Hacking Success! Follow up question

detail

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
93
Country
United States
So I got HBL installed, and it seems to have gone fine. If i boot without the SD card, it seems that goes straight to the regular 3ds menu. If I boot with the SD card in, it goes to the Luma3ds configuration screen.

Do I always go to this screen on bootup? The card I have now is a 4gb card, but I am in the process of formatting a 128GB card in FAT32. Is there a tutorial to transfer the one microSD card to another? I have no saved/purchased games on either card. I just bought 4 Zelda cards and am going to start playing them.
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
4,561
Country
United States
No you don't always go to that screen on boot. Select your settings then press Start to save them. As a test, turn off your system and turn it back on w/SD card inserted. Do you still boot to the Luma3DS config screen?

Now that you have a9lh, make sure that the 128 GB is formatted to FAT32 (as you said you were) and then just move the files from the 4 to the 128. It's that simple.
 

detail

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
93
Country
United States
What settings should I use?

Besides the carts I bought, I mostly want to play SNES games (maybe GBA games, I never owned a GBA).
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
4,561
Country
United States
What settings should I use?

Besides the carts I bought, I mostly want to play SNES games (maybe GBA games, I never owned a GBA).
The same settings that 3ds.guide told you to use.

Look up the Ultimate GBA VC Injector (if you don't care about cheat codes) and the Ultimate SNES VC Injector in the ROM Hacking section by asdolo.
 
  • Like
Reactions: detail

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
4,561
Country
United States
Ok, Thanks. I will look up those two emulators.
They're not emulators, btw. They're programs that can turn ROMs of games from those systems (and many more systems) into CIAs you can install, without the need of using an emulator. They're two separate programs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: detail
D

Deleted User

Guest
They're not emulators, btw. They're programs that can turn ROMs of games from those systems (and many more systems) into CIAs you can install, without the need of using an emulator. They're two separate programs.
U are aware, of course, that vc is an emulator, right?

For the op- about snes, the thungs the one above me suggested for snes only good if you oun new3ds (the one with the 4 shoulder buttons, not 2). If you dont own a new3ds use snes9x (google it!) Also I might have misspelled it... thats a conventional emulator- install it's cia and place roms on sd, then open them from within the emulator...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

So I got HBL installed, and it seems to have gone fine. If i boot without the SD card, it seems that goes straight to the regular 3ds menu. If I boot with the SD card in, it goes to the Luma3ds configuration screen.

Do I always go to this screen on bootup? The card I have now is a 4gb card, but I am in the process of formatting a 128GB card in FAT32. Is there a tutorial to transfer the one microSD card to another? I have no saved/purchased games on either card. I just bought 4 Zelda cards and am going to start playing them.
Ah and about saves- uf you format it you lose wverytging you purchased on it (call nintendo if any problems arise). Transferring from one sd card to a new emty one is easy- if they are both fat32 just copy paste everything to the new card... if one of em got some games you wanna keep and they both on the same nnud use system transfer (google it) and youre good...
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
4,561
Country
United States
U are aware, of course, that vc is an emulator, right?

For the op- about snes, the thungs the one above me suggested for snes only good if you oun new3ds (the one with the 4 shoulder buttons, not 2). If you dont own a new3ds use snes9x (google it!) Also I might have misspelled it... thats a conventional emulator- install it's cia and place roms on sd, then open them from within the emulator...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Ah and about saves- uf you format it you lose wverytging you purchased on it (call nintendo if any problems arise). Transferring from one sd card to a new emty one is easy- if they are both fat32 just copy paste everything to the new card... if one of em got some games you wanna keep and they both on the same nnud use system transfer (google it) and youre good...
I know that VC is an emulator. I was saying the programs that made the VC inject CIAs aren't emulators.
 
Last edited by KunoichiZ,
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

detail

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
93
Country
United States
Thanks for the help. I transferred the contents of the 4GB MicroSD card to the 128GB. Now, though it doesn't have the option to boot into FBI or Luma3DS used to be on the far right, but no longer is. What is wrong, why isn't it loading?

Firmware is 11.2.0-35U
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    lol
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    PS5 games are actually considerably smaller than PS4 games
    +1
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    better compression/optimization i guess
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    But it only has like 4 games :tpi:
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    what is something you can say about console homebrew but also in the bedroom
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Time to transfer files
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "it was so hard the first time"
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "Time to transfer files" bro having sex with robots
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly knowing ken that isn't that unbelievable
    +1
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    arent many ps5 exclusives it's true, but there are a whole lot of ps4 games that got ps5 upgrades
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and those have to be stored on one of the SSDs
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    "time to smash the stack"
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Uremum does like to call me dadbot
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nothing beats a midnight shower
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I'd say there would be more PS5 exclusives...if people could actually buy PS5s.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I mean, if no-one can buy a PS5, and thus is stuck with PS4 (Pros), then companies would still see some profit from developing PS4 games with PS5 upgrades; meanwhile, if they developed a PS5 game, then everyone who can't get that console won't buy that game, especially at launch.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nah every console starts early with low libraries
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    well theyre churning them out as fast as they possibly can, not like Xbox or PC are faring much better with the chip shortages
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and games still take 4-6 years to develop regardless, so its not like sony can conjure up new exclusives out of thin air
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Makes me wonder what they have now and are actually hiding from the public
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I hope in the next 5 years they can move on to even more realistic skin renders and not just make characters look like Shiney clay molds
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'm waiting for the ultimate DLC, "The Most Dangerous Game".
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Let me hunt people or GTFO :angry:
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: Let me hunt people or GTFO :angry: