact... but if necessary I am ready to wipe it out and start over... Best method for this?

    Tried to go into maintenance mode (+/- held then A) mode did not work for me. [​IMG]

    *MORE UPDATES*

    I have successfully used cIOS Downgrader to reinstall the system menu to 3.2 (I was already at 3.2 to begin with!) This did not work.

    I then tried cIOS Downgrader to UPGRADE to 3.3... and the same error still appears.

    Not sure where to go from here.
     


  2. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried upgrading/downgrading your firmware??
     
  3. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmmm, no I haven't. What would you recommend? Upgrading to 3.3 or downgrading to 3.1?

    I suppose there is an autoboot iso out there for this?
     
  4. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm. It seems to me like your system files are corrupted.
    If I were you, I'd try uncorrupting the system files.
     
  5. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    Wish I had thought of that!

    The weirdest thing is, this seemed to have come from out of nowhere. I installed a couple of WiiWare games... played them for a while... no problems.

    Then one day... bam.
     
  6. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,294
    Country:
    it's random, no big deals...just power off then on
     
  7. fishears

    Member fishears fishears

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why be a dick?
     
  8. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    The error is consistent. It happens every time. And I have tried about 50 times. I have also left it unplugged for a good hour, and the error is still there.
     
  9. Cammy238

    Newcomer Cammy238 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL!!! Your like: it says the sytem files are corrupt. what should I do?
    so he says: try uncorrupting the sytem files.
    and then you say: I can't believe i didn't think of that.
    YOU ARE A RETARD!!!!
     
  10. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    uninstall any modifications you installed (CIOS, DVDX, Starfall, etc.)
     
  11. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Do not uninstall starfall...
     
  12. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    I have not installed any homebrew. The only thing I have installed is about 3 WiiWare titles lately, all of which played without error. This error came up about a week later.
     
  13. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Someone here is, and I dont think its him. Please treat other members of the forum with respect.
     
  14. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    It would be awesome to get this fixed in a way that leaves my saves and other data intact... but if necessary I am ready to wipe it out and start over... is there a quick method for that?
     
  15. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,765
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    Shouldent that press the up down left right buttons on gc controller in port 4 thing work?
     
  16. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    Maintainance mode did not work for me. [​IMG]
     
  17. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I would suggest cios downgrader, but i dont know for sure that would work in this case
     
  18. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    Will try that right now... any repercussions I should know about?
     
  19. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    You have a bricked wii.
     
  20. farfromsubtle
    OP

    Newcomer farfromsubtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    Are you saying that cIOS Downgrader will brick my Wii, or that my Wii is bricked currently?
     

Share This Page