1. Brawl345

    Brawl345 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah it's a workaround though so one can use it in the meantime. Better to get a replacement.
     
  2. Jeremy657

    Jeremy657 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Mine Had the same problem as OP and I fixed it by plugging it in to my computer with the provided micro usb cable.
     
  3. Xathya

    Xathya residence aparents trols of temps
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    441
    Country:
    Australia
    as alway best choice is to sent to thos team execute dedidatoad teams of ifixits!! for easy quickfix and suprot.
     
  4. xy-maps

    xy-maps Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Germany
    So my dongle is probably broken now, too. Could use it a few times, but now it doesn't react at all when I put it in the switch.

    Charging at the PC only works sporadically, but unfortunately that doesn't help either.



    Anyway, the dongle gets pretty hot when I charge it with my PC, which is a sign of defective electrolytic capacitors or does the board just get hot?
     
  5. GunzOfNavarone

    GunzOfNavarone GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    Just going to reiterate this post, if you happened to pay via Paypal, you're pretty much guaranteed for 8 months worth of use. Any issues and you can open a case. That said, mine is working fine and I also hear a little whine from it when in use which sounds similar to coil whine from a vga card i.e. current passing through the capacitors. If mine does go faulty though, I won't be ordering a replacement, I'll likely just order a license and use an android phone.
     
    HtheB likes this.
  6. Zytos

    Zytos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    If you bought SX Pro, does your license work when not using the dongle? In other words, if your dongle is dead, can you still use your SX OS license and inject the payload by other means?
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  7. Mikuru

    Mikuru Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Same issue here, on Horizon led first show yelowish green and after some time gets hot, i hear coil whine, but when i enter RCM i'm just gettiing black screen
     
  8. wurstpistole

    wurstpistole I got 8 warning points
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,283
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    If you activated with the dongle before, yes. If the dongle doesn't work at all, you can't activate your license.
     
    comput3rus3r likes this.
  9. Mikuru

    Mikuru Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I fixed mine SX Pro, what i did:

    1. Left it for like 20 minutes for charging from my PC via my phones microusb cable (CAUTION, IT WILL BECOME VERY HOT)
    2. Turned off my switch with boot.dat on card and card into console
    3. Put the Jig, put SX Pro WITH cable and current charging from PC
    4. Hold VOL+ button and very-very quick disconnected micro-usb dongle and pressed power button while holding VOL+, it took less then a second
    5. Dongle flashed green LED very quick and started to load payload with blue LED
    Now it's working fine every time, don't know if this steps did any help or just 20 minutes charging worked, but anyway, may be if it will help someone with exact same problem

    Before this i was seeing just a qick flash of green LED into RCM and payload loading with blue LED haven't started. So that was some kind of caps problem
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
    T-hug likes this.
  10. Goloki

    Goloki Proud TX Suporter... LOL!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    United States
    I just said "fuck it", asked for a refund to Shop01Media, sent the dongle via post and got me an SX OS license. Much easier and cheaper.
     
  11. T-hug

    T-hug Always like this.
    Chief Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    10,170
    I have the same issue. When I charge the dongle it emits a high pitched sound and if I try to use it in the switch it flashes blue and nothing else happens. Sometimes it'll show the boot.dat error msg for a split second.
    I've tried this a few times but can't get it to work. Think the timing may be why..
     
  12. T-hug

    T-hug Always like this.
    Chief Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    10,170
    I just fixed mine following these steps. Took me 20 or so trys to get the timing right though, I held + put the dongle in as it was connected to charger then quickly press power as I pulled out the charger and it turned blue and booted the TX OS. I had the jig in too.
    Thanks very much!
     
    Subtle Demise likes this.
  13. Aszrael

    Aszrael Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    Got the same problem like you. I also contacted Shop01Media as well as teamXecuter - will see how both react...

    Just wondering what the mini USB-Port on the dongle is usabel for. On windows it connects as COM-Port, on linux as ISDN-connector...
     
  14. Goloki

    Goloki Proud TX Suporter... LOL!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    United States
    Shop01Media told me to send them the dongle in the original package to get a refund. I did so yesterday, so by the end of next week they should be getting it. They actually told me they had had a few complaints about this, so maybe their specific batch is more prone to faulty capacitors than others.
     
  15. Aszrael

    Aszrael Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    So - finally I got a response from shop01media.

    The guy just gave me some general info how to put it in correctly and told me to contact team xecuter.
    The latter have not answered on my first request so I sent another email with my complaints / errror report.

    Does anyone have gotten reports/emails/infos directly from team xecuter? I feel somehow lost now...
    Loosing hope they can send me advices how to activate the dongle to get it running. Really have not expected such a hassle with the dongle.
    No clue why they do not provide a windows/linux tool to at least read out the dongle when it is directly connected with the computer to create error logs.

    I also responded to shop01media telling them that I am aware of how to apply payloads and that I am rather sure the dongle is not working.
    We will see what he will respond.
    Somehow I am left with a bad feeling... At least the first response from shop01media was quite supportive. Hope I will get a refund.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2018
  16. Fordy

    Fordy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I have had the same problem with my dongle. Emailed gateway, they sent me the instruction manual. Emailed Team Executor (Twice), no response. Very disappointed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
  17. Aszrael

    Aszrael Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    Still no reaction from TX. Really disappointing

    But even worse I wrote shop01media for a refund and how to proceed further. Also no response since Monday.

    Very disappointing as the dogle seemed to be a good option. But now I really regret having ordered one.
     
  18. Brawl345

    Brawl345 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    Germany
    TX told me that their defective rate is "very low" and that "most people who claimed the issue on gbatemp dropped it, stepped on it, etc." lol. Anyway, they will send me a replacement (got it directly from them since it's a review unit). Wondered why I had to charge it every time I wanted to use it, didn't seem right. So my unit was defective all the time. Anyone that has the same problem should ask for a replacement/refund.
     
  19. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,136
    Country:
    Sweden
    I agree, can you pop open yours? Because I suspect there will be a big soldier blob that is probably next to black behind the capacitors.
     
  20. Brawl345

    Brawl345 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    Germany
    I'd rather wait until I get the new one before I mess with the old one ^^'. I can start SX OS via TegraRcmGUI and the microUSB cable as I described earlier and it would be bad if it wouldn't work anymore (not good with disassembling things...)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - working, dongle,