The new Red Nintendo Wii Limited Edition hackable?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Izzy, Oct 29, 2010.

Oct 29, 2010
  1. Izzy
    OP

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sorry guys, I did a quick lazy 1 minute search and couldn't find anything about it.
    Is it possible? Are there different versions of it? (I highly doubt that they've had the time to do that)
    Thanks!
     


  2. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    It surely comes with 4.3, so you will need one of the hacked games to hack it. And have D3-2 drive, so no DVD backups.
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,940
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well, we can't know until someone tries.
    I'm guessing it's like a Black Wii though, which can be hacked.
     
  4. Freezer6

    Member Freezer6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Brooksal
    Country:
    Germany
    Cool someone opened this Thread and Topic for me... [​IMG]

    I want to buy a Red WII (Germany ) and want to softmod it....

    ...is there any chance ?

    What means a Hacked Game?



    THX in Advance
     
  5. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Games which have exploits to allow homebrew to run.

    Super Smash Bros Brawl (NTSC-U/J)
    Lego Indiana Jones: The Original Adventures (NTSC-U/PAL)
    Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's Wheelie Breakers (NTSC-U/J/PAL)
     
  6. Freezer6

    Member Freezer6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Brooksal
    Country:
    Germany
    so..is it possible to Hack the Red Wii and play Backups from DVD and USB HDD or only one of these things?

    Do i need the original Game(as a Hacked Game)?

    ....and have all the red wiis the same DVD Drive?

    thx
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No DVD backups, the drive will not read burned DVDs, period.

    You will need one of those original games in order to hack it, as it won't read burned DVDs.

    Yes, all red wiis have the same DVD drive, the new drive has been in Wiis for a while.
     
  8. Freezer6

    Member Freezer6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Brooksal
    Country:
    Germany
    SH**!
    Thx for the reply! @Rydian
     
  9. stingray1059

    Member stingray1059 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    Philippines
    if the new drives cannot play backups, can i insert a backup disc and copy it to the hard drive using the + button in CFG loader?
     
  10. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    No not possible...
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The drive itself will not physically read burned discs.
     
  12. kyle_jc

    Newcomer kyle_jc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So does any1 have the red wii yet I'm off to buy one but was hoping somebody would post what firmware it has because if it's 4.3 I have to track down Lego Indiana jones
     
  13. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, you could if you replace the drive with an older one or fit a WODE. Though there is no guarantee that this model will work with them.
     
  14. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,511
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States

    umm... if it's already a backup disk then your computer can read it just fine. Use WBFS manager to copy it to your USB or external HDD, then walk your butt over to your Wii and play it [​IMG]
     
  15. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Red Wii is 100% 4.3... no question.
     
  16. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    I'm getting it tomorrow so we'll see. I hope it's not, but it probably is.
     
  17. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    What about with a Wode?

    Would you still need the hack-game if you want to run bckups with a wode?
     
  18. xboxreloaded

    Member xboxreloaded GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Germany
    i need 35 min [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  19. kyle_jc

    Newcomer kyle_jc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got one today and it is 4.3 and has all the nintendo channels installed plus iplayer. Anyway I have hacked it with Indiana pawns and I switched the drive with my old wii to get gamecube backups working which was weird because they wouldn't boot until I installed darkcorp but they only boot through neogamma
     
  20. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Kyle: You wouldn't have needed to use darkcorp if you had just installed a custom MIOS to begin with [​IMG]
     

Share This Page