Switch stuck in bootloop

Discussion in 'Switch - Exploits, Custom Firmwares & Soft Mods' started by Hatchoopie, Oct 18, 2018.

  1. Hatchoopie
    OP

    Hatchoopie Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 18, 2018
    Germany
    Hey guys,

    I have an issue with my only 4 months old Switch and hope that you can help me fix the problem so I don't have to send it in for repair.
    Thanks in advance!

    After my switch was on the official charging station for about one week without being connected to power. The console had about 18% batterypower left. I archived a game and when I tried to restart the console it got stuck on the nintendo switch logo. I already tried coldbooting it (holding power button for 30 seconds, etc.) but it didn't work.

    Here are some facts:
    • I have two NAND and BOOT0/1 Backups. First one was made before I ran any firmware and the other one just 3 weeks ago. I tried to restore both backups - none worked
    • I can still inject and access Hekate but the switch won't load the OFW or ReiNX
    • Charging of the battery works fine
    • The FW of the Switch (and both backups) is 5.1.0
    • The CFW I am using is ReiNX; The Payload I inject via NX-Bootkit is Hekate 4.1
    • Auto RCM was enabled when the problem first occured
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    IIRC there is a particular chip that can fail, and when that fails the system hangs on the Switch logo.
     
  3. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!

    Moderator
    15
    Aug 5, 2007
    Sweden
    Borked NAND?
     
  4. Hatchoopie
    OP

    Hatchoopie Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 18, 2018
    Germany
    Is there any way to figure out if it's the M92T36 chip or a software problem? Preferably without opening the switch.

    Is there some way to check it?
     
  5. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!

    Moderator
    15
    Aug 5, 2007
    Sweden
    You could try to open the Switch and reseat it and see if that fixes it?
    https://www.ifixit.com/Device/Nintendo_Switch
     
  6. Hatchoopie
    OP

    Hatchoopie Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 18, 2018
    Germany
    Unfortunately, I don't have any tri-point screwdrivers.. Is it worth a try buying one and reseat everything?

    The console is still under warranty. I'm just afraid to send it in for repair because they might replace the mainboard with a new one :unsure:
     
    Last edited by Hatchoopie, Oct 18, 2018
  7. ressit

    ressit GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    Jun 4, 2018
    Vietnam
    format switch
     
  8. kkcheong

    kkcheong GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    May 15, 2018
    Malaysia
    What to do. It's better to have new switch that cannot do piracy than have switch that cannot do anything. Believe me. Don't open it. Just send it to fix.
     
  9. Hatchoopie
    OP

    Hatchoopie Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 18, 2018
    Germany
    Just bought a Y Screwdriver and reseated it. Unfortunately it didn't work.. I guess I'll just give this one back and buy a new one with an old bundle..

    Thanks anyways for your help!
     
Loading...