1. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,751
    Country:
    United States
    At this point, the only benefits to staying on 4.1 is holding onto using a webpage-based exploit to utilize hacks rather than a jig and USB cable. Although there are certain things that work on certain firmwares (e.g. sleep mode doesn't work on 3.x, backup launching/swapping is doable on 5.1), once Atmosphere is completed, all firmwares will have access to the hacks. The reason being that most of these hacks utilize WIP code from Atmosphere. Also, the 3.0.1-4.1 exploit has not been released yet because we don't know if it has been patched out in 5.X or not. If it has been patched, it will most likely be released immediately but if not, its hard to say when it will be released.
     
    Goodolgamer1980 likes this.
  2. Goodolgamer1980

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much! So would you recommend staying where i am, or going for the update?
     
  3. Anthony D'Amico

    Anthony D'Amico Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Australia
    If I were to follow this guide
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/video-how-to-launch-roms-with-hekate.507634/

    Would it prevent me from utilising SX Pro or atmosphere when they eventually release?

    I’m currently on firmware 3.0.1 and from what I’ve read in all the forum, firmware version shouldn’t matter anymore. The early firmware just don’t need RCM.

    Have I understood this correctly?
     
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,751
    Country:
    United States
    So, this is where it depends on personal preference. While both a jig + cable vs. web-based exploit will accomplish the same things, both are executed differently and have different risks. For example, according to this thread, jigs may be a bad idea: https://gbatemp.net/threads/psa-why-the-jigs-are-a-bad-idea.505411/
    Also, the web-based exploit (which I'll use its proper name, Deja Vu, from here on) requires a connection to the Internet which is harder to do when you're outside. If you are going to be using a jig, you can boot up hacks via a PC, Mac, Android device (may need an OTG adapter depending on phone), and iOS device. You will just need to have that device ready at all times as well as the USB cable and jig. Also, forgot to mention that jigs vary in production quality so they may not be guaranteed to boot the console into RCM.

    Weigh all of these pros and cons against each other to see what works best for you. Me, personally, I have both a 4.1 and 3.0 Switch. I do not plan on updating either of them. I prefer to hack using free methods or using common household items, not buying specifically designed hardware such as jigs or TX's modchip. There is also the chance that the software-based exploit for 3.0 will be released before the one for 4.1 as it is most likely been patched.

    However all of that is useless if you follow this tutorial: https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-...nofficially-without-burning-any-fuses.507461/
    With this, you can update to 5.1 without burning fuses (which is what prevents downgrades) after you have dumped your 4.1 NAND by restoring the 4.1 NAND dump at any time.

    Both SX Pro and Atmosphere work on all firmwares for current Switch revisions. To launch backups using the video you linked, you will need to be on 5.1. The only reason to stay on 3.0.1 is if you do not wish to use a jig and USB cable to use hacks in the future. It will be via a webpage-based exploit named Deja Vu and it has not been released yet because it may work on 5.X. If it doesn't work, it will most likely be released. If it does work, they may not release it until it no longer works.
     
  5. Mitch__

    Mitch__ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Will there or is there a permanent solution for cfw? Besides damaging your joycon by bending the pins. Or will we always have to use the rcm jig?
     
  6. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,877
    Country:
    Austria
    Well for example SX offers a software modification so that you don't need a jig anymore, except for first time. Same could happen for Atmosphere.
     
  7. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,751
    Country:
    United States
    We lack the proper keys to sign a CFW or anything else permanently to the console. Therefore, we need to boot an exploit every time the console is turned off as all of these hacks take advantage of that exploit. Regardless if use TX's dongle or Atmosphere, you must reboot them when the Switch shuts down via RCM or a future softmod. The only way to keep it permanent is to never let the console turn off or run out of battery. Sleep mode can help mitigate this issue.
     
    Anthony D'Amico likes this.
  8. pofer

    pofer GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    United States
    With the recent rise of possible dump installers being released would someone make a quick FAQ about .XCI , .NSP and .NCA? I can't explain how exactly they work as I am not too familiar with them, But I want to have the definition in hand in casr I see someone asking for it.
     
