Test Version of Final Fantasy XIII on PS2

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Raiser, Jan 30, 2010.

Jan 30, 2010
  1. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Source

    Pictures are a little big, so I just linked them.
    Interesting so see though. o.o
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    this is FFX2
     
  3. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    They used the same models from FFX-2 since it was only a test. But in the 3rd scan, they end up changing the design. o.o
     
  4. gokujr1000

    Member gokujr1000 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    Australia
    The 3rd-5th screens looked tragic that kind of character model doesn't deserve to be put into Final Fantasy 0_o
     
  5. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,269
    Country:
    Australia
    reminded me of zelda wind waker graphics
     
  6. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I think those are the stand-in models for more realistic looking ones later. See the first two images and you'll know what I mean.

    How many discs would this be, I'm wondering?
     
  7. SgtThom

    Member SgtThom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States


    Most last gen games didn't use 2/3s are there disk space.There where FEW last gen games on the ps2 that uses two disks.
     
  8. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Probably three. The PS2 used the same medium as the Xbox 360 (DVD9), and it should be similar in size. Maybe it could even be on two discs, as the PS2 wouldn't need HD videos.
     
  9. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably a single dual layer, they probably wouldn't have been as wasteful with the disk space due to the restrictions (not to mention they wouldn't have needed as much space for high-poly models and high-res textures).


    Although if I'm remembering right, some of FFXII's sound quality was reduced due to space reasons.
     
  10. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not as though they will release it, but it's interesting that they used a PS2 as a testing base
     
  11. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    the PS2 still does have good power and additionally it was sold the most, it pretty much was a base to how the consoles should progress in the future since it was kinda a big leap from PS1
     

Share This Page