1. invaderyoyo

    invaderyoyo invader
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,101
    Country:
    United States
    Well, some other people that ordered the one with purple were still waiting so I thought that might be the case.
     
  2. Hanafuda

    Hanafuda GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,201
    Country:
    United States

    Great movie.

    One other thing I should've mentioned earlier - you can tweak video and other settings in-game, but you have to save the settings for them to stick. That can also be done in-game though. Just the first couple times I changed resolution or enabled scanlines, etc., it reverted back to default when I turned it off. Also there's a return to factory settings option so tinker away, you can't really fuck up.
     
  3. invaderyoyo

    invaderyoyo invader
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,101
    Country:
    United States
    Does the brightness of the image change for you? I have mine set to 720p with regular scanlines and it looks great, but the overall brightness changes depending on what's onscreen. Idk how to explain it.
     
  4. Hanafuda

    Hanafuda GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,201
    Country:
    United States
    The overall image necessarily dims a bit with scanlines. You can adjust the scanline intensity and also there are RGB gamma sliders which can be adjusted individually or set to stay locked together, but I haven't messed with that yet. If you're saying there's a varying brightness without any change in settings, no I haven't seen that. Also give that hybrid scanlines setting a try - I've only had a couple hours to mess around but I think I prefer it over the normal scanlines.
     
    Last edited by Hanafuda, Mar 8, 2018
  5. invaderyoyo

    invaderyoyo invader
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,101
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, there's a varying brightness. I tried the hybrid scanlines and I didn't like them.
     
  6. ca032769

    ca032769 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, wow, this Super-NT with the jailbreak is the best. As you can see if you look close in the pictures below, no cartridge is installed, just the SD card on the right side of the Suoer-NT.

    I received mine a couple days ago. They didn't have the Classic Grey so I ordered the Black. Not bad, but I might get a Classic Grey once they're available again. Anyways, I used the jailbreak from here and everything works as advertised. I'm now using my 30 year old wired controller to play these from my childhood & will have to order one of those 8bit wireless controllers.

    My unit came with firmware version 3.1 (December 12, 2017). I installed the most recent jailbreak 6.5 and within 3 minutes I'm was on JB6.5 (March 03, 2018).

    Since the pictures below were taken I've moved 3,768 SNES titles to the SD card which only takes up 5.22GB. These include No Intro USA/EUROPE/JAPAN, No Physical ROM Support, System Hacks & Translations. I've gone through several rom tests from all regions and all except one so far have worked. It was a rom from Europe and it told me it wasn't meant to run on my system.

    IMG_20180309_224641487_BURST001.jpg IMG_20180310_000954715.jpg IMG_20180310_001323569.jpg IMG_20180310_001549303.jpg
     
    Last edited by ca032769, Mar 10, 2018
  7. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,978
    Country:
    United States
    Only downside is chip support being unlikely, so a flashcart will be necessary to play those, but yeah, the jailbreak firmware is a nice touch :P You have to manually change the region from NTSC to PAL for the EU ROMs. Maybe.

    Edit: I know the SD2SNES is planning on adding SA-1 and GSU/2 support.
     
    Last edited by the_randomizer, Mar 10, 2018
  8. ca032769

    ca032769 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    United States
    Yes was going to get a SD2NES but will hold off for a while. Maybe in the future, there are more then enough to play for now.

    Also, yes for the one that did not play I'll try changing it to PAL, if I can find it again. I was just randomly trying US/EUROPE/JAPAN titles and they all worked, except that one.

    I'll have to play with them more and see how much of an issue playing them all in NTSC is. What's great is the menu shortcut to just load up another rom without having to exit the current title in use.

    Also of note to anyone, because I didn't see a reference to it anywhere, the titles need to be unzipped. I tried several zipped titles and none would load, just black screen after 99% loaded.
     
    Last edited by ca032769, Mar 10, 2018
  9. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,978
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, weird, someone needs to file a report on GitHub. Another perk for SD2SNES is the MSU-1 chip, too bad PAL is 50 Hz.
     
  10. invaderyoyo

    invaderyoyo invader
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,101
    Country:
    United States
    A little bit off topic, but where did you buy your SD2SNES? Did you get it from krikzz or buy a chinese one?
     
  11. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,978
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, bought if off a member on here, actually, I felt better doing that way it works great :P I just wish my controller didn't suck :lol: I'll have to find a better controller, the one for my Super Famicom sucks (buttons are worn).
     
  12. invaderyoyo

    invaderyoyo invader
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,101
    Country:
    United States
    I ordered a chinese one off of ebay. If it doesn't work, I'll get my money back.

    I don't think the jailbreak is gonna support any of the special chips, but idk. I'm just very impatient. With the SD2SNES the only games missing, that I care about, are two Kirby games and Yoshi's island. You can buy the Super Famicom versions for a lot less.
     
  13. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,978
    Country:
    United States
    Krikzz stated that he would be working on SA-1 and Super FX in the near future for SD2SNES

    https://sd2snes.de/blog/status

    Nice thing is it's future-proof, but IMO, you should've gotten the real deal *shrug*
     
  14. invaderyoyo

    invaderyoyo invader
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,101
    Country:
    United States
    SD2SNES is open source. Anybody can make one if they have the equipment. There's no "real deal". Granted, krikzz's product will be higher quality.
     
  15. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,978
    Country:
    United States
    That's assuming people know how to program unto an FPGA.
     
  16. invaderyoyo

    invaderyoyo invader
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,101
    Country:
    United States
    Do you guys think there would be interest in Super Game Boys with the clock fix? I did the fix to my own SGB and it works perfectly!

    There's a place nearby that sells them cheap and I was thinking this might interest some people since the jailbreak convinced a lot of people to get a Super NT. This makes the SGB run at the correct clock speed instead of dividing the Super NT/SNES's clock speed by 5.

    This is the mod I'm referring to:
    http://soundofsilver.co.uk/blog/2015/02/super-gameboy-speed-fix/
     
    Last edited by invaderyoyo, Mar 14, 2018
    the_randomizer likes this.
  17. huh123

    huh123 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Does anyone have any answer to what max size and what types of memory cards this will take when the mods start to get released? That's my only gripe about all of this.
     
  18. nickerous

    nickerous GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    My super nt is arriving tomorrow. If I already have a sd2snes, is this jailbreak necessary? Even if I dump my own games, the saves won’t come over, right?
     
  19. invaderyoyo

    invaderyoyo invader
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,101
    Country:
    United States
    The saves can also be dumped.
     
  20. ca032769

    ca032769 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    United States
    I have fun with my jailbroken Super-NT. Anyone know of a Mega-SG-Jailbreak?

    EDIT: Never mind, when I didn't find it here on GBATemp I should have googled it. Found it on YouTube and just followed the links. To find it just google or go to YouTube and search for "Mega Sg Jailbreak SmokeMonster"
     
    Last edited by ca032769, Apr 2, 2019
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Jailbreak, Super,