Sorry if has been asked.

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by movieguy12, Dec 4, 2011.

Dec 4, 2011

Sorry if has been asked. by movieguy12 at 10:40 PM (511 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any way by editing or hacking a diamond pearl or platinum Pokemon game that I can have all 649? Or at least my snivy? Obviously can't trade backwards or use a action replay but are there any hacks or edits or anything :) thanks!!
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible... but it'd be a -ton- of work as people would have to add all the new pokemon and moves and abilities manually, and I don't think anybody's going to bother since if they want all the pokemon in a hack they can just hack a gen-5 game.
     
  3. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Yea I figured it would be a lot of work. Jw though, could you use Pokemon essentials information to add them? I'm not sure if you know what that is but basically it contains a (I think) a pmb file with every Pokemon name,base stats,moves able to learn, evolutions and everything else. There's also a folder with all the sprites of them forward and the backs . So could you use that to edit the past games?

    Sorry I just don't know how to edit games yet. I have game maker and rpg maker. And I'm able to create a Pokemon advance game and add all 649 Pokemon in there. I didn't know if it could work the same for a ds rom.

    I'm working backwards from gen 5 to gen 3. I really wanted to take my serperior with me like ash does with his Pikachu.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You'd need to edit the game's engine in order to account for the new effects and battle data and stuff anyways.
     
  5. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Ah what a drag :.( thanks anyways I appreciate it!!
     

Share This Page