some flash card questions

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by GrantThorpe, Mar 25, 2012.

Mar 25, 2012
  1. GrantThorpe
    OP

    Newcomer GrantThorpe Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Well I have been reading the forums all day and cant seem to find the answer to my question. I have narrowed my search for a card down to a 2i or dstwo. But i notice that you need a old model ds to update the cards is that correct? I don't have access to any old systems. If that's the case can someone recommend a card that "auto updates" or will not need a old system to update with?
     
  2. JustChillin1414

    Member JustChillin1414 <3 Tiny Tina

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    BC
    Country:
    Canada
    You'll have to buy the flashcart from a retailer that has an updating service (or sells cards that are updated) or find someone with a DS Lite/Phat.
     
  3. serenade.63

    Member serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    You should be able to email the seller and have them update the card before they send it too you. But its been long enough that they will probably work with the current 3DS software version. Unfortunately the only way to update a card is to have a lower software version NEW console, or an old console, no cards auto update like that. ak2i is a great cart that has awesom compatibility thanks to the akaio firmware... however it doesnt last very long because they suffer from crippling contact issues, there are fixes, but they are kind of obnoxious. if you want a great cart that will outlast an ak2i and has near perfect compatibility with some great extra features go DStwo
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. GrantThorpe
    OP

    Newcomer GrantThorpe Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3

    Thanks I was thinking the Dstwo would be the best bet. You know a a good site that will auto update it for me? Will it play DS games as well?
     
  5. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Uh...just so you know, it will play ONLY DS games. There's no way to play 3DS games on a flashcart yet.

    If you buy a flashcart I'm pretty sure they'll send one that works on the latest system update. If a new update comes out for the 3DS after you get the flashcart, then you should first update the flashcart and then the 3DS.

    I think you will be able to use the 3DS to update it as long as you don't update the 3DS first. Pretty sure you won't need an older system unless something goes wrong with the flashcart update.
     
  6. sentinel5000

    Member sentinel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    OP has been reading the forums all day yet the first thing he asks is If he will be able to play DS roms on the card.... :hateit: . Son, if you read the entire forums as you said, why the $%^&* didn't u see the sticky that says NOTHING plays 3DS games yet???? You see why that thread needs to be size 86, bold, flashing red and the forums to force people to read it before anything else??? Anyways and on to topic. There are re-sellers that will sell you a card updated, like for example I bought an R4i Gold 3DS from a USA re-seller that had the cards updated to the latest firmware. Emailing might not work cuz it didn't in my case but the service and shipping was awesome.
     
  7. GrantThorpe
    OP

    Newcomer GrantThorpe Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    what part of DS says 3DS? But i appreciate the sentiment


     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/315784-flash-carts-and-dsi3ds-updates/

    You only need another model to update if your cart won't run on your system because it hasn't been updated enough.
     

Share This Page