  9. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,751
    Country:
    United States
     
    pofer and Goodolgamer1980 like this.
  10. pofer

    pofer GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    United States
    Just saves this for future references :), thanks!
     
  11. qaz015393

    qaz015393 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Country:
    United States
    yep thats the other tutorial I used. I guess its the rig itself and I need to adjust it. I tried the jig again tonight and same thing so I think I'll try my luck with pegaswitch again because I don't want to damage/mess with the pins anymore than I already have. Also I never saw my Switch go into APX mode with the jig and I already used zadig to swap the drivers on the Switch so did I already screw up my Switch? I would hate to have broke it
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2018
  12. Cha0tic

    Cha0tic GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
  13. Cortexfou

    Cortexfou GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hello,
    Following the release of the SX pro, I start to get interested in hacking the switch and I ask myself a few questions. To answer right away or up in due time.

    - Does SX pro modify the console or is everything on the key thing ?
    - I read that we can do the same but with an android device or a PC (and for free), is it true?
    - is all games compatibles with the SX pro ?
    - Can we play docked with the SX ?
    - is using backup a risk to be banned ?
    - Will the atmosphere cfw do the same ? Will it change the console or will it be emunand style on the sd?
    - Will the atmosphere cfw also be compatible with every firmware and impatchable because using the hardware flaw ?

    Finally, the angry question:
    Is it better to wait for the end of the summer for atmosphere or invest in the key SX?

    Thank you very much to those who will answer me!
     
  14. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,877
    Country:
    Austria
    They write on their official website: "SX Pro does not void your warranty. You dont not need to open you console or make any modifications. Easy!". AutoRCM on the other hand does modify the console but can be uninstalled any time.
    LayeredFS allows you to load backups too: https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-use-layeredfs-for-backup-loading-what-games-work-dont.507510/
    From their website again: "With SX OS you can play all your favorite games straight off of the microSD card inserted into your Nintendo Switch.". We'll see which games really works when the first reviews are out.
    Yes, but you need to remove the switch from the dock when you insert the dongle to boot in SX OS.
    Maybe. Playing backups and hacking your console always comes with the risk of getting banned.
    It's using an unpatchable boot room exploit, so it can't get patched. But the installation on higher firmware is more difficult than on lower firmware.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2018
    Cortexfou likes this.
  15. Cortexfou

    Cortexfou GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thanks you so much !
    If people are not banned with using the SX, I think I'll buy one. I'm afraid that installing atmosphere'll be too complex for me...
     
  16. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,877
    Country:
    Austria
    Same here. It's the best to be patient and wait until more is known. :)
    For now, you need a jig or a similar solution.
     
  17. wunderschoenerpapagei

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi i have the following problem with RCM: i am using the tinfoil method, and the screen stays black when booting the switch into rcm (am not really sure if the screen should not at least be backlit?) but when i then plug it to my macbook pro (the one that only has usb-c connectors) it will reboot with the nintendo logo and therefore of course i cannot deploy the payload. What could be the proiblem? Am i accidently shorting pins 8,9,10 instead of 9,10 or what else could i try? I am trying with the charger cable for the mac (usb-c to usb-c) maybe the cable is not data-able?
     
  18. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,877
    Country:
    Austria
    You could also just buy a jig. They are cheap on eBay and work.
     
  19. wunderschoenerpapagei

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    The Jig seems to be working, the screen stays black and does not show the nintendo logo, this only shows once i connect the usb cable to the mac. So i suspect its the cable, but can someone confirm that?
     
  20. infidelity

    infidelity GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    United States
    i'm not sure if this has been asked, but when I try to run emulators in docked mode, the switch crashes once I try to load a game for whichever emulator. I am on 5.1.0, and I have a few working emulators, fceumm, snes2010, pfba, mame2003, psx with no audio, stella, these all work when I do not have the system docked, but I would love to play all these emulators on my wiiu pro controller (using a special dongle) but whenever I load a rom, I get a switch crash/error screen.

    Is it because I need to use a specific "payload"? or is this just issues with the switch itself in regards to homebrew?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH