Hacking Swapping HDD on rebug CFW slim

echan42

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
210
Country
I was trying to swap HDDs on my slim, so what I did was:
-Update rebug using flashdrive
-Remove HDD
-Insert new larger HDD
-Try to format and install rebug off the same flashdrive
And I was greeted with an error.

When I searched online I saw that rebug has issues installing from recovery, but there's a rebug "hdd change utility" available.
So I swapped my larger and newer HDD for my old one.
But I was once again greeted with the "the PS3 could not start, insert flashdrive with 4.80 firmware or later to format".

What's the general procedure to follow here?
What went wrong?
 

echan42

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
210
Country
I know it sounds as if the original hard disk was damaged in the process, but I'm 99% sure it wasn't.

Just insert the new HDD and insert a USB drive containing the 4.80 Rebug CFW.
Stick both in and boot the console.
That was my original aproach. I got the following error.
"the data is corrupted.
(8002F325)"
And I'm sure it's not corrupted since I just updated to that version on that flashdrive.
 

rasputin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
937
Trophies
0
XP
327
Country
United States
try using a different 4.80 cfw on the new drive, then change it to rebug

i was stuck on that corrupted error for ages before i tried this method.. this was around 6 months or more ago though on a earlier version rebug
 
Last edited by rasputin,

echan42

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
210
Country
try using a different 4.80 cfw on the new drive, then change it to rebug

i was stuck on that corrupted error for ages before i tried this method.. this was around 6 months or more ago though on a earlier version rebug
I've just tried Ferrox4.80 right now, and also OFW 3.55, same error, wich makes it seem like it's the support, but I just re-formatted it to FAT32 and 32k and even used it a second abo to update from XMB.

It's odd.
I've changed HDDs on me own PS3 before and had no issues upgrading.
Format the USB drive again to Fat32 with a 32k cluster size.
Then copy the FW again.
Done and I've even tried aditional CFWs, same result. This is frustrating.
 

echan42

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
210
Country
FIXED: I used live CD specialized in cloning hard disks sector by sector, cloned the old one to the new one, installed new HD, downgraded to 3.55, formatted HDD to new size, reinitialized system software, reinstalled rebug 4.80.

thanks for all your help guys
 

A-Khan

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
31
Country
FIXED: I used live CD specialized in cloning hard disks sector by sector, cloned the old one to the new one, installed new HD, downgraded to 3.55, formatted HDD to new size, reinitialized system software, reinstalled rebug 4.80.

thanks for all your help guys


Hi can you PM me and also I recently got my PS3 jailbroken and I have completed all 30 something games on my PS4 and I wanted to revisit some of my favourite ps2/3 games to kill some time until new PS4 titles which I want come out
 

ma3str0

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
71
Country
Myanmar (Burma)
Hello everyone!

My first post here!
I hope im in the right post for asking about swapping HDDs.

I would like to swap HDDs on a PS3 slim with REBUG 4.82.2 REX EDITION.

One HDD will be for kids (games suitable for kids 3-12 years old) and the second HDD, for all the other games (suitable for 12 years and above)

Is this swapping possible?
if that works, i will buy an addition HDD bracket for the second drive, and i will swap easily the HDD brackets, unscrewing only the blue screw.
 
Last edited by ma3str0,

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I tried being a mod for a while. It was too much.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    In other words, dealing with harassing and nonsensical PMs on a daily basis.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Running for mod would be nice, but then again you have to deal with tons of negative people.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you'll have a looooong way to go young grasshopper
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I know.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You'd need to be a respectful and repetable member for something like what, 4 years?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    being helpful to the community and a similar mindset as the rest of the staff also goes a long way
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Alot of users just want it for attention tbh
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I know a forum that said if you're good and don't ask you usually get it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you mean this forum?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Nah others
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You know what they say, I want never gets.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Iirc temp usually votes people in or holds an application every once in a blue moon
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ^ that
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    They're pretty good at hiring the sexy ones
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Inc. Dinoh
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    550k members and only about a dozen staff they hold their own pretty well
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Stupid region locked digital keys are the dumbest thing next gen consoles have come up with
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    @DinohScene, that Xbox code ever work?
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yeh it was the PC version of 76
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    regardless, the hubby took it : D
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    lawl the site said xbox
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Was given a PC Game Pass key for free on Temp, didn't work because region locking. :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Or as I like to call it, RACISM.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Well it finally happened...