Summon Night Translation Project

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by boojumz, Oct 11, 2008.

Oct 11, 2008
  1. boojumz
    OP

    Member boojumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    the heavens
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi
    I'm boojumz and i've recently started hacking Summon Night 2 in order to possibly get a full translation.

    Thanks to Darthnemesis' and noitora's help as well as Darth's awesome tool, i managed to decompress and extract all the text and have posted a few of the files here.

    http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=pSX...K08JQ&hl=en

    There is around a total of 1.5 megabytes...which is quite a bit, but i'll be posting them one by one as everything gets translated.

    translate stuff if you want. if you want to be credited, post here.

    Please if you don't know Japanese do not try to edit stuff, as online translators have been proven time and again to fail on epic proportions. Vandalism is also simply pointless as I can easily revert the file to an older version. i'll see if i can copy this post onto the front of the topic.

    Currently, there isn't much progress as I am quite busy over the week and KiseKibou is the only one translating, but this project will be alive as long as I am.

    At the moment, I am searching for the menus and item names. I'll post here as soon as I find them and then add another sheet to the spreadsheet.
     


  2. DarthNemesis

    Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,208
    Country:
    United States
  3. Guile589

    Member Guile589 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Country:
    Poland
    Cool^^ I hope it will come out fine, 'couse SN series is great. Many thanks for taking this project:]
     
  4. Sylphid D. Glein

    Newcomer Sylphid D. Glein Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hail to the king baby



    XD
     
  5. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    It's good ta be da king!
     
  6. boojumz
    OP

    Member boojumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    the heavens
    Country:
    Canada
    hmm...does anyone know anything about .narc files? i've been searching basically everything but i really can't find anything that resembles the the menus. i'm pretty sure the battle menus and stuff are all graphics, but not too many files showed anything at all...and the ones that seemed the most promising ended up crashing Nintenlord's LZ77 decompression tool.
     
  7. Aikia

    Newcomer Aikia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    I translated a few lines I was sure of...but nothing worth credit. How full do you plan on this being? Image editing too?
     
  8. Dark

    Member Dark GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    856
    Country:
    United States
    Good luck and this game seems pretty cool.
     
  9. DarthNemesis

    Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,208
    Country:
    United States
    Here are the results of my investigation so far. You can use Nintenlord's tool to decompress the narc, then narctool to unpack it. You'll end up with a bunch of files...

    Type 1: Static image
    NCLR = palette(s)
    NCGR = graphics for 8x8 tiles
    NSCR = map of tiles to image (tile number, X/Y flip, palette number)

    Type 2: Moving image
    NCLR = palette(s)
    NCBR/NCGR = graphics for 8x8 tiles
    NCER = map of tiles to animation cells
    NANR = animation data

    I've figured out the format of static images, but haven't looked much into animations yet.

    The title screen menu options are stored in title\ti1_sp_sub0001.narc. Here's the raw tile data:
    [​IMG]

    As you can see, it consists of the text with transparent glow, merged onto the background. Here's the background, for reference:
    [​IMG]

    Replacement images would need to consist of the text with glow effect, at 5 different levels of transparency, along with any background data touched by the glow effect.
     
  10. boojumz
    OP

    Member boojumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    the heavens
    Country:
    Canada
    narctool? ok...i knew i was missing something...i'll find it soon and see if i can find things. thanks a lot, darth!
     
  11. valyr

    Member valyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. HernanZh

    Member HernanZh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ouch, looks tough to edit >.>
     
  13. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    or you can easily edit it but lose a lot of quality
     
  14. boojumz
    OP

    Member boojumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    the heavens
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    ok...so this is what i managed to get after five minutes...i find that it becomes most visible when i shift it over 47 times...this is the title menu that Darthnemesis just showed a few posts ago...
    i was just wondering how i would go about changing the colour palette in order to match the real colours that would be displayed? because right now, things are pretty black and white...
     
  15. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    give me your NCLR and NCGR files. let me see them
    i've been experimenting with graphics and palettes a lot today XP (check the last page of of the ys ds thread)
    I might be able to write up a quick tutorial for you if you need to
     
  16. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    here's what I got.
    [​IMG]
    This is the ti1_sp_sub0001uncomp.arc file you gave me.
    I am using Tile Molester to view this, and this quick tutorial will be based on Tile Molester.
    I'm not quite sure how to import a palette from another file, so I used the archived file, because the palette and the graphic is in the same file.
    First of all, the 2 common graphic codecs used in DS graphics are 4 bpp linear and 8 bpp linear.
    The 4 bpp usually uses a 16 color palette, while the 8 bpp graphics usually uses a 256 color palette.
    The palettes used in NDS ROMs are made out of 2 bytes for each color, so a 16 colored palette inside the ROM will be 32 bytes of hex, and the 256 color palette will be 512 bytes of hex.
    As you can see in Darthnemesis's and my pic, you can just see how it does NOT use 16 colors, but a lot more. It's a shot from the dark, but you can guess that this graphic file will be encoded with 8 bpp linear.
    Do an ascii search for either one of these two:
    RLCN
    TTLP
    These 2 text are found in the header of many palette files.
    The header is 40 bytes long, so the actual palette starts at 0x19F5C.
    Now on TM, goto palette -> import from -> this file
    It will ask you to input the size and the offset of the palette.
    As explained above, graphics encoded with 8 bpp will have a 256 color palette, so the size will be 256.
    The offset needs to be inputed in decimal form, which can easily be done by the inbuilt calculator of an XP/vista (not sure about mac), or there should be online calculators that converts hexadecimals into decimals.
    So once you input the decimal form of the beginning offset of the palette, which should be 106332, you'll get something similar to our examples.
    But, if you did not mess around with anything else than what I have told you so far, you will get this:
    [​IMG]
    You will notice the weird non-graphic stuff in front of the graphics. Using the buttons that look like the less than and greater than signs, and the addition and division signs, try to get the starting tile to be the beginning of your graphic file, just like Darth's or mine. I just messed around with the width/height of the grid so I could see the whole graphic file in the window.
    Well, here is what I did to get the graphic to fit:
    use the scroll bar on the left side to scroll down 3 rows
    click on the button that looks like ">" 12 times
    click on the button that looks like "+" 28 times
    and mess around with the buttons on the left to it, which increases the grid height/width.
     
  17. DarthNemesis

    Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,208
    Country:
    United States
    Method A
    1) Open the NCGR and the NCLR in a hex editor
    2) Copy the palette from the NCLR into the NCGR
    3) View/edit the combined file
    4) Open the combined file in a hex editor and remove the palette from it

    Method B
    1) Copy NCLR into a different folder and rename it to the same filename as the NCGR
    2) Open it in Tile Molester and import the palette (make sure to select Copy)
    3) Use Add to Palettes to save the palette
    3) Close the renamed NCLR and open the NCGR
    4) Select the saved palette from the Palette menu
     
  18. boojumz
    OP

    Member boojumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    the heavens
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks for all the help!
    I got it to work and everything seems to be the right colours and everything. i guess ièll use tile molester from now on...i just realized how great it is...before i didnèt quite understand it all...

    just one thing...now, in order to translate these...basically, i just wipe everything clean and replace it with my translation...or do i need to do something to deal with all the mismatched stuff.
     
  19. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    opening the graphics is the easy part. As you can see, it's not aligned for you. What I would do is deal with the misaligned stuff... I'm not as great as Darthnemesis XP but dealing with 8bpp graphics will be a pain.
     
  20. DarthNemesis

    Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,208
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's kind of annoying that palettes are saved separately for each file, but you can get around it by using the same filename.
     

Share This Page