1. Nicotine

    OP Nicotine Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    so, a friend of mine was using my switch (mistake 1). when he went to start a game it asked to update, he said yes - it looks like it started a fw update..... immediately powered off. looks like a partial update was started when power got pulled (long power press).

    now atmosphere crashes on start, says 9.0.1

    it was on 8.1

    what can i do? it didnt get far into the install at all.... help plz :(
     
  2. fvig2001

    fvig2001 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    Restore an old nand backup is probably your best bet but maybe updating atmosphere to the latest may let it boot.
     
  3. ginryu

    ginryu GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yep a back up restore is you best bet.

    If you don't have one, try updating atmosphere.
     
  4. ken28

    ken28 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Country:
    Germany
    why did you power it of through, better burned fuses then a potential fully bricked switch?
     
  5. Nicotine

    OP Nicotine Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    they paniced when i was like wtf?.....

    it boots to the menu, but then i get an atmosphere crash just after it says hit any button 3 times. if i hit A 3x fast it will get to the main menu of the switch, then bomb.
     
  6. Nicotine

    OP Nicotine Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    got it....popped in an old sd, updated atmosphere, used coijour (spelling?), allowed me to go back to 8.1...works again! :D
     
  7. Nicotine

    OP Nicotine Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    correction!

    it will boot with my jig/rcm payload....but not without! wont power on..... works when in rcm/cfw tho!
     
  8. ken28

    ken28 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Country:
    Germany
    auto rcm acitvated?
     
  9. shadowofdarkness

    shadowofdarkness GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Country:
    Canada
    Fuses are burnt the first boot after a update. not during the update. So you just burnt fuses.
    Booting by payload bypasses that check so that is why you can still boot that way but not officially.
     
    ken28, ry755 and pinbi7 like this.
  10. Nicotine

    OP Nicotine Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    So. I should just update to 9.0.1 if needed then? I never boot this switch into ofw anyway. It’s a spare switch. I have another that’s stock

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    So I should just update to 9.0.1? Does everything work currently for atmosphere?

    I never really boot to ofw. I have an unmodded switch for that too.
     
  11. shadowofdarkness

    shadowofdarkness GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Country:
    Canada
    You might as well just update, I can't think of anything you have to lose at this point.
     
  12. Nicotine

    OP Nicotine Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    does atmosphere work on 9.0.1 perfectly fine?
     
  13. shadowofdarkness

    shadowofdarkness GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Country:
    Canada
    It does as far as I know.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - interrupted, system, update