Hacking StarPatch vs. PreLoader .30

timishu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
286
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Scatland
Website
Visit site
XP
345
Country
United States
So I recently updated my Wii to 4.0 using Dop-IOS Mod, and of course, PreLoader .29 was remove despite what my signature says. So I tried to play Animal Crossing through disc channel (retail disc), and it asked me to update. So I decided to install IOS38 through Dop-IOS, with all patches available applied. However, I still need to stop the disc update somehow, and I'm not sure which is a better way to do it. Considering I have BootMii as boot2, installing PreLoader .30 would be pointless aside from the Hacks. However, I know that I can apply the same system hacks with StarPatch. Since I can live without Crazy Intro Video, which would be better to use, StarPatch or a new installation of PreLoader .30? I know I have BootMii which provides brick protection, but maybe PreLoader could be helpful as well. But what's the point if I only need hacks? Any help is appreciated.
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
i'll go for preloader. like you said, startpatch and preloader both patches the system menu with hacks. but preloader has extras. loading HBC and never load the system menu, like on my part. load files that you want like the one you stated: crazy intro. you could load the usb loader that you want automatically. plus the brick recovery that it offers.
 

YayMii

hi
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
4,916
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
that place
XP
758
Country
Canada
zeedds said:
off topic a bit... I use cfg usbloader, how do i use preloader to load it automatically?
1. Hold RESET to boot into Preloader.
2. Click "Load/Install File" and select the CFG USBloader dol file.
3. Go to "Settings" in Preloader.
4. Change "Autoboot" to "Installed File".
5. ???
6. PROFIT!
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
zeedds said:
off topic a bit... I use cfg usbloader, how do i use preloader to load it automatically?
i never tried or used cfg loader but installing a file using preloader is just installing the *.dol of the app that you want to autoboot as far as i remember. i did file autoboot installation since the early release of crazy intro. with the dancing lady logo...sort of. now i only autoboot HBC with the latest releases of preloader.
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
YayMii said:
zeedds said:
off topic a bit... I use cfg usbloader, how do i use preloader to load it automatically?
1. Hold RESET to boot into Preloader.
2. Click "Load/Install File" and select the CFG USBloader dol file.
3. Go to "Settings" in Preloader.
4. Change "Autoboot" to "Installed File".
5. ???
6. PROFIT!
yeah as simple as this...thanks YayMii for the detailed info.
 

zeedds

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2009
Messages
115
Trophies
0
XP
73
Country
United States
thanks for the replies.
I had tried that with what i think was an nfowarder for cfg usbloader , but when i tested it with load it code dumped . so i didnt try installing it and just set preloader to auto boot the hbc.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Herrbushisharryoni
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I like her 70s fashion sense lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    2000 happened and we got too many hers
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This chiropractor clinic sent a grand of $25 to collections on me lmao
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol hey that 25 dollars could be the difference between a jaguar and a Porsche for the Dr!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    15 dorrar
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Does Rufus limit 2tb?
  • B @ btjunior:
    i love skibidi toilet
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    is it worth to make a psn account nowadays?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    on ps3
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Probably not
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @btjunior, how old are you really?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Especially a hacked one
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and idk if something will happen to my ps3 if i connect it to wifi with hen activated
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I remember when the Atari 2600 was new and exciting lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It could get banned from PSN but you can change your ID I think?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also gonna install twilight menu in my r4 flashcard
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    One thing that just occurred to me.... The sound on the 2600 sucked less back then the harsh sound we hear now is from infinitely better speakers we have now, back when the 2600 was new speakers produced a almost muffled sound, like CRTs made old graphics look slightly better.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder if I could recommend that to some emulation devs that perhaps the sound could use some smoothing out to simulate those old TVs
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think a few of the early systems could benefit from that, at least up to the 8 bit generation, by the 16 bit generation I think TVs had gotten a lot better in almost every way
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i dont have an sd card adapter but I have an usb sd card adapter
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Old people games
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its not the one that comes with the r4
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: its not the one that comes with the r4