Streaming Videos in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by GameSoul, Feb 3, 2009.

Feb 3, 2009

Streaming Videos in Windows 7 by GameSoul at 1:07 AM (1,477 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. GameSoul
    OP

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Ever since I upgraded from XP, streaming videos has slowed down my computer! It's never happened to be before, and I don't believe my internet has anything to do with it. For EX) I went to YouTube and watched a random video. The video becomes a slide show, and all my other programs slow when the video is playing. I've been defragmenting, clearing cookies/cache and all of that. I'm downloading a Registry cleaner now. It's really hard to go back to XP when I've got Seven running. Any suggestions on how to fix this?



    Specs


    Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.00GHz

    RAM: 2.00GB

    Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce FX 5500

    System Type: 32-bit OS
     
  2. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    hmm what are your specs?
     
  3. GameSoul
    OP

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.00GHz

    RAM: 2.00GB

    Nvidia Geforce FX 5500

    System Type: 32-bit OS


    EDIT: Also here an update, this slow down is for media players specifically so I hope this helps you help me. [​IMG]
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have video drivers installed?
     
  5. GameSoul
    OP

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Win 7 said that my drivers were installed but I think I should install them again. Do I do the XP install or Vista?
     
  6. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Win 7 installs basic drivers, get the real ones! [​IMG]
     
  7. GameSoul
    OP

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Windows 7 said it is already installed successfully.
     
  8. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    That's great, doesn't say if it was W7's basic drivers or the real ones. Just install the real drivers
     
  9. GameSoul
    OP

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry I'm a tech noob but what do you mean by real drivers? Some drivers aren't real?
     
  10. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    he means that the drivers there are either too basic or too outdated. go on the specific website to get the lastest version (the vista one should do fine)
     
  11. GameSoul
    OP

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I'm downloading it now.
     
  12. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet, sorry for not being specific before. My bad.

    Let us know if it improves!
     
  13. GameSoul
    OP

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Sigh, it didn't work. [​IMG] I reinstalled XP now. Thanks for all your help everyone, but I guess Windows 7 and I weren't meant to be. Maybe when it's full release is out things will be better.
     
  14. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    That's too bad! better luck next time, right? [​IMG]

    Maybe it was a browser incompatibility or flash?
     
  15. GameSoul
    OP

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I was using Firefox, so maybe there was a problem with the hardware or something. Oh well.
     
  16. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think windows 7 will ever be running better on your specs. Windows 7 is specifically made to run 64 bits and multicore processors like vista but without all the sh*/.
     
  17. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    is that the truth? I never heard of Microsoft made only 64-bit version of Windows
     

Share This Page