Hacking System files corrupted brick

WiiCrazy

Be water my friend!
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
2,395
Trophies
0
Location
Istanbul
Website
www.tepetaklak.com
XP
387
Country
Taking a close look on wii's memory map figured out something... Firstly this is only for those that can use trucha signed discs

At the very bottom of the table in the wiibrew article (http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/Memory_Map)
0x80003F00 0x132c100 (~19.2MB) Standard application executable area
0x81330000 0x4d0000 (~4.8MB) Loader executable area

In loader executable area our system menu resides, and once a disc put into the wii, system runs the apploader and apploader tells the system the memory sections of the initial executable (main.dol) and it's loaded into above defined standard application executable area...

on a sane wii, if the disc is autoboot system boots the code loaded into the standard application executable area..
on a wii with "system files corrupted" error the dol is not booted yet it's loaded into the standard executable area...

so the result is, system menu can be patched with the apploader to jump to the dol loaded...

of course to proove my theory we need examples of people bricked with the same error and can't boot an autoboot disc either from recovery menu or from the warning screen...

If I find time, I'll test on my non-bricked wii with a non-autoboot disc if it's like that...

For those interested, there is code and explanation as to how system menu can be patched using the freeloader's apploader below
http://forum.wiibrew.org/read.php?8,1693,page=2


by the way,
jumping is not straight forward, here below c code taken from front sd elf loader (which is taken from gecko os) should be implemented without doing any ogc calls
smile.gif


Code:
__IOS_ShutdownSubsystems ();
_CPU_ISR_Disable (level);
__exception_closeall ();
ep();
_CPU_ISR_Restore (level);

ep is the pointer to the dol entry point

interrupt disabling and enabling is just two inline assembly defines, below is generic ppc code libogc also contains these defines

Code:
 #define PPC_MSR_DISABLE_MASK 0x00008000

#define _CPU_ISR_Disable( _isr_cookie ) \
ÂÂÂÂ{ register u32 _disable_mask = PPC_MSR_DISABLE_MASK; \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂ_isr_cookie = 0; \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂasm volatile ( \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"mfmsr %0; andc %1,%0,%1; mtmsr %1" : \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"=&r" ((_isr_cookie)), "=&r" ((_disable_mask)) : \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"0" ((_isr_cookie)), "1" ((_disable_mask)) \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ); \
ÂÂÂÂ}



#define _CPU_ISR_Enable( _isr_cookie )ÂÂ\
ÂÂÂÂ{ \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂ asm volatile ( "mtmsr %0" : \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ "=r" ((_isr_cookie)) : \
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ "0" ((_isr_cookie))); \
ÂÂÂÂ}
 

ether2802

we have the techno...!!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
4,349
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Pto. Vallarta
XP
312
Country
Mexico
You really got it going don't ya!!! why don't you make peaces with marcan and join the TT?? your ideas can be really helpful for the Wii Scene...!!!
wink.gif
 

WiiCrazy

Be water my friend!
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
2,395
Trophies
0
Location
Istanbul
Website
www.tepetaklak.com
XP
387
Country
ether2802 said:
You really got it going don't ya!!! why don't you make peaces with marcan and join the TT?? your ideas can be really helpful for the Wii Scene...!!!
wink.gif

Well actually don't know what is going on in the wii, it's completely french to me... the last time I did serious assembly coding was in 1994 on c64 and some x86 later at school...
Ppc and wii architecture is huge beast compared to those... so I'm no way near TT or even the lamest coder in the wii scene... these things should be a piece of cake for them (TT)
 

koala90

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
United States
When I turn my Wii on, that message appears. There's some way to fix it? If has, may you help me? I'm scared. T_T

I didn't understand, you are searching a way for help who has that problem?
Sorry for my bad english, I'm from Brazil, I don't speak very well. ^^'
 

WiiCrazy

Be water my friend!
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
2,395
Trophies
0
Location
Istanbul
Website
www.tepetaklak.com
XP
387
Country
koala90 said:
When I turn my Wii on, that message appears. There's some way to fix it? If has, may you help me? I'm scared. T_T

I didn't understand, you are searching a way for help who has that problem?
Sorry for my bad english, I'm from Brazil, I don't speak very well. ^^'

First, this is just an idea rather than being a solution at the moment...
Do you have 3.2 system menu and a modchip? And did you test autoboot discs?
 

AdamBrunt

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2003
Messages
699
Trophies
0
XP
685
Country
If my "maintenance, press all buttons on the D-pad" test doesn't work - I could try it BUT ... I'd need an iso of the disc that needs to be loaded.
 

koala90

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
United States
QUOTE said:
First, this is just an idea rather than being a solution at the moment...
Do you have 3.2 system menu and a modchip? And did you test autoboot discs?

My Wii turned on normal. o.O
But any channel was working. I formated the Wii and now it's working normally. \o\
 

WiiCrazy

Be water my friend!
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
2,395
Trophies
0
Location
Istanbul
Website
www.tepetaklak.com
XP
387
Country
koala90 said:
QUOTE said:
First, this is just an idea rather than being a solution at the moment...
Do you have 3.2 system menu and a modchip? And did you test autoboot discs?

My Wii turned on normal. o.O
But any channel was working. I formated the Wii and now it's working normally. \o\



Well usage of trucha signed discs and other stuff also cause this error but they are not permanent... you had such a case probably... since you were able to format, you never bricked your wii...


QUOTE(AdamBrunt @ Nov 25 2008, 07:22 PM)
If my "maintenance, press all buttons on the D-pad" test doesn't work - I could try it BUT ... I'd need an iso of the disc that needs to be loaded.

Well I should test my theory first with a normal system menu patcher, if it's worked out then continue with the apploader patching and finally testing it on a banner bricked wii... no ready iso at the moment..
 

AdamBrunt

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2003
Messages
699
Trophies
0
XP
685
Country
WiiCrazy said:
Bump!
Anyone recovered from this brick?
No need for me to continue working on this if there are enough people that recovered...

I'm still waiting for the ebay seller to send me the flipping triwing screwdriver !!! The temptation to smash my friend's GC controller is growing stronger by the day !!!
 

Quincy

Your own personal guitarist :3
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
1,608
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Your house
Website
youtek.net
XP
1,221
Country
Netherlands
I didnt recover(yet)

I do not have a modded wii(yet,the stupid motherf** moddedmoddeR lawl*** cancled on me then called me to make a new appointment for tomorrow
frown.gif
)
 

djdynamite123

Master Of Hardcore!
Banned
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
3,788
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Redcar, England UK
Website
www.djdynamite.bravehost.com
XP
136
Country
QUOTE said:
Hope he cancels again tomorrow Quincy, butterflies starting to rumble wild in your buggy rubbish skip
QUOTE said:
whas this meant to be a joke...since i am seriously offended!
Lol, sorry Quincy hehe, yeah you know it was a joke
wink2.gif
Modchip here you come
smile.gif
 

Quincy

Your own personal guitarist :3
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
1,608
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Your house
Website
youtek.net
XP
1,221
Country
Netherlands
djdynamite123 said:
QUOTE said:
Hope he cancels again tomorrow Quincy, butterflies starting to rumble wild in your buggy rubbish skip
QUOTE said:
whas this meant to be a joke...since i am seriously offended!
Lol, sorry Quincy hehe, yeah you know it was a joke
wink2.gif
Modchip here you come
smile.gif
lets hope so (i want to make a racist comment but instead,ill do it in my head lawl
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @salazarcosplay, I heard herbert stopped appearing on the show