Spoof 3DS region for firmware update?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Sonikkua, Mar 26, 2011.

Mar 26, 2011
  1. Sonikkua
    OP

    Newcomer Sonikkua Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Is it confirmed that the 3DS region lock is in fact hardware based? Or is it possible, using a proxy or some such to trick, say, a Japanese 3DS into downloading and installing a US Firmware Update? The 3DS would probably check the firmware region before installing though, even if you did get it to download another regions firmware...then again, I've been surprised before at the obvious things game companies sometimes screw up on, so who knows....
     
  2. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Even if this was possible, this would not be a good idea all around if it's anything like the Wii. Installing out of region updates on the Wii gives you a semi-brick. You'll have to wait for a 3ds card or custom firmware.
     
  3. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    It's a hardware code.
    I read it somewhere official, I don't remember where.
    But they said it was just a code in the 3DS hardware. Like the Wii.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Software contains it's own resources so limiting that by region is on purpose, but an OS can't take chances like that.
     

Share This Page