1. Drillakilla

    OP Drillakilla Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys.

    Need some help. So I attempted mod chip install and was under no illusion I wouldn't be able to do it after I started. Whether it was my tools , I was too nervous to go forward.

    So I found someone to do it , only he didn't use the four wire diagram I provided (from this site) and found something off eBay instead... It sounds mad I know . See below.

    Please, I need to know will I run into any problems with this install??

    I've attached photos of install and the diagram he used
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TheZander

    TheZander King of the Level 7's
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,042
    Country:
    United States
    Those look like pretty thick wires, and the green+yellow look a little close.
     
  3. Huntereb

    Huntereb GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,235
    Country:
    United States
    This will work fine. However, your SwitchMe will always be on using the pad he soldered the battery connection to. This was the originally designed use case, however. I wouldn't sweat it, looks like a super clean install!

    Meh, I think it's just the insulation making it look a little beefier. Those connections are very tiny, they make anything look a little too close!
     
    loler55 and TheZander like this.
  4. Drillakilla

    OP Drillakilla Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys. Manages to get him to change the power wire.
     
    Huntereb likes this.
  5. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,708
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The point pictured will power the switchme all the time...

    Shit @Huntereb . Beat me to it.
     
  6. Drillakilla

    OP Drillakilla Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys. I got him to change to the 3v point on chip and board. It's working. Now need to flash it
     
    loler55 likes this.
  7. 210modz

    210modz GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    should have just installed it yourself. its super easy.
     
  8. Drillakilla

    OP Drillakilla Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I felt worried mate. My solder was small but not that small and the power point was tiny.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Switchme,