Still getting dvd read error 324

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by SilentSinr, Dec 29, 2008.

Dec 29, 2008
  1. SilentSinr
    OP

    Newcomer SilentSinr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    i am trying to get paper mario, de blob and no more heroes to boot but the only game i can boot is the first Truama Center game
    not sure what my firmware is but it is one of the first ones that was released because i havent updated it at all
    i have cIOS rev 7 installed

    i have burned every game the same way (x2 and i am using sony dvd-r) and i just burned another copy of Paper Mario because i thought the probably was that i unclicked verify but i rechecked it and reburned the game and it still doesnt work >_<

    i also am using gamma

    i have been looking for an answer on google but have found nothing but people saying check the dvds and that it is a burning error...but this doesnt make sense because i burned every game the same way and one boots but the rest dont

    Thanks for any help you can provide

    EDIT: also i noticed that even though Truama center boots if i try to use the hooks and then boot at the main wii system menu it wont see the disk
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you really have the rev7 cIOS and your discs are DVD-Rs, you should test another burning speed.

    Ok, now i'm almost sure you have bad burns, use 8x or 12x.
     
  3. SilentSinr
    OP

    Newcomer SilentSinr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    i will try it but isnt slower better?
    i have always been told to burn at slow speeds
     
  4. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    never go under what someone says, it goes by al sorts, your burner, media, performance of PC, your wii the lot, so test yourself is the easiest way......
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    At time this was spread, this was right. As 4x burner were "high end", 50% of the discs burned at 4x were coasters. Now slower than 4x can be a bad idea, because the media is produced to be burned at high speed(don't ask me how).
     
  6. screamq3

    Member screamq3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    na theres no need for slow burns now as discs are getting better and better, if they say they can write at 8x speed then that means they have been made to write at that speed. ive read so many articles of people burning to slow then they are getting more write errors while writing so then they also get disc read errors, try 8x m8, i burn mine at 16x and havent had any problems
     
  7. SilentSinr
    OP

    Newcomer SilentSinr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    kk thanks, i am reburning paper mario now
    i will post back with my results [​IMG]
     
  8. SilentSinr
    OP

    Newcomer SilentSinr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    sorry for the double post
    but it still isnt working even after i set the burn speed to max
     
  9. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    If the game does not appear on the Disc Channel after rebooting with Gamma:

    1)You don't have a 1:1 copy
    2)Your Wii is not reading the data because of your crappy media/burn/writing-software
    3)You haven't installed cIOS36_r7 properly

    ...!!! [​IMG]
     
  10. SilentSinr
    OP

    Newcomer SilentSinr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    i have been using the command prompt to partition the iso before i burn them is this correct?
     
  11. Lheurch

    Newcomer Lheurch Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I was going crazy with that error. I found out my DVD burner was not bitsetting correctly. Make sure you are burning using the DVDROM profile, not DVD+R/-R. Once I got a burner that let me do that, every game I burned worked, tried at 2x, 8x, and 16x. All seemed to work after that so far!
     
  12. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    You don't need to decrypt the .iso's anymore, just burn them 1:1 one-to-one without any process in the middle...!!!

    so your answer was:

    1)You didn't have a 1:1 copy
     
  13. menhel

    Newcomer menhel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do I write a disc so it will work perfectly. Ive downloaded an iso and used imgburn and nero to burn at speeds of 4x and 6x, and they both dont work giving me the the 324 error.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. SilentSinr
    OP

    Newcomer SilentSinr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I finally got it to boot more than just that one game. The problem was my media wasnt very good i guess...i was using Maxelle
    so i went to the store today about bought a pack of Verbatim dvd-r and i just finished burning another game and it works perfectly
    thanks guys

    as for other people that are also getting this error i would suggest buying these Verbatim dvd-r
    they seem to be working flawlessly with no more 324 error
    (i got a 50 pack at bestbuy for 12.99) [​IMG]

    just wanted to give you guys an update on my status with this error

    Thanks again everyone
     

Share This Page