1. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,716
    Country:
    United States
    You can do the upgrade, the CPU would be fine for Windows 10, also you could use a RAM upgrade. If you don't care about the data that is on the computer now just do a clean install, grab the serial key before installing Widnows 10.
     
  2. ryguy2010

    ryguy2010 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Wow first gen i core. You should still be able to run Win 10 with that laptop. Are you looking to put some money into it? I'd bump the ram to 8 GB and add a ssd.
     
    Hayato213 likes this.
  3. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Okay thank you I will look into updating the ram and I will start downloading win 10 thanks
     
  4. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,716
    Country:
    United States
    Could use a SSD like @ryguy2010 mentioned unless your boot drive is already a SSD.
     
  5. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    well right now I am trying to do a factory reset so I can start fresh but allot of the methods are not working and so right now it is rather messy

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    what is a ssd thanks
     
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,716
    Country:
    United States
    Solid State Drive.
     
  7. ryguy2010

    ryguy2010 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
  8. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
  9. ryguy2010

    ryguy2010 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    If you know the model number of the laptop, there might be ISO's for the factory install for that laptop.
     
  10. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Okay the media creation tool is downloading windows 10 thanks for verifying my computers specs it will be interesting to see what windows 10 is like

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Well there is a product ID: is this what you are refering to?
     
  11. ryguy2010

    ryguy2010 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    It's like a mix between 7 and 8.1. I've been running it for awhile. You'll be getting the newest version of 1909.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    No I mean the model number of you lenovo laptop.
     
  12. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Okay thank you I will look into it

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Okay sorry I believe I have located it : 2516CTO

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Okay last time I did a factory reset it worked can a factory reset still work if every single program is uninstalled because I have uninstalled some programs made by Lenovo and this could be the source of the problem
     
  13. ryguy2010

    ryguy2010 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
  14. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Okay thank you I will give it a shot

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    This link was vert helpful thanks but I think the factory reset files must be gone because I came close to a factory reset but then it said it could not find the backup file necassary for completion
     
  15. ThoD

    ThoD GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,508
    Country:
    Greece
    With your laptop's specs, it's better to just reinstall Win 7 since Win 10 is SO bloated a mere 2 core CPU with 4GBs of RAM won't cut it unless you only plan to use it for general stuff like browsing. As for formatting, you can always just pirate them or something and save yourself from all the hassle of recovery but it's up to you...

    PS: To anyone who keeps suggesting SSDs and upgrades... First off, no point in paying money to update such an old model of a laptop since it's not gonna do much without first bumping up the CPU, which can't be done on a laptop, even if you have a lot of RAM or very fast HDD, it means nothing in practice since you will at most see like a 10% boost in general use if lucky. Second, hard disk speed is based on the MOTHERBOARD itself, on an old system, a Lenovo of all things (low-end motherboards so they can be cheaper), SSDs will work under-capacity, ESPECIALLY if for whatever reason it happens to have SATAII connectors and not III/6GB (even laptop SATAIII will make SSDs underperform since you will still be getting speeds equal to just over 7200RPM desktop HDDs).
     
  16. ryguy2010

    ryguy2010 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    I hate to tell you, but bumping the RAM and adding a SSD will actually make a difference. I run a 1st gen i core with a ssd and 8 GB RAM. I'm using a EVO 850 Pro for the SSD, which is SATA 3 and the controller is a SATA 2. Running Windows 10 x64 1903. I have a Dell Precision M4500 and that same CPU.

    As for you comparison of running a 7200 drive, it's way more then that. SATA 2 is a 3GB interface, I'm pulling 650 MB/s on that drive. A platter drive is around 80-160 MB/s. Get your facts straight.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2019
  17. ryguy2010

    ryguy2010 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    I would just do a clean install of Windows 10. It should automatically install the drivers for it. Also make sure it's disconnected from the internet when doing the first setup wizard, if you want to create a local account.
     
  18. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Okay thank you I have figured out whats wrong I need to create a recovery partition that is my only hope I cnnot seem to find a win 7 iso file online but i will keep looking
     
  19. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering if anyone knew how to create a windows recovery disk I am having major problems not on the creation really but with using it when i try to use it for a factory reset it says that it is the incorrect disk and yet it is the correct disk I have know idea what to do thanks
     
  20. ThoD

    ThoD GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,508
    Country:
    Greece
    Ok, I'll get my facts straight... on my 6 and a half year old 7200RPM HDD with SATAIII connection I get average 260MB/s WRITE, 320MB/s with SSD, not that big a difference, while read speeds for both are at 480-510MB/s (varies depending on file, cache, etc., boot time on HDD is 12 seconds with only 4GB DDR3 RAM to boot, so yeah:P). Computers don't all work the exact same you know, they vary, one might work great, another may work a lot worse and most importantly, upgrading old ones is almost never not worth it, it's how bottlenecks most often happen. SSDs are always better on paper only, in practice they have many issues, undeleting files is a pain since they don't use magnetic partitions (which leave traces so you can recover lost files MUCH easier), have less longevity (doesn't really matter in this day and age but that also makes them more prone to failures), depending on how good quality it is it might or might not have power safeties (and they never state if they do so getting a cheap one could result in it frying itself should a power surge happen) and so on, not saying they are bad, but they aren't a blanket "better" option. Anyways, this all is irrelevant so let's stick to the thread that's about FORMATTING, not upgrading.

    Try downloading one that's already made, then use whatever serial key your Windows has to reactivate it. Had a nice little script that fetches you your Windows key in case you don't have it written somewhere but I can't for the life of me find what folder I put it in so you are on your own there:rofl2:
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Purge